How many and who to delist

We did the big clean out last year.

I don't think we'd de-list more than 2 if we delist anyone.

This year's draft is meant to be weak, so I wouldn't imagine they'd move people on just for the sake of it.

Next year's delistings will be interesting, though. I think 2008 will be a last chance year for a number of guys picked up over the last few years - particularly some of our young KPP.

Yep last year there were 10 + 2 rookies cut, replaced with 2 rookie elevations, 8 draftees and 4 rookies. So far this year 2 retirements + 3 rookies cut. I would expect another 2 or 3 to be cut and if one of these is Giles or Minson I wouldn't be surprised to see one of them taken in the rookie draft.

I'd reckon maybe 2 more will go. That will give us 4 picks across 3 rounds in the ND and a spot for the PSD.

I'd be leaning towards Lonie and Minson, and like REH, rookie Minson if he's still around. I'd expect Stewart and Bentley to be safe this year. But there'll be a few looking over their shoulder at the end of 2008, depending on form and impact.

Stewart has to be safe. He's on contract, was taken as a 2nd round so someone at the club reckons he can play, was injured and was playing in WWT senior side at the end of the year. Why would you cut him if he hasn't done anything wrong? We would have to pay him out and include his pay in the 2008 cap.

Come the end of 2008 there will be 6 to 10 guys both old and young who will be under pressure, flag or no flag.

Yes: Lonie, Minson
Maybe: Cockshell, Deluca, Giles

I wouldnt be sad if they delisted Bentley - out of all the players who have played eight games or more he doesnt seem to have much talent. Then again neither does Pettigrew IMO but of course most of the posters on this board think that both Bentley and Pettigrew are stars......

We dont have to delist any more because we have 2 retires and symes exchanged for a pick so we currently have 3 live picks , for any more picks we need to delist.
And I suspect maybe only 1 and maybe none..

I wouldnt be sad if they delisted Bentley - out of all the players who have played eight games or more he doesnt seem to have much talent. Then again neither does Pettigrew IMO but of course most of the posters on this board think that both Bentley and Pettigrew are stars......
You had me until Pettigrew. He's looked the goods ever since he joined us.

I don't think Port will delist many either after last years clean up, maybe 2 players. In terms of list management I have broken down the list into height catergories. I would have thought Ryan Willits would be in a bit of trouble, but they might hold onto him for a bit of KPP depth. Heaps of players in the 170-185 catergory I think one will go from here and probably will be whoever is out of contract. The 2 player to go will probably come from the player in red.

170-185
Travis Boak
Peter Burgoyne
Shaun Burgoyne
Domenic Cassisi
Kane Cornes
Brett Ebert
Robert Gray
Nathan Krakouer
Tom Logan
Daniel Motlop
Danyle Pearce
David Rodan
Steven Salopek
Jacob Surjan
Matt Thomas
Adam Thomson
Michael Wilson

186-190
Greg Bentley
Nick Lower
Nathan Lonie
Ryan Williams

190-199
Alipate Carlile
Troy Chaplin
Adam Cockshell
Chad Cornes
Michael Pettigrew
Paul Stewart
Toby Thurstans
Warren Tredrea
Justin Westhoff
Damon White
Ryan Willits

Rucks
Dean Brogan
Brendon Lade
Hugh Minson
Fabian Deluca
Jonathan Giles

Retired
Darryl Wakelin
Josh Mahoney

As a minimum the club is required to delist 3 whether that be via trades, delistings, retirements.
So we have Wakelin & Mahoney as retirements.

That leaves space for one other person. Personally I think Bentley might be the person or Lonie (that would be rather good if it was!).

Obviously the more people we delist leaves more room for the draft picks.

I'd say Matt Thomas is safe given he has already been mentioned in dispatches re: bulking up and playing next year.

Lonie is definately on the hook. I think I'm right in saying he was signed for 2 years on the way over - so it's make or break.

As a minimum the club is required to delist 3 whether that be via trades, delistings, retirements.
So we have Wakelin & Mahoney as retirements.

That leaves space for one other person. Personally I think Bentley might be the person or Lonie (that would be rather good if it was!).

Obviously the more people we delist leaves more room for the draft picks.

+ Symes

I don't think Port will delist many either after last years clean up, maybe 2 players. In terms of list management I have broken down the list into height catergories. I would have thought Ryan Willits would be in a bit of trouble, but they might hold onto him for a bit of KPP depth. Heaps of players in the 170-185 catergory I think one will go from here and probably will be whoever is out of contract. The 2 player to go will probably come from the player in red.

170-185

Tom Logan
Matt Thomas

186-190
Nathan Lonie

190-199

Damon White
Ryan Willits

Rucks
Hugh Minson
Jonathan Giles

Retired
Darryl Wakelin
Josh Mahoney

Seeing as trade week has gone I can't see the club delisting anybody that is still in contract. That would be foolish as the player might not get picked up in the draft or PSD, Port get nothing for them and they still have a salary liablity. So of all the players you have listed this is their contract status.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=364296

M.Thomas - re-sign 28/8/7 for 2 years after standard first 2 yr contract 22-7(age at end of contract)*** Maybe 3, To Be Confirmed

D.White - re-sign 23/3/6 for 2 years 25-2

R.Willits - Asume 1 year ie 2007 after his 2 year standard first contract 21-8
J.Giles - 2 year standard first contract 19-8
H.Minson - 2 year standard first contract 19-6
Tom Logan - Assume 1 year first contract 22-2
Greg Bentley - Assume 1 year first contract 20-5
N.Lonie assume 2 years first contract to end of 2007 24-6

Logan wont get cut, otherwise he wouldn't have played finals footy. Willits has more upside than the two ruckman so I reckon he will stay. Lonie, should go but who knows if Choco is thinking that way.

Rucci reported during trade week that Willits is contracted for 2008. I haven't seen anything one way or the other to confirm or refute that claim.

If it was up to me it would be Lonie and Bentley. Lonie is fairly easily replaceable whilst Bentley is the player i was most disappointed with last season. Disposal very poor and didn't do a lot in the SANFL in the second half of the season.

Cockshell i'm 50/50 on, as far as i'm concerned wont make it as a forward, but may have a small chance of succeeding as a ruckman in the AFL. If he wasn't contracted he'd be on my definite delist list, but because hes got a year to go, it may be worthwhile to see what he can do as a ruckman,

I certainly wouldn't delist Stewart, who needs a good pre season before we can adequately judge him.

Minson and Giles were always going to be long term propositions, i dont really see the point of cutting them at this stage. If Deluca was clearly going to make it then, fair enough cut one of them, but because of the doubts on him i think we need to keep the other 2 guys a bit longer yet.

according to TPFP who are pretty up-to-date with contract status, Willits is contracted up until the end of 2007

Ryan has 1 more year to go (he share housse with M thomas) as Ive mentioned before M Thomas just signed for 3 yrs - any one who thinks he will be delisted is crazy (best 1st yr player)

The thread I linked above, which I started in September was built up over 15 months or so and used info from this board (a thread and info started by Jesse in June '05)and TPFP. I have posted the same thread on their drafts and trading forum. Nowhere can I find any links/articles etc to say what happened to Ryan's contract at the end of the 2006 when he had been on our list for 2 years. The club usually makes a song and dance when they sign a player up for 2 or more years and don't make too a big a noise when they sign someone up for only one year. That's why I assumed he only had 1 year and I think Mark or Vi at TPFP have done the same thing or copied my info. They dont have a date for his contract just "0000"

Ryan has 1 more year to go (he share housse with M thomas) as Ive mentioned before M Thomas just signed for 3 yrs - any one who thinks he will be delisted is crazy (best 1st yr player)

SAMOTH next time your chating to Matt can you tell him that us Port fans want the club to update their website so that his and Ryan's profile have updated their contract details so that there is no longer any confusion. Like when the club announced that Matt's, Pettigrew's and Carlile's contract were renewed and that they would all be at the club at least until the end of 2009. That left it open as to whether 1, 2 or all 3 had signed until 2009 or some until 2010.

How many and who to delist