Themi#9

Do you guys think we should take a punt on him? i don't want to go down the same road by taking recycled players like thomson and hislop, but houli is a class act, has been from day one. He is abit soft but it will come with confidence, we could squeeze him in at half back and he could play Lids role which means he could be pushed up the ground, or he could be that outside mid which we are looking for. I feel like he is the type of player where if he leavs his current club he will shine at his new one like rodan:thumbsu:

Thoughts?:cool:

Do you guys think we should take a punt on him? i don't want to go down the same road by taking recycled players like thomson and hislop, but houli is a class act, has been from day one. He is abit soft but it will come with confidence, we could squeeze him in at half back and he could play Lids role which means he could be pushed up the ground, or he could be that outside mid which we are looking for. I feel like he is the type of player where if he leavs his current club he will shine at his new one like rodan:thumbsu:

Pass.

He can't get a game for the worst side in the comp.

(I've always wondered what it would feel like to say that, we've had it said to us for too long :D)

You would presume he could come cheaply as he doesn't seem to be in the Bomber's plans (from the outside at least). In my opinion he would be a depth player at best across Half Back, I don't think he would be able to challenge for midfield spot at Richmond (nice to be thinking we already have quality and depth!). I don't think we are striving to add more depth players that are already mature, unless they are potential match winners, like Boak (signed this week), or Dangerfield. We already have the likes of White, Bling, Dea, Tuck, etc. for that HB depth role and I couldn't see us trading to bring in more like that. I would think that he would have to be a bargain for us to take him.

Very average skills at best, only goes one way, so thats a no thanks from me.
That would be rediculous to put him where Deledio is playing ATM he wouldn't be even half as damaging as Brett is.

I wouldn't think you'd have to trade for him just set him up for the pre season draft as he is out of contract. I haven't seen enough of him to say whether we get him on not but i'm sure there are many players that would be looking at Richmond as a destination of the future now. I hope we keep it up so we can land some quality players in trade week.

Too bad Boak just re-signed. After watching that U'18 leftover spudfest the other week, would've traded our first pick for him in a heartbeat...especially now we look like not even getting pick 4...still reckon we should try and nab a GC kid instead...

Agreed, not saying that there isn't talent in whats left because there obviously will be, but it's hard to argue a potential against a proven player. As we know all too well draft picks can be very hit and miss at the best of times, and this draft is already comprimised.

Pass.

We don't need recycled junk to succeed. Keep drafting more and more youth. If we want mature bodies, target mature age players in other competitions. Only trading we should be considering is trying to get rid of our own players with limitied ability ie Rance before it's too late or players not in our plans for picks. Of course never say never and a trade could be offered up that was in our favour and too tempting not to take but I wouldn't be purposely going down that road this early in a rebuild.

Most clubs aren't dumb and trade players for a reason. Of course targeting decent players and getting them to come to us with the lure of extra $$$ is another thing but much harder as their clubs won't want to let them go and will want to be duely compensated.

Not a chance.

He is a certainty to go to GWS anyway as the Muslim poster boy with West Sydney having a high Muslim population.

Good luck to him, he seems like a nice bloke, but he wouldnt be in our best 35 players.

And this nonsense about freeing up Lids, please spare me, Lids is a natural born half back flanker. There is no shame in that, ask McLeod, Hodge, Goddard etc

Is that why McLeod and Hodge had and are having their best ever seasons in the midfield? Not the greatest examples.

You havent been watching footy long if you think McLeod is having his best season ever mate. And Hodge spends most time down back - dont get sucked in by the commentators that ejaculate everytime he wanders into the midfield for 5 mins a quarter and gets a couple of clearances.

Not for me. Others interested and price likely to go beyond his worth. Despite the chatter, he hasn't been that flash for Bendigo of late, only runs one way and avoids a contest

Sit this one out

Not for me. Others interested and price likely to go beyond his worth. Despite the chatter, he hasn't been that flash for Bendigo of late, only runs one way and avoids a contest

Sit this one out

Hang on a minute, maybe we should have a look at him after all. If you dont rate him he will probably be the next star of the competition :D:D

You havent been watching footy long if you think McLeod is having his best season ever mate. And Hodge spends most time down back - dont get sucked in by the commentators that ejaculate everytime he wanders into the midfield for 5 mins a quarter and gets a couple of clearances.

I said McLeod 'had' his best seasons in the midfield, including his Norm Smiths. And Hodge has rarely been down back this season.

Sorry mate, but injury prone and overrated. Lids needs to stay put. Lets go with another batch of kids.

hahaha funny. No thanks other players i would rather get