spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
We just completely mauled the second team on the ladder.

Look, I understand that often teams win after losing a coach, but not to this kind of superiority...

Maybe this poor season was more Gary Ayres' fault than we first thought.

Instantly under Craig we're more direct, the skills are better and everyone has perked up. The youngsters are looking great.

McLeod looks happy again. Reilly suddenly produces a blinder, Skipworth carries on this newfound ability to play in the AFL, Rutten plays Neitz wonderfully which releases Bassett to play the running third tall I've been crying out for him to be (great faith in Rutten, Craigy, and it paid off). Doughty dominates Bruce, Mattner looks wonderful in the midfield. Welsh plays TWO good games in a row!

Geez, I'm beginning to wonder if this really was Ayresy's fault.

Spindoctor. I always been an advocate for the theory that: "Gary Ayres couldn't coach to save his life." and my theory has been proven true today.

I think the main thing with todays match was that the Crows enjoyed their footy for the whole 4 quarters. Gary Ayres had them playing football as though it was a job not a love.

It was always going to be an emotional game and players wanting to prove they have a future to prospective coaches.

I think next week against Sydney will be a better indication. Great win over the demons though.

Originally posted by Tas
It was always going to be an emotional game and players wanting to prove they have a future to prospective coaches.

I think next week against Sydney will be a better indication. Great win over the demons though.
Agreed.
Yes the second game will be indicative.
Even Richmond played a lot better once their coach was sacked.

Despite comments that we would essentially play the same gameplan as under Ayres with some tweaking, todays gamestyle was radically different.

From a TV armchair perspective it qppeared the "old SA Crows" gamestyle was back, with players continuosly running forwrd of the ball.
Graham Cornes would have loved it ;)

No doubt caught Melbourne on the hop and they were never able to recover.
Now the other 14 coaches have seen the gamestyle, next few weeks will be a different matter.

Is it a gamestyle to win an AFL flag against the likes of Brisbane - too early, but it was canned in our early formative years.
;)

Apparently Craig has tactical variations until the cows come home.

Hopefully this is true and he is able to mold the gameplan to the situation. THAT would keep the opposition on their toes.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Agreed.
Yes the second game will be indicative.

As will Reilly's performance next week. Or by your logic should all the Craig naysayers be 'embarassed' by what they've said so far?

Originally posted by dyertribe
As will Reilly's performance next week. Or by your logic should all the Craig naysayers be 'embarassed' by what they've said so far?
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

For once I'm completely with dyertribe on everything said today

:D

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Whatever you hypocrite. You're the one who came on with the petty 'I told you so' about Reilly, dyertribe was completely correct in pointing out the deficiencies in your attitude.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Whatever you hypocrite.
Explain where I've been hypocritical on my views?

BTW I'm glad I have brought you and DT together again;)

Explain where I've been hypocritical on my views?

In this thread you've stated that next weeks game will give a fairer indication of how the team will travel under Craig - seeming to suggest you want to wait and see before judging who should coach and/or how we will perform in the run home...

But on the Reilly thread you've taken an instant "i told you so, you are all wrong" attitude after Brent's performance today - which so far, is a one-off - which smacks of hypocrisy and at the very least, is a striking contradiction.

When I pointed this out all I got was a trio of smileys...

What gives?

All I can say is OH MY GOD :eek: - this is the best way to wake up on a Sunday morning after a night out in Leeds (deciding not to queue to get into a club on account of the guy looking really dead lying on the sidewalk at the entrance or driving on the otherside of the road to avoid the fight in the middle of the street!). I knew that if I didn't listen we would win! I get up early to listen to these games over the net and we lose. Or if I travel around europe with no way to listen. So from now on I am going to sleep in and see as much of Europe! :) Good thing I'm going to Nice next weekend.

Go craigy - let's see what you have lined up for sydney. Can't wait for mum to send me this game on dvd:D

Originally posted by Tas

Spot on.

If we can reproduce the form we showed today in the next few weeks then maybe Neil Craig can do a Roos.

Great win guys for two reasons.

1) I picked you!
2) It puts Port above Melbourne on the ladder!

So two bonuses there!

Reilly looked great for arguably the first time at AFL level.

Someone must have given Welsh a huge rocket sometime 3 weeks ago as his form turnaround has been amazing!

Considering all your home games still to come then its not stupid to suggest that you can still make the finals.

Also just goes to show how pathetic Gary Ayres gameplan was this season. How much better do the Crows look playing on natural instinct and in attack mode compared to chipping the ball sideways and backwards.

Good show guys! Well done!

Originally posted by Tas

Spot on :)

As great a win as it was its was always going to be a good show. Next week against Sydney at the SCG is the test and we can draw more conclusions from that game than we can from this game.

From a TV armchair perspective it qppeared the "old SA Crows" gamestyle was back, with players continuosly running forwrd of the ball.
I don't know about Studley but I sure as hell enjoyed it.:D

Cornesy commented on exactly that point on radio after the game today.

He did make the point though that it has the potnetial to backfire in tight situatons and games.

Originally posted by macca23

He did make the point though that it has the potnetial to backfire in tight situatons and games.
Yes it leaves you open to a strong counter attack if you turn the ball over.

Has the potential to win a lot of games by big margins, but also to be beaten by big margins as well.

A traditional SANFL gamestyle.

Originally posted by macca23

It can backfire if you don't win the footy at the stoppages. I reckon that our midfield is still our strength despite being down this year. I am sure that Craigy has a strategy to counter that. He is not dumb.

Time will tell ;)

Yes it leaves you open to a strong counter attack if you turn the ball over.

Has the potential to win a lot of games by big margins, but also to be beaten by big margins as well.

A traditional SANFL gamestyle.
Either way its an exciting style to watch.

It will be interesting to see how we play against Swans who do chip it around a fair bit and try to frustrate the opposition. I don't think it will be as free flowing game as it was today.

One match up I am really looking forward to is Leo Barry on Scott Welsh. I reckon that has ripper written all over it :D