Society & Culture How Can I Help?

Wylin Dreams

Rookie
Widespread poverty, global warming, consumerism, war etc. etc. there's a lot of problems in our world that need addressing.

What can we do to make some of the sadder aspects of our world less so. What can I do personally?
Given that we have the time and resources to post on an internet forum we're doing better than most obviously. What can privileged but not overly influential everyday Joes, like many of us, do to help out?

Thread is maybe naive but still genuine. Generally interested in hearing all kinds of stories: environmental, social, local, abroad whatever!

This is a fracking good thread. Many souls and hearts ponder this.

Well, eat local. By that i mean i buy your chicken straight from a local chicken farmer, buy your eggs straight from a hobby farmer (if you cant breed your own) you might live in the middle of the city and not know anyone. thats okay, keep looking until you find. you'll find out much more.

Buy your drinking water in 20 liter hits from a business that recycles the containers

Use public transport as much as possible.

Grow as many vegies as you can, if you cant find someone who does, see if you can swap for something you might be able to do for them.

Avoid fats food outlets, cokacola style products, buying new cars, technology you don't need.

Look for the highest interest lowest fee bank you can. Its surprising what a bank manager can do for you when she wants to jump your bones.

If you own your own property direct the water from the bath and sink to the garden

Be kind, Be polite, use manners and thank anyone who does anything for you.

Respect your elders, you don't have to listen to them, believe them , put up with shit from them, but they know shit you could never. Experienced things you have never.

If you have a car, buy one as small and as economical as possible, use it as little as possible.

Buy a pushy, use it as much as possible, educate as many as a possible about what goes on.

Avoid alcohol as much as possible, especially the highly charged scenes.

If you know of a tourist destination doing things like this, who believe in a collective response to the worlds issue, go there for your holiday, give them your business, your support, help them do more right.

Do more of what makes you really happy.

Learn about your body, get an awareness of it.

Avoid processed food. Especially gluten.

If somethings advertised during the footy, during the news, at add breaks on your favorite tv show, avoid it.

Tell people what your doing and why.

Learn about food as medicine, tell people.

Pay with cash as much as possible, especially to tradies,farmers, market stall holders. Always ask them is their something you can do for them.

Keep fit, get into national parks as much as possible.

Learn to live without an air conditioner and heater as much as possible. Let your body look after itself as much as possible.

When you see something wrong, say so.

This morning as my train was pulling away from collingwood station towards the city i saw my friend at the touch on point. He'd missed the train. :(

He was attempting to walk through the gate but people leaving the platform (because they'd just gotten off the train) were blocking him. I saw this unfold and thought to myself 'if you fkers exitting the platform snapped back to reality for a second you'd realise the right thing to do is to let my friend go through first as he has a train to catch"

To answer the OP, being less oblivious to your surroundings and other people makes the world a better place.

Widespread poverty, global warming, consumerism, war etc. etc. there's a lot of problems in our world that need addressing.

What can we do to make some of the sadder aspects of our world less so. What can I do personally?
Given that we have the time and resources to post on an internet forum we're doing better than most obviously. What can privileged but not overly influential everyday Joes, like many of us, do to help out?

Thread is maybe naive but still genuine. Generally interested in hearing all kinds of stories: environmental, social, local, abroad whatever!

Gotta break it down to something manageable mate.

Identify one person you think needs your help, and do it.

Widespread poverty and consumerism are what enable me to live the life I do. It makes me feel bad, and then I feel by not appreciating and enjoying my life I'm an even bigger piece of shit.

I do think everyone should do their bit to push for more global applications of nuclear energy though. So many people seem to think we'll just innovate our way out of global warming technologically and so it's nothing to get upset about

Well, eat local. By that i mean i buy your chicken straight from a local chicken farmer, buy your eggs straight from a hobby farmer (if you cant breed your own) you might live in the middle of the city and not know anyone. thats okay, keep looking until you find. you'll find out much more.

Buy your drinking water in 20 liter hits from a business that recycles the containers

Grow as many vegies as you can, if you cant find someone who does, see if you can swap for something you might be able to do for them.

Avoid fats food outlets, cokacola style products, buying new cars, technology you don't need.

Look for the highest interest lowest fee bank you can. Its surprising what a bank manager can do for you when she wants to jump your bones.

If you own your own property direct the water from the bath and sink to the garden

Respect your elders, you don't have to listen to them, believe them , put up with shit from them, but they know shit you could never. Experienced things you have never.

If you have a car, buy one as small and as economical as possible, use it as little as possible.

Buy a pushy, use it as much as possible, educate as many as a possible about what goes on.

If you know of a tourist destination doing things like this, who believe in a collective response to the worlds issue, go there for your holiday, give them your business, your support, help them do more right.

If somethings advertised during the footy, during the news, at add breaks on your favorite tv show, avoid it.

Pay with cash as much as possible, especially to tradies,farmers, market stall holders. Always ask them is their something you can do for them.

Learn to live without an air conditioner and heater as much as possible. Let your body look after itself as much as possible.

Much of what you've said there was summed up in the post above you.

I can't believe you had the time or equipment required to type and post this.