crowie

N. Forest, NY Mets
To be honest I am depressed, I'm not angry just really, really down. I know that in a week or two I'll be able to see the positives of our year but it will always go into the list of the ones that got away. Whether we expected to do this well or not doesn't matter, we had a prime opportunity to take the flag and screwed it right up, not today but the other week against the Saints.

It is a hard game to follow, in 2003 and 2004 I wasn't a season ticket holder and had to wait in line very early to get our tickets every week. Finally, after two years on the waiting list we got our season tickets this year. But I suppose you have to experience failure to truly appreciate success.

I hope the boys take the hurt on board and remember how it feels like to lose like this. I have high expectations of the team next year, we cannot settle for mediocrity.

Go Crows!

Well said crowie. I am hurting...bad. If someone said at the start of round 1 Adelaide will finish 3rd... I might have taken that and run.

BUT

We finished minor premiers.. we won in WA 3 weeks ago and we had a good win last week.

I am ahhh just so frustrated at the flu/virus rumour. If we were hit by that then aggghhhhhh ... let me review it tomorrow. Time to hit the P...only thing is its a karaoke bar and I can guarantee Eagle Rock will get a song or 4

Sorry to see you guys go down so close to the granny. It really sucks the feeling you get after a loss in a inmportant game. I was going for your guys big time and to see the Hungry Jacks people get in made it worse. I'm sure you will have a kick arse season next year. All the best, and cheer up it's only a game.

It hit me an hour or so ago that it was all over for 2005. Now I am more dissapointed than anything else. Your right though, it does hurt too.

2005 was beyond my wildest dreams and I am already looking forward to 2006 with great anticipation.

*sigh* I hate the last game of the year....6 months to go until another one :(

k
xx

Im hurtin....real bad. Having a pet near death hasn't helped either :(

We had our chances, and blew them and WCE just controlled the middle...some of our kicks and handling of ball and general decision making was just poo...3rd 1/4...ohh god I had to walk away from tv to stop myself from throwing it out the window. We can do better than that and to come back like we did in the last 1/4 shows that if we didn't lapse we would have been in with one helluva chance. WCE were just running harder and used the ball better simple as that.

Glad I tipped eagles as I had my doubts, but expected a slighty better effort than that...but having said that weve had a bloody good year better than just about anyone could have predicted and hoped for. Heres hoping that this experience will hold fellas like Hent, Perrie, Skippy, Shirley, Doughty, Mattner etc in good stead for 2006. We can do it then I reckon.....older blokes will still be pretty damn good.

I am shattered. I am not angry just really down. I am hurting. This has not been a good day.

I know there are a lot of positives to take out of the season but at the moment, its all doom and gloom.

Thunderstruck said:

We had our chances, and blew them and WCE just controlled the middle...some of our kicks and handling of ball and general decision making was just poo...3rd 1/4...ohh god I had to walk away from tv to stop myself from throwing it out the window. We can do better than that and to come back like we did in the last 1/4 shows that if we didn't lapse we would have been in with one helluva chance. WCE were just running harder and used the ball better simple as that.

Glad I tipped eagles as I had my doubts, but expected a slighty better effort than that...but having said that weve had a bloody good year better than just about anyone could have predicted and hoped for. Heres hoping that this experience will hold fellas like Hent, Perrie, Skippy, Shirley, Doughty, Mattner etc in good stead for 2006. We can do it then I reckon.....older blokes will still be pretty damn good.
My Sympathies - know how you feeling - our dog of nearly 14 years went about 10 days ago and we are all still feeling it - last weeks result helped a lot for us.

Agree with your assessment of the game and the season - but I tipped the Crows - so maybe I expected more!

To be honest not that bad, we played above ourselves all year and unlike the saints last night we didn't just lay down and die in the last quarter. Guys we lost probably the hardest trip in football after having a sensational season and IMO if we get a similar run with injuries we should only improve for season 2006. :)

Absolutely shattered, the loss was a hard enough pill to swollow but the had to encounter a few less than gracious Weagles who made the port supporters look like Mother Theresa... was jossled and swore at just cause i said well done and good luck next week. Felt like i had the bubonic plague and had to be shunned and ridiculed. Also had the pleasure of sitting next to a most delightful Swans supporter who proceded to get drunker and drunker, and elbow continually and tell me how poor our captain and defence was... got bruises now :(

*Makes mental note to stay away from the main board for the sake of my mental health*

*sighs*

Been a bad, bad, bad day!

Funny feelings.

I, of course loved our win, but it's an empty feeling at the end that it's going to be half a year before I take my seat abain at Subi.

Good luck to you guys in the off season, hopefully you wont get a knee injury like our Brad Smith did.

i actually dont feel that bad, mind you at about 5:30 i felt like crying

i'm thinking now that although we lost, we gave it a hell of a crack in the last quarter, and i'm really looking forward to watching the swannies win next week now. should be a beauty

thanks boys for a great year. i cant help but think that we should win one in the next couple of years, all the kids will be better off for the experience, so i hope the same mistakes aren't made again.

oh well, what can you do...

Thunderstruck said:

Nige_Bix said:
My Sympathies - know how you feeling - our dog of nearly 14 years went about 10 days ago and we are all still feeling it - last weeks result helped a lot for us.

had our dog of 13 yrs put down on monday. Poor thing knew she was going too, very sad. Much sadder than anything to do with the football. :(

4 hrs ago I couldn't even log on to BF (I was shattered)
Now after 2 bottles of red, I am Proud of the club and what they (we) have achieved in 05.
at the start of the season I expected the sort of season that port or the dogs had, this is the season I was expecting next year.
Bring on 06 when we are hungrier (as well as smarter)
Whatever doesn’t kill you,,,,,,,,,

I take losses very, very hard but for some reason this one isn't so bad. I actually think it's because I've been really sick this week and I lack the energy to have any strong emotion. Even while the game was in the balance I wasn't cheering as emphatically as normal so I honestly think this may be the case.
If so, I hope to stay sick for a while longer...just enough time for this to blow over. Pre-season, perhaps?

Vic Crow said:
I take losses very, very hard but for some reason this one isn't so bad. I actually think it's because I've been really sick this week and I lack the energy to have any strong emotion. Even while the game was in the balance I wasn't cheering as emphatically as normal so I honestly think this may be the case.
If so, I hope to stay sick for a while longer...just enough time for this to blow over. Pre-season, perhaps?

There is something in the air in Melbourne at the moment nearly everyone seems to be crook (myself included).
At the end of the day I am disappointed as we lost but really I very proud of what Neil Craig and the boys achieved this year. They gave us all some great moments ,and even in (what was to be) the last qtr of the season when all seemed hopelessly lost they went down fighting like a great team should.
Thanks guys and I look forward to 2006 with great anticipation.

Stiffy_18 said:
I am shattered. I am not angry just really down. I am hurting. This has not been a good day.

I know there are a lot of positives to take out of the season but at the moment, its all doom and gloom.

well said, I am just really disappointed. It could have been great, we were always there, but never quite.

that said, this was our 5th prelim in 15 years, or 1 every 3 years on average. I think that shows we are a quality organisation, and our chance will come again. There is a difference between 'embracing mediocrity' and taking comfort in knowing we are always in the mix. generally at least.

what could have been...

jc67 said:
4 hrs ago I couldn't even log on to BF (I was shattered)
Now after 2 bottles of red, I am Proud of the club and what they (we) have achieved in 05.
at the start of the season I expected the sort of season that port or the dogs had, this is the season I was expecting next year.
Bring on 06 when we are hungrier (as well as smarter)
Whatever doesn’t kill you,,,,,,,,,

agree 100%

Crow-mosone said:
well said, I am just really disappointed. It could have been great, we were always there, but never quite.

that said, this was our 5th prelim in 15 years, or 1 every 3 years on average. I think that shows we are a quality organisation, and our chance will come again. There is a difference between 'embracing mediocrity' and taking comfort in knowing we are always in the mix. generally at least.

what could have been...
Good summation of a lot of peoples thoughts :)

Yeah not real happy with yesterday's performance, we seemed very flat, and never really pressured West Coast enough.

I do have to say full credit to what the AFC have achieved this season, 2006 will be bigger and better again, I cant wait for 2006.

I guess it hit me about an hour after the game, now what do I do for the next four months????

Chant to myself I guess :p

Feeling a bit empty about it, but the more I think about it the more I rue the loss against St Kilda. You cant give an opportunity like that up.

Despite that though I thought we struggled most of the day it just wasnt our day at all. From about half way through the first quarter it just seemed as though the Eagles were threating to break the game open. The had far too much control of the centre corridor and once again when we are under pressure we dont back ourselves in to play down the centre and prefer to go wide. The third quarter told the story and if we could have held them to about three goals in the third we seemed to have the legs to be able to pinch the game in the last, but just werent close enough score wise to do it.

I guess to sum it all up, it wasnt our day, guys like Roo and McLeod couldnt get into the game, Johncock wasnt fit enough to play and it appeared that Shirley also wasnt 100%.

I am feeling okay about things, but next year I would really like to see Maric, Watts and Knights in the side and if guys like Hentschel, Bock and Mattner can continue to improve then I think we could be around the mark again next year.

I appreciate that so many supporters of the Adelaide Football Club are feeling sad and depressed about the AFC losing yesterday but at the end of the day it is only a game of football and life goes on. Look at the disaster on New Orleans (cyclone Katherine) and the tsunamis that hit South-East Asia on Boxing Day 2005, losing a game of football is does not even match the same comparison as no one has died or lost the ability to make a living (except a few AFL players maybe with a bad game) but I didn’t lose any tangible goods.

All ways next year and that’s the beauty of sport, you can always come back next year

crows98 said:
I appreciate that so many supporters of the Adelaide Football Club are feeling sad and depressed about the AFC losing yesterday but at the end of the day it is only a game of football and life goes on. Look at the disaster on New Orleans (cyclone Katherine) and the tsunamis that hit South-East Asia on Boxing Day 2005, losing a game of football is does not even match the same comparison as no one has died or lost the ability to make a living (except a few AFL players maybe with a bad game) but I didn’t lose any tangible goods.

All ways next year and that’s the beauty of sport, you can always come back next year

Of course there are other things in life, but when you immerse yourself in something that you feel so passionate about then you have a right to be as disappointed as we all are.

When you spend as much time and effort following the Crows as we do then it's more than a game. I think that we're allowed to have a week or two to dwell on what has happened.

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah not real happy with yesterday's performance, we seemed very flat, and never really pressured West Coast enough.

I do have to say full credit to what the AFC have achieved this season, 2006 will be bigger and better again, I cant wait for 2006.

I guess it hit me about an hour after the game, now what do I do for the next four months????

Chant to myself I guess :p

You've got a new baby to look forward to!!!!! You'll have to let us know when the newest Crows supporter is born!

k
xx