How good were Chris and Anthony Daniher?

From memory, Anthony played mainly as a forward at the Swans and mainly full back at EFC. One word sums him up DEPENDABLE. Was more than competitive against the best full forwards. He was a top notch kick.

Chris had a slow start to his career. He was a tweener - An in-between height. Took him about 5 years to find a position in the AFL, which ended up being a flanker in the back half and front half, with occasional stints in the midfield. His best assets were hardness and a defensive mind-set.

Dustin 'shit neck tats' Martin can GTFO with his supposedly amazing 'don't argues'- Chris' don't argue on Matthew Hogg in the 1993 GF is still the best (and funniest) I've seen. Literally just pushed him by the chin down on the ground, actually makes me laugh every time I watch it.

Sorry mate, I don't think it clearly shows that all. 73% of games over a 6 period for a player I don't recall being very injury prone. I remember him being borderline best 22 and I don't think I'm the only one. We're obviously not going to agree on it, how about we move on.

I thought Chrissy was easily in our best 22 from 93-96. I admit it took me awhile to warm to him as i thought he was a token Daniher Sheedy sentiment, but quickly realised he was a very handy utility. Thought he was a strong mark, adequately skilled on both sides of his body and could perform a great shut down role on some quality players (Paul Kelly as mentioned).

Undoubtedly was a worthy premiership player in 93'.

Dustin 'shit neck tats' Martin can GTFO with his supposedly amazing 'don't argues'- Chris' don't argue on Matthew Hogg in the 1993 GF is still the best (and funniest) I've seen. Literally just pushed him by the chin down on the ground, actually makes me laugh every time I watch it.

The bit of that I liked was when Hoggs entire body was vertical, face in the dirt & legs in the air. His face was literally skidding on the turf.

WTF does that have to do with price of eggs?

Battler or not, he was in the best 20/21. Hard to comprehend?

Too hard for you to make comparison's to todays modern age football team sorry I mistakenly thought with all the stats you produced you could cross that bridge of intelligence.

Yaaaawn.

he played well in 93 grand final though and deserved his place on that day, that is all. On your logic Henry Slattery was a good footballer because he once was in our best side for a few years?

Anyway in the 1993 game against Geelong where Ablett and Salmon kicked all those goals Chris Daniher was one of the players who got to play Full Back on Gary Ablett senior as well as Derek Kickett and James Hird.

Too hard for you to make comparison's to todays modern age football team sorry I mistakenly thought with all the stats you produced you could cross that bridge of intelligence.

Yaaaawn.

he played well in 93 grand final though and deserved his place on that day, that is all. On your logic Henry Slattery was a good footballer because he once was in our best side for a few years?

Chris Daniher and Henry Slattery are not even in the same ball park. You are underrating Daniher's development in the end as a very competent footballer.

F****** Slattery....please!

Anyway in the 1993 game against Geelong where Ablett and Salmon kicked all those goals Chris Daniher was one of the players who got to play Full Back on Gary Ablett senior as well as Derek Kickett and James Hird.

Yep exactly...a measure of his perceived versatility at the time. Was a very handy footballer...ppl def forget!

Yaaaawn.

Pointless to compare. Different rules, game styles etc. However Chris would be a good player today with the same training etc. afforded to him,

So Chris was on a list of around 52 players, in a team that won a flag, made a prelim and made finals as well. He retired before being pushed, and his powers were waning and you compare him to a Back Pocket who had no versatility, played in our worst teams of the past 30 years and was delisted in his prime.

Bravo!!!

Yep exactly...a measure of his perceived versatility at the time. Was a very handy footballer...ppl def forget!
haha, I agree his was a handy player, but a lunatic coach playing him out of position on a rampant superstar cos he doesn't know who else to put there, then said player getting rightfully spanked in that position, is not an indication of versatility

Possibly the worst comparison ever.

Chris ended up being more than handy and was clearly best 22.

haha, I agree his was a handy player, but a lunatic coach playing him out of position on a rampant superstar cos he doesn't know who else to put there, then said player getting rightfully spanked in that position, is not an indication of versatility

Averaged 17 games a year from 92-97 and would've been more if not for injury. Was a permanent fixture in what was a pretty handy side in those years and was depended on to fulfill a number of different roles...esp 95-96.

Any comparison to Slattery is ludicrous.

Anthony was an exceptional full-back and was never given the plaudits he deserved due to there being so many good full backs (SOS, Langford, Frawley etc.).
He got AA one year !! Another two Essendon boys struck down with knee reco's, amazing how many we have had over the years. Chris, honest,hard at it could stuff up in incredible ways and did cop stick off some supporters. Loved the goal he kicked in the `93 g.f, the fend off was magic.

Averaged 17 games a year from 92-97 and would've been more if not for injury. Was a permanent fixture in what was a pretty handy side in those years and was depended on to fulfill a number of different roles...esp 95-96.

Any comparison to Slattery is ludicrous.
Wtf?
Firstly I never mentioned Slattery.
Secondly, you cited him being one of half of our side that played on Gary Ablett while he was slotting 14 goals as an example of his versatility. I replied to say this example you have provided does not indicate in any way versatility.
What does any of you what you wrote have to do with you what you quoted from me?

Anthony Daniher was, in my opinion, one of the best fullbacks in the comp prior to his knees giving him plenty of grief in his last couple of seasons.

He played in the day where fullbacks were left 1:1 with the full forwards (let's be honest, it was that way for 140-odd years), he had to contend with Ablett, Dunstall, Lockett, Kernahan etc, and he rarely had bags kicked against him. He had good closing speed, good size and strength for contested situations, had that booming kick and was not scared to run off his man, something he and probably Silvagni did more than any other fullbacks at the time.

Chris Daniher got a bit of a cold reception from Essendon supporters I reckon as he didn't explode on to the scene like his 3 brothers and he was also a very different player. He did however work to his strengths and eventually became known for being his own player rather than brother of Neale, Terry, Anthony. He was a fierce competitor, defensive minded, good overhead for his size, good endurance. He was a dependable workhorse which our side needed through the mid 90s to compliment the brilliance of players like Mercuri and Hird.

That's how my memory recalls things anyway.

He got AA one year !! Another two Essendon boys struck down with knee reco's, amazing how many we have had over the years. Chris, honest,hard at it could stuff up in incredible ways and did cop stick off some supporters. Loved the goal he kicked in the `93 g.f, the fend off was magic.

Forgot about that. Well perhaps I shoudl say he is not still given the plaudits of those other guys and is foten overlooked becasue he has kept a low profile. Perhaps Joe's arrival will help restore his standing in the history of the game (not just as 1 of the Danihers).

Along with Harvey and TD, he was my favourite player back then.

For posterity.

Go to 1:25 in...the Daniher don't argue was a little bit later (at 1:40) but it's worth joining at 1:25 just to see the famous Michael Long fade, "take me on! take me on! take me on he says."

But, dat don't argue.

Wtf?
Firstly I never mentioned Slattery.
Secondly, you cited him being one of half of our side that played on Gary Ablett while he was slotting 14 goals as an example of his versatility. I replied to say this example you have provided does not indicate in any way versatility.
What does any of you what you wrote have to do with you what you quoted from me?

My Apologies...it was Fin Ice who made comparison to Hank. Between the pair of you underrating Chris on the previous page I made an oversight.

Anyway, regarding Chris' versatility, I'm well aware the Ablett game doesnt explain his versatility. It wasn't me who brought the game up, I only added a comment on the back of more solid examples I included in previous posts on the subject. I remember very well the tagging roles he was assigned in 95-96 on gun players like (Paul Kelly) who relied on core strength and endurance, which were attributes of Chris's game at the time. His ability to work the other way and be an offensive threat whilst restricting players of that ilk made him a very important cog in our side. Alternatively, he could go down back and lock down on a small/taller forward or if need be play half forward as well.

He became a very adaptable all round player, which people like yourself seem to have trouble remembering...and based on your own admission of being unable to recall Anthony Daniher not playin in the 93 GF (common knowledge for any dinkum Ess supporter), i'm really not surprised at all!

i rest my case...

Chris was a good ordinary battler in every way. Nothing stand out, either negavite or positive, in size, disposal, footy smarts or athleticism. I spose the stand out was that he seemed to just love playing the game and with Sheedy and his way of playing guys anywhere fitted in to that. However, like most Essendon players in those days would have to put up with Sheedy burning him occassionally ... like that game on Ablett!! I'm pretty sure he had a similar game at full back against other players.

Chris was very much a poor man's Terry. That isn't an insult because Terry was a superstar of the game, why do you think they gave number 5 to Hird when he started to hit his straps?

Anthony Daniher was a very good player, 200 plus games at full back shows that. Was a favourite of mine when he switched over to Essendon as his work was so dependable. His kicking was comparable to Fletcher too, which was more of a standout in those days as on average players didn't kick it as far.

How good were Chris and Anthony Daniher?