joshsta

Rookie
Your opinions? Any links to reviews will be much appreciated as well, or tell us anything you've heard about it.
Cheers

One of the best footy books I've ever read. Wasn't expecting it to be, but it's a very, very interesting read. I guess all the twists and turns his life took in such a short space of time helps, and the fact that as a Victorian I don't know the ins and outs of WCE off the field, but I highly recommend it.

Absolutely amazing, would definately recommend it.

I would recommend it, I was suprised by how well he writes and the insight he has into his addiction and himself as a person ( I would imagine gained through all the rehab and councelling he has undergone). It gives you are very intersting perspective on how things went down and how he was feeling about them.

It struck me reading it that he really isn't in the clear yet, he seems to still be drinking a fair bit and it seems quite dependant on sleeping tablets.

He also makes no appologies for the company he continues to keep. A lot of people, including myself I suppose, kind of wanted him to get totally away from Kizon and all those types, even people like Chick and Gardener. One of the things I got out of reading it was that it was really an unrealistic expectation that was implicitly placed on him by the public to become suddenly super straight laced, he's never going to be like that, the public will have to execpt him for who he is which is a person with quite a few flaws.

My one critism would be that he repeats himself a few times and I think that repetition could have been edited out, but its a minor gripe.

Tl;dr
It's worth a read, he writes well and its interesting.

you could read it yourself and form your own opinion about it

But if the general consensus is that it's shit then why would he, hence the asking of peoples opinions of it.

Love your type.

Really good book. I just made the mistake of purchasing it for $36 two weeks ago and already it's on sale at Borders for $20.

Cuz mentions his love for his mate Mainy and other teammates. He also acknowledges how he let down his biggest supporter, Sam Druce time and time again. Also found it interesting that he half admitted he didn't have a lot of time for Daniel Kerr.

I got the impression from the book that although Cuz was a partier, he was not your typical boys boy. He respected many different people from different walks of life. Perhaps the benefit of hindsight, who knows.

Great book. Worth reading. I read it in about 12 hours, couldn't put it down.

Shit person, always will be a shit person but his book was actually pretty good.

Still a w***er regardless

he probably just gave his story and had a writer do the rest. He woul'dve had a few too many brain cells fried by now to be able to string any good words together

Pfft, Freo fans are just jealous that no one will ever ask Michael Johnson about his story.

:D

Definitely a good read, and one you can knock over faster then Ben can stop a bender (4-5 days)
I felt their were some repetitive parts, but that may also be due to the documentary and the knowledge most of us would have on him due to his life in the media. It was good however to here the stories (booze bus biathlon, broken arm after blue with Kerr etc) in his words.
His confessions don't excuse his behavior, and nor is his looking for a sympathy in this book, but they do give you an insight into his personality type and how he became an addict.

yeh great book
happy.gif
happy.gif

happy.gif

I'll definitely buy this now.

I'm pushing myself harder and harder at work today knowing that afterwards I'm going to launch into and annihilate as much Ben Cousin's book as I can.

Shit person, always will be a shit person but his book was actually pretty good.

Still a w***er regardless

He didnt ask for more cash to keep Kerr and Judd on the team AT THE TIME.

Shit bloke **** him.

If he was an alcoholic he would be seen as a champ in this bogan country

It kicks in pretty quickly, goes hard and fast for a bit, but then tapers off to a dull longing after about 6 hours of reading. Next time I' ll read two copies at the same time.

Great read. Hes definatley a different sort of cat.

If he did write it then he is quite a talented writer but I assume it was ghost written.