How Do You get Into a Vfl side??

hi im a bloke who is wondering how do i sign on to a vfl club? im keen on box hill hawks but i dont know how to do that? do they ring you and invite you or could u just ring the club and ask for a run?? i plan to go down at the end of the year. thanks

please help

you get asked. what team and comp did u previously play in?

Some clubs would be more than happy for you to join them in a preseason, just call or email them and let them know a bit about yourself.

Historically I think Box Hill haven't been as interested in self-invitees as other clubs, but you can always try your luck I guess. I think you'll find a few other clubs would be more welcoming.

Then you should be a walk up start at either Carlton or Richmond's affiliate teams, the Northern Bullants or Coburg Tigers.:)
Oh yeah. The same Coburg Tigers that made the VFL Grand Final...

Ring up a club and see if you can go down to train. Your best bet would probably be one of the non aligned clubs like Frankston.

stephonme01Re: How Do You get Into a Vfl side??
are u any good

Hmmm i reckon he might be alright if he wants to play cfl.

just wanna give it a red hot crack and if i dont make the list then atleast i can say i gave it a go. so frankston is worth a go?

Just don't live in the suburb:D:p. I'm no expert at this but like any other job ring all the clubs up and ask them about this and see if you can go train with them or something.

Try and pick somewhere near where you're going to live mate, they probably train three times a week - you won't want to be driving too far!!!!

No point bothering with Frankston if you're going to be living in Camberwell, or trying to get to Box Hill if you live in Altona!

hi im a bloke who is wondering how do i sign on to a vfl club? im keen on box hill hawks but i dont know how to do that? do they ring you and invite you or could u just ring the club and ask for a run?? i plan to go down at the end of the year. thanks

please help
Hey mate, im looking at doing the same next year, im only 17 but i will be 18 and i am only 180cm, so getting drafted will be a bit hard, ive got a few mates that have moved over to melbourne and they just went to sandrigham to give it a crack, and from all reports are training very well, and have survived all the cuts. So im not sure what your thoughts are on the Zebras, but they were only to happy to have a few footballers from tassie give the big time a crack.

Make sure you have a really good preseason this summer and have a blinder in your local comp this year. If your not U/21 you would want to be in the best handful in the comp, otherwise the VFL clubs are unlikely to be interested.

Just give it your best - nothing ventured, nothing gained. A great story to tell, if nothing else, to have in the memory bank even to train for a week or two. Good luck, mate.

Bendigo Bombers would be a good starting point to get your foot in the door.

The Bendigo Bombers reserves are dreadful.

Which means you would be a good chance to get a game :D
Bendigo have had a pretty big clean out for this year. A lot of blokes where told they could either get fit enough and work a bit harder or go and play country leauge footy. Will be a very young Bnedigo list this year.

As far as looking for a club to play with in Melbourne i would look at Port Melbourne. Being a stand alone club gives you some chance of getting a go in the two's and Port are known to give young blokes a chance.