the 'other' team
HF: Deledio, Simmonds, Pettifer
F: Krakouer/Meyer, Schulz/Stafford, Campbell

Richo is unlikely (rest him, I'd rather him at 100% for the run home), and Adelaide's tall backline is under rated in my opinion, so we need to structure up small to hurt them (much like Welsh is likely to hurt us).

Simmonds is more than competent at CHF, so keep him there. Deledio is doing fantastically well at the moment, so he will retain his role, much like Pettifer, who needs to kick a couple for us to be in it.

deeper, I think we would be silly to play tall, so we should line up a small, leading forwardline with one tall target to kick at - this role being rotated between Schulz (who should get 120 mins as a forward) and maybe swinging Stafford in there off the bench. Krakouer (who is building) and Meyer (who really excited me as a goalsneak last week) can play at his feet.

finally, the game breaker is Wayne Campbell this week. play Wayne leading out of the goalsquare, exclusively as a forward. our midfield can match it with Adelaide's, and Wayne is not the sort of player who will change that fact if they do not. if we are to win, I think we will need at least 3 goals out of Wayne to do it.

we are going to have to fight to pull this one off, but with some smart forward planning by Terry, some effective clearance work by Tuck and Coughlan, aided by Knobel (who I have a fondness for) and a return to form of Andrew Kellaway (he was quiet last week, further strengthening my view that he is an essential component of a winning Richmond side), we can do this.

we can do this.

Hope you're right mate.
- Small may be the way to go but if Campbell is to play as a leading forward you want to make sure there are other targets there to both help him out and provide Adelaide's best defenders with a challenge. Pettifer and someone like Schulz or Stafford need to make a significant contribution on the scoreboard (3 goals + each). Key will be to keep the bloody forward line open.
- Agree that Richo should be rested and/or operated on if necessary.
- Admire your resolve in our midfield but Adelaide are a tough bunch, literally. Roo, Goodwin, Edwards, McCleod and Thompson are a good bunch and give plenty in the physical stakes too. Tuck and Cogs can handle that but it won't be easy.

I think we are in for a good match on Saturday. It should be close but I wish it was at the G rather then the Dome, the Crows can definatly play there.

The boys have got to get the first quarter right. That is extremely annoying to watch the opposition jump start us every game.

The line up you posted TigerFan is good. However, I'm not too sure if Stafford should be selected this week. I like Meyer in the pocket, just until he bulks up a little bit more. He looked the good next to Richo last week, hopefully the same with Schulz this week. I wouldnt like to see Campbell in that forward pocket too long but every now and then would be right. Replace Tambling with Campbell in my opinion.

Go with the Meyer and Schulz out of the goal square and leave a lot of room in front of them. Go long to the square and lead to either of them.

Midfield is going to be tough this week. Hyde is back, hopefully, which is a big bonus. Krakouer will also spend some time I heard. A very handy player this week will be Kane Johnson (not that he isnt). Knows about how some of the Crows players play which will be a good tool for Deledio, Meyer, Schulz.. some of the kids who havent played against the Crows.

We need to hope their midfielders come down with a bad case of the Flu.

We havent beaten their midfield for years and its usually where the Crows give us a spanking.

Although our midfield is better than what it has been in a long time I'm still unsure if we have improved that much to match the crows.

Hope Cogs,Tucky and Johno have a field day would go a long way in making sure we get a much needed win.

How to structure against the crows?

get hyde in and fix our midfield..get the mids to grab the taps; run and carry inside 50 and kick long goals. As the tigers know all too well; that's the easiest way to bury a side

Out richo, Graham
In Schulz, hyde
------
versus Sydney:

in Tambling, Hatrigan, richo,
out?????? any three who don't have a red hot go against Adelaide :mad:

duckboy said:
- Admire your resolve in our midfield but Adelaide are a tough bunch, literally. Roo, Goodwin, Edwards, McCleod and Thompson are a good bunch and give plenty in the physical stakes too. Tuck and Cogs can handle that but it won't be easy.

That is how Adelaide are winning games. McLeod hasn't been that great this year in truth, but in addition to those guys there are a group of B grade palyers who don't get enough respect. Mattner, Skipworth, Shirley, Reilly and Doughty are all getting it 14-18 times a match. That midfield depth is a big problem for most teams.

Up forward they aren't much chop. Welsh and Perrie are having it rammed down their throats but still have only combined for 36 goals. They get most of their goals from midfielders. Welsh SHOULD be a perfect math-up for Gaspar. Hall is perfect for Perrie.

With Hudson and Biglands double teaming in the ruck we might have problems if Stafford or Simmonds can't spell Knobel. They'll wear him down pretty quickly because they are both physical.

As for the small forward line. I disagree on that. Adelaide basically let the opposition have the ball and we will get plenty of touches. But they drop back across half-back and counter-attack. Teams get sucked into chipping and going sideways. I think we have to go at them.

I would like to see Schulz-Simmonds-Graham up forward (yeah I know Graham is rubbish but there is litte else). I also prefer Campbell out of the goal square because he is a creater of goals.

Punt_Road_Roar said:
We need to hope their midfielders come down with a bad case of the Flu.

We havent beaten their midfield for years and its usually where the Crows give us a spanking.

Although our midfield is better than what it has been in a long time I'm still unsure if we have improved that much to match the crows.

Hope Cogs,Tucky and Johno have a field day would go a long way in making sure we get a much needed win.

You may be in luck. Burton and Edwards are iffy for us at the moment and could miss.

Weaver said:
McLeod hasn't been that great this year in truth,

Mcleod hasnt played a lot in the middle at all, in fact NC has played him on the small quick forward for most of the season. I'd possibly expect him to get Krakouer this week and perhaps get some free run off half back if Krakouer isnt accountable. Should be interesting.

Hope for a good game - and we get across the line in a close one :)

Weaver said:
That is how Adelaide are winning games. McLeod hasn't been that great this year in truth, but in addition to those guys there are a group of B grade palyers who don't get enough respect. Mattner, Skipworth, Shirley, Reilly and Doughty are all getting it 14-18 times a match. That midfield depth is a big problem for most teams.

Up forward they aren't much chop. Welsh and Perrie are having it rammed down their throats but still have only combined for 36 goals. They get most of their goals from midfielders. Welsh SHOULD be a perfect math-up for Gaspar. Hall is perfect for Perrie.

With Hudson and Biglands double teaming in the ruck we might have problems if Stafford or Simmonds can't spell Knobel. They'll wear him down pretty quickly because they are both physical.

As for the small forward line. I disagree on that. Adelaide basically let the opposition have the ball and we will get plenty of touches. But they drop back across half-back and counter-attack. Teams get sucked into chipping and going sideways. I think we have to go at them.

I would like to see Schulz-Simmonds-Graham up forward (yeah I know Graham is rubbish but there is litte else). I also prefer Campbell out of the goal square because he is a creater of goals.

Pretty good assessment

I feel that the Crows are a blue collar version of Geelong.As you say it's their second tier midfielders who can really get under the guard.I reckon we actually match up against their list quite well.They have no real power scoring forwards that can expose the Halls,Kellaways and Gaspars of our side.

I've been dissapointed of late in the way that we haven't pressed home our advatage at having the triple talls.Whats happened to Terry's triangle recently?Last week krak ended up being our go to guy inside 50.Ridiculous.

Schulz should definately be included this week so as we can press home our advantage of high marking forwards.Particular if Richo is out. :(

Tuck and Coughlan have been giving us good first use alot this year and can go along way to negating Ricuiito and Thompson etc.It's time that our outside midfielders started using it alot smarter.It's important that guys like bloody Tivendale and Chaffey(assuming the're picked) along with Bowden,NewmanJackson Deledio,Raines euse the ball alot better.Some of the decision making andd execution against the Roos was the Richmond of ole.

We are easily capable of beating the Crows.Time to stand up.

we got to pray to god that tivendale is droppd and if he plays again... plllleeeeeeeaaaase not on Roo,McLeod or GOODWIN or where ********ed by at least 60plus points

I think it is a great time to rest Richo. If we struglled against the North mini flood - we will really struggle with if we cant find our talls and the Crows run the ball out with ease. I think we need to be faster and smarter up forward and I'm thinking the match commite are considering Tambling.

I would structure the forward line with Simmonds as the hit up forward with Shulz or Stafford playing the tall forward down deeper with Tambling and Deledio playing leading forwards. Krakour, Pettifer Meyer and Campbell could rotate through half forward. This would give us the potential for greater defensive pressure on teh outcoming ball and may focus the midfielders minds to honour leading smaller forwards.

My outs would be Richo (rest), Chaffey and Graham

Ins Hyde Shulz and Tambling.

I doubt they will drop Tivendale, but Hartigan or Hilton are potential ins. Possible line up

Newman Gas Kellaway
Bowden Hall Jackson
Raines Cogs Hyde
Pettifer Simmonds Krak
Deledio Shulz Tambling
Knobel Tuck Johnson

Int Staff Campbell Meyer Tivendale

Em Hilton Hartigan Morrison

if Hartigan comes back, swing Bowden onto the ball.

I would also love to see Meyer given a go at McLeod (he gave Wanganeen a good go if I remember rightly), while Richo being dropped would actually be a rather smart decision for structural purposes. we need the tall option so the midfielders have something to 'kick at', but a small, leading forwardline - much like the one that has killed us in Adelaide games past - is the way to go.

I don't care at whose expense it comes, but Terry has to put a rocket up the side, because our starts are killing us. if we can get a quarter time lead, it's game over as far as I am concerned.

I am completely sold on Wallace, but pulling it together when the club looks like falling apart would just about put his life membership in the letterbox.

one more thing, I won't be at the game (I am from Tassie remember), but if I see a repeat of last year's disgraceful display in round five, I will disown you all. I don't give a s h i t what you want to call it, but the 'spitter' was hardly alone, he was just stupid enough to do such a thing.

saturday night is the biggest game of the year for us, get down to the Dome and create an atmosphere worthy of such an occasion.

GO TIGERS