How do we win on Sunday?

• Thread starter Thread starter BlueBelle

In my opinion, this year we have promised so much but delivered very little.

What do we do to win on Sunday?

I mean obviously our disposal and kicking for goal needs to improve but does anybody have any thoughts that aren't obvious??

In round 1, we tackled. We pressured. We ran.

Let's do the same this week, 120 minutes of tackling, pressuring and running.

Gilly1972 said:
I think a cunning plan that involves kidnapping Pavlich at tullamarine

Ha ha i like ya thinking... How about we divert their plane to hrrrrm...... Lebanon :D :p

number one thing the entire team needs to do is learn to kick straight.

Its a shambles. the commentators are going to be right on it this week and if we perform like usual by foot we are going to get creamed not just on the field but in the commentary box. how long can we leave such a glarring problem go without adressing it.

Media field day comming pagans way if we keep hitting the post. They'll start calling us the termites for our penchant for the woodwork.

Just how quickly can we turn around our kicking issues though? It seems like our turn overs were the main reason why we've had such a shocker this year. But like others had asked, has it been addressed? At least we know it's being acknowledged. Pagan has said countless times that we "butchered the ball" in his press conference. That's fine, but what have we done to rectify this problem? We can't simply drop a Teague or a Deluca and expect our disposal to improve. The problem has spread throughout the whole team. - Which leads me to believe that it's a reaction from our (perhaps sloppy) training.

When I look at Nick Stevens' kicking before and after coming to Carlton, I can't help but blame poor coaching for this latest quandary.

Funkalicous said:
Just how quickly can we turn around our kicking issues though? It seems like our turn overs were the main reason why we've had such a shocker this year. But like others had asked, has it been addressed? At least we know it's being acknowledged. Pagan has said countless times that we "butchered the ball" in his press conference. That's fine, but what have we done to rectify this problem? We can't simply drop a Teague or a Deluca and expect our disposal to improve. The problem has spread throughout the whole team. - Which leads me to believe that it's a reaction from our (perhaps sloppy) training.

When I look at Nick Stevens' kicking before and after coming to Carlton, I can't help but blame poor coaching for this latest quandary.

Everyone's kicking skills have deteriorated. Stevens' kicking efficiency at PA was around 80%. This year it's closer to 70%. We have the top clanger kickers in the AFL. We either lack confidence or put ourselves under so much pressure that even our supposedly skilled players make errors.

Confidence, Confidence, Confidence!

It breeds doubt in your ability and makes you hesitate.
The old saying "He who hesitates looses" or "fortune favours the brave".
You can find yourself over analysing as you have the ball, even as you drop it onto your foot. You find yourself questioning your decisions rather than relying on your good instincts that have got you to afl level.
Confidence also effects you by panicking in pressure situations rather than backing yourself.
Confidence can't be taught by the coaching staff, it's something that must be built by the team. I feel at the moment we are lacking certain team dynamics, these need to be addressed before our confidence is restored.

As for how do we win on Sunday?
We tackle, we win the hard ball and we work for each other. There are certain players that will give us a headache, but as a team we can over come them. Freo are probably one of the most un-cohesive teams in the league. We must not become to occupied with Pavlich, one player alone can't win it. Thornton to get the job on Pav. Our rucks need to exploit Sandilands, they need to run and create a link through the centre.
Kouta in the goal square with Fev on the lead, let Kennedy play a full game at CHF. We must attack the ball with serious aggression, this will unsettle Freo.

do what fremantle did last time go after their young players give em areal tast of Afl footy :) put them off their game biff and crunch em
if going for a mark over the freo player put ya knee right into the back of the head ;) :thumbsu: or when tackling em really Sling em over hard :thumbsu:

How about instead of us trying to match up with them, we take the initiative and get them to match up with us and play into our hands.

We need to have an aggressive attacking mindset for this game. Just play our brand.

Basically they're the team that are playing for something (coach playing for his job, team for a finals spot), so they're more likely to try to become defensive if we get a good start.

We have the ability to take control and make Connoly play into our hands if we do the right things.

Carazzo - Thornton - O'Hailpin

Houlihan - Whitnall - Walker

Scotland - Bentick - Simpson FOLL (French, Stevens, Blackwell)

Wiggins - Kennedy - Lappin

* Fevola - Betts

* Kouta *

* = Free space for leading forwards.

^ I think we should go into this game with a structure like this. I think we should try with Kouta playing out of the square. He'll most likely attract a tagger, so if he can attract this tagger (Peake, or some other mediumsized Freo player), then he would be able to out-muscle his opponents in a one-on-one situation.

Fevola can roam around the 50 being the other key target. With Fev's leading, the Blues should look to Lappin and Betts to be front and centre of the Fev lead for the crumbs.

Have Kennedy lead outside of the 50, all the way up to the wing, and have Wiggins be his crumber during the leads of Kennedy.

With this set-up, we can have space for our crumbers (If the ball comes to ground) kick the ball onto Fevola or Kouta, where the other crumbers can be found.

Keep Whitnall at CHB. He has the strength to match Pavlich.

For the mid-field. I believe we should push Stevens and Scotland back to help out the back 6, and Simpson and Bentick should move forward to the contests at the 50-70m area of our goals to help Wiggins at ground level when Kennedy is contesting a marking situation.

With French, his role can be the Ruckman who moves forward to create another tall option for the forwards. I don't think he should be utilised as a ruckman down back. I think Whitnall is more than capable of rucking. However, that is if Sandilands doesn't push forward. If he does, have French follow him down.

GO BLUES! :thumbsu:

Gilly1972 said:
I think a cunning plan that involves kidnapping Pavlich at tullamarine

NOT A BAD NOTION

Pavlich is turning into a fairly lazy footballer. If Lance gets him then he can easily be lead away from the play, Lance would know exactly where to go. Might just work!

Simplest way to beat the Shockers is to out-score them big time, pump them in the first quarter and see if they have the nurries to play catch-up footy.

They've started complaining about the run home in regard to the draw, I'm sure it was finalised last year and I find it strange that they couldn't really find issues back then.

GO YOU BLUE BOYS, THIS IS AN UPSET WAITING TO HAPPEN!

T-bird has to be a certain starter on Pavlich. We shouldn't concentrate just of Pav, if he kicks 5 fine. But make sure the rest don't kick any. I know some may cry but we may see the inclusion of Livo as a possible.

My big ? is over Lance, do we play him back or forward. My preference this week is to play him forward. Lets give him a licence to rome as a HFF and drift back when needed.

Kouta in the goal square or there-abouts.

doormat11 said:
NOT A BAD NOTION

Pavlich is turning into a fairly lazy footballer. If Lance gets him then he can easily be lead away from the play, Lance would know exactly where to go. Might just work!

Simplest way to beat the Shockers is to out-score them big time, pump them in the first quarter and see if they have the nurries to play catch-up footy.

They've started complaining about the run home in regard to the draw, I'm sure it was finalised last year and I find it strange that they couldn't really find issues back then.

GO YOU BLUE BOYS, THIS IS AN UPSET WAITING TO HAPPEN!
The submission about the draw was concerned with the number of six day breaks and Tassie games at the start of the season. Our run home is excellent, and there were no complaints from the club in that regard.
As for the game on the weekend, I think the blues best chance of grabbing a win lies in getting the upper hand in the clearances. Sustained midfield pressure usually sees our disposal skills drop off alarmingly, and without JCarr, Headland and possibly Hase, we will be vunerable in this area. Crowley will tag Stevens and run forward as much as possible to keep him accountable. I think Lance will be tagged as well, whether he plays forward or back. Should be a good game, and if your fellas can apply the same pressure they put on the weagles at subi, it will come down to the wire.

P.S, Don't worry about double teaming Pavlich, he's not that dangerous ;)

double gang pav take him out that be one less avenue to goal for fremantle
others man on man make Fremantle play it on your terms not theirs ;)
:thumbsu:

Andyt30 said:

Correct me if I am wrong.

But wasn't that a one on one contest against the Demons last weekend???

And didn't we dictate that style of play??

And the result ??

I do honestly wish you well but we expect better from Dennis in regards to tactics.

sadly we dont...

stevens is the key.....HE MUST BEAT CROWLEY FOR US TO WIN

if not it will be same old

off the topic but lately we havent had kouta or stevo in centre bounces. that leave a lot of inexperience and the young guys have done very well i reckon. love how blacky is coming along

Andyt30 said:

Go for it by concentrating on Pav, that will just allow another player to get free and become a goal scorer. eg. Peake, Crowley, Spud etc.

As has been said, the clearances are the important item.