Roast I am Over It

TheMightyAchilles

The Last month has been so funny, reading the crap every little nerd is typing away.

Facts the team has injuries and the team is nursing the squad through the season. Thompson has not played his best team in position all year. In the St Kilda game the cards were played and the game was nearly won. He has not played key players in position all year.

He was critised for not having a plan B last year, this year he has not played plan A all year. The pressure is firmly off, and now it has turned into the cats are gawn. We are only one win away from the same dopes reporting the era is still strong.

The best thing we can do all year is to shut up and watch the season unfold. Young blokes are getting plenty of time in the middle. Hogan has played quality minutes, Byrnes has had his chance to cement his spot and has not done it, Woj the same, Varcoe improved for a minute, so unlike any other team spots 21 and 22 are clearly up for grabs.

Don't be fooled, just because Essendon did something in 1991 does not mean we will repeat the process. Things evolve, and emotion is temporary. Thompson has firmly placed pressure on the saints, and they are starting to be cocky, and this will be their downfall.

this geelong team is awesome. when the midfielders are in their rightful position, the forwards will get 100% delivery

further at trade time, byrnes tenace blake and co will deliver very good draft picks given they have been exposed this year, as opposed to playing in the two's all year

the saints will have injuries sooner or later,

everyone is so sure they will make the gf, but they are human, and one good collingwood game could be all over for them

the next 5 weeks will be very interesting, and the saints will lose a game or two

let's just hide, with no pressure, and let the boys do what they were born to do

win the premiership, and we will all be very happy campers

the glass is not half empty, it is overflowing, we just need new glasses

by the way has anyone had a time when work was just awesome, when it didn't just pay the bills, where there were awesome projects on the go, where you finished 2 hours after u intended to but that was ok as you were loving what you were doing, but the routine stuff you didn't have the same energy for, well the cats are there, give them a massive contest with key outs and they show their true colours, against the so and so and there is simply not the same drive

Great post Mighty you're spot on, there have been some silly people on this board like the ones that suggested we should trade Ablett because he has no love for the team and only plays for himself. There are also posters on here suggesting that August/July form equals September form and we are doomed.

I wonder how Brisbane went in August/July of their premiership years?

mackie smsed the captain at 1am after blues game, with the message
losing sux

it is simple, we have seen what happened to egan, who was on the verge of greatness, wonder what the saints would do if it happened to roo

the pressure on the saints will be immense
one premiership ever, huge pressure

by the way any nerds watching the cricket
hmm, the poms win a game, look awesome, then lose within 2.5 days

strange things happen, only worry when it really matters
otherwise the power need to be treated for their lack of consistency

and the dogs losing to the west coasts vfl squad

the focus is on the main event, preparation is on the ultimate reward

when we look back will we care about stupid little games, or the cups we have won
we need to back the boys, and close the fortress to the non believers, and slam the trolls to their pits

We can't go up, we can't go down. All that's left is to see who finishes in third for us to play the first week.

Great post.

Also, everyone is starting to compare us to the Bombers of 2001, but what about the Kangaroos of 1999? They swore revenge after their 1998 disappointment, they finished second behind a clearly dominant Essendon, but kept fighting and eventually won the day!

We're more than capable of that. We need to have faith and keep fighting. That's what our new winning culture is all about.

GO CATS!

We can't go up, we can't go down. All that's left is to see who finishes in third for us to play the first week.

Just like Hawthorn last year... how'd that work out for them?

People need to stop panicking. Yes, we need a lot of things to go our way to go deep into September, but every single team needs a bit of luck to go their way. We looked like world beaters in 2007 and came extremely close to losing the prelim to a tired Collingwood, straight from an extra time final in Perth, due to a combination of nerves, pressure and some key players not performing as well as they had done all year.

Hawthorn didn't have that problem last year - they found some form in the couple of weeks leading into finals and blitzed everyone they encountered. But it's important to note that they didn't dominate anywhere near the extent of the Saints this year - they lost more games during the season than we have, and yet we're the ones calling doom and gloom.

Unless we have any injury setbacks, we should have our full 22 available by round 21 - including Ottens. Imagine seeing Ottens palm down the ball to Ablett and Bartel (playing where they should be - in the midfield), Chapman and Johnson kicking goals and Scarlett, Taylor, Kelly, Harley and Milburn roaming the backline. Brilliant - it's a sight we haven't seen since round 2. (NB: actually I have just remembered that Harley missed the start of the season - so we haven't actually had our best team bar Hunt or Egan on the park at any time this year).

There's still time to get it all together and getting our A-team of players on the field and playing together is the most important thing.

tiger woods misses the cut, the media categorise him as being under the pump, gawn, shite, past it, over it

wins last night, and the media is claiming he is bak to his best

hmmmmmmm

let them come, and come again
football is a funny game

and in september we will be happy

Most people will support their team no matter what but many will vent their frustrations on this board. Some people (mainly media) will look at the cats last month and write them off - you can't do that to seasoned players like the cats.

BUT - i'm not sure if it's unbridled optimism or just a firm belief that the cats are in list management mode and this form slump will suddenly turn around in the next few weeks but I honestly can't see it happenning.

As the hawks showed us last year form is everything and as I see it at the moment 2 clubs have it in spades:

Saints - they never lost it and are manageing their players as well, they are under no more pressure than we were in '07 and we pulled it off so I have no reason to doubt they will either. I don't think they will lose a game simple as that - they are re-writing history as we speak. Why are they destined to have injuries?

Magpies - I can only see the saints beating them at the moment, if we meet them in a qualifying final (and it looks as though we will) I can't see us beating them unless there's a dramatic form shift in the next 2-3 weeks. This will give them a weeks break and a real shot at the flag (shudder!).

I'm sure that cats are capable of winning it this year but for all those waiting for that rabbit to pop out of the hat and all players will suddenly be 100% fit and in top form I think you'll find the rabbit might have myxomatosis.

So sure be optimistic because your team has every chance and all the experience required to pull it off but how about tempering it with a healthy dose of reality.

I agree..

Its fine talking down other team's chances to make our own situation look better but the fact is, most of our players have either looked disinterested for large chunks of recent games or are struggling due to injury or lack of fitness.

41 tackles on friday of which Selwood had 11. We're just not working hard enough defensively. Also, when was the last time you saw someone block for Gazza?

I'm all for being positive but the signs don't look good. Maybe things will change in the finals when we have something to play for but I'm certainly not overly confident of a GF birth, let alone a premiership.

As the hawks showed us last year form is everything and as I see it at the moment 2 clubs have it in spades:

Magpies - I can only see the saints beating them at the moment, if we meet them in a qualifying final (and it looks as though we will) I can't see us beating them unless there's a dramatic form shift in the next 2-3 weeks. This will give them a weeks break and a real shot at the flag (shudder!).

Well lucky Hawthorn's not in the finals then, because it was only 3 weeks ago that they spanked an in form Collingwood. They beat the Doggies by 1 point the week before that. :rolleyes:

They've had a few wins here and there but to say only St Kilda can beat them is the biggest load of crap i've read for some time.

**** some people have short memories

Well good for you.But GFC members are allowed to be cross, angry and disappointed at where we are with 3 games to go before the finals.And to express it on their own site. Some of them understand that great clubs are not great because of new stands but because of premierships, they understand that sponsors and memberships follow on field success(as does the fixture for the following year).And at the moment we might be second but our list management is appalling and all the coach can do is blame the players, surely we can ask what he is going to do. Should he stop the hard training, not play injured players, and then say oh we made a mistake, should he design better match ups-last year Lonergan was a make up forward this year he is anywhere and then on one of the best ffs and gets beaten. Surprise surprise. Yes it might all come together, yes all of the many injuries might be overcome, yes the best team might play. But in the meantime we are able to express an opinion and our concern. Lets keep doing that in this forum. Geelong wil never be great club unless it wins more GFs. Oh and by the way with more members,there are only 80 more this year than 08.

well at least one person is happy with the crap geelong has been serving up as of late

I'm hopeful, and perhaps even optimistic. However, I'm also mindful of a few tempering factors:

1. Are all these players we're 'managing' going to be match fit? Kelly will have missed 4-5, Johnno 4 - 5, Scarlett 3 - 4, Taylor 3 - 4, Ottens 18... We went into the GF last year with 3 players underdone (Chappy, Kelly and Stokes), and paid for it... will it actually be any different this year?

2. Ablett looks like he's carrying an injury. Sure, the team is unsettled and he's not playing pure midfield, or recieving the advatageous blocks from team mates. BUT, he played some of his best football last year when the Cats were under the pump (think Sydney and Kangaroos), or even suffered losses (think Collingwood rd 8, and Hawthorn in the GF).

3. St Kilda went to Tassie on Saturday in perhaps worse shape than we went to Brisbane in Round 15 (minus their 3 best defenders, 3 best midfielders, and best forward), and won!!! They are going to be very hard to deny, whether we turn it on or not.

Well lucky Hawthorn's not in the finals then, because it was only 3 weeks ago that they spanked an in form Collingwood. They beat the Doggies by 1 point the week before that. :rolleyes:

They've had a few wins here and there but to say only St Kilda can beat them is the biggest load of crap i've read for some time.

**** some people have short memories

Collingwood spanked us in 2007 for one round, did we drop form for 1 week?

I meant based on current form the trend for them is positive, they may very well drop off again but at this stage it looks as though they will carry that into the finals when they meet us.

And if that's the biggest load of crap you've read for some time then you don't frequent these pages enough.:D

Collingwood spanked us in 2007 for one round, did we drop form for 1 week?

I meant based on current form the trend for them is positive, they may very well drop off again but at this stage it looks as though they will carry that into the finals when they meet us.

And if that's the biggest load of crap you've read for some time then you don't frequent these pages enough.:D

Yeah i'll grant you that i was probably a bit harsh on the comeback, i have actually read plenty more worse shit & dribble than yours ;)

I just don't rate Collingwood and don't think we have much to worry about when or if we play them. Any suggestions that they're a walk up start against us makes me laugh.

I was watching a live stream of the game on friday, with about 900 others online watching, and as soon as it looked like a carlton win the chat box went crazy with "CHOOKKKKERS WOOO's" and stuff like that. I just had to lol at them. Because losing an unimporant round 19 match is choking :rolleyes:

Me too, and it might suprise a few people, but I was defending the cats chances right up until the last 5 minutes. I was watching it full screen (mostly) to avoid reading the shit on there.

Anyway, the first few posts in this thread were much better than some of the others in the review thread.

Good stuff, but lets not get too wrapped up in dividing supporters as 'knockers vs believers'. No need to have division amongst ourselves (yes I know I added to this).

I am truly a believer in this great side. Just unhappy is all.

I left space under my 'premiership tattoo' to add further years.

I would like to add to it very soon.

Great post.

Also, everyone is starting to compare us to the Bombers of 2001, but what about the Kangaroos of 1999? They swore revenge after their 1998 disappointment, they finished second behind a clearly dominant Essendon, but kept fighting and eventually won the day!

We're more than capable of that. We need to have faith and keep fighting. That's what our new winning culture is all about.

GO CATS!

Okay we'll upset the Saints in the prelim then you can thrash us in the Granny.
That way Saints dont win and we get to play in a granny.
St.Kilda i think are very aware of the cats and will fold in the finals if you meet.
Would they have "rested" all those players on the weekend if the cats hadnt done the same earlier? IMO they would not have.

I still believe we will turn it around, but the bottom line is that we just haven't been working hard enough for a while now, and it looks like some attitude probles are sneaking in.

I sincerely hope that Friday nights insipid effort is the catalyst for a very prompt rejig in the thinking and approach of a few around the club.

You guys need to get thicker skins, this is good for you and the club to go through harder times instead of just coasting through. Besides you guys have lost what? A couple of games in the last 500 or so while breaking every record conceivable along the way while we lose every game. You haven't had it too bad. :D

G'day guys, from a Non-Geelong point of view, I reckon you guys are still favorites for the flag. Injuries have stretched you badly, as they have for many teams this year, but if you can get back your full sqaud, I honestly reckon you can take the Saints. Defencively you are strong, your midfield is as good as anyone's and if you can get Johnson, Chapman and Mooney to fire during the finals, I honestly think you'll win it.

The media are great for roller-coaster journalism. If you trounce Sydney this week, you'll be back and have St Kilda looking over their shoulders.