Devilcat

Suspended
Watching Geelong tonight, and seeing them sing the club song after the game, I felt so guilty. Felt like the Geelong supporter I always loved to hate. Am I really so shallow that I'll turn on my team after a couple of bad performances? Shame, shame, shame.

GEELONG FOR THE FLAG IN '06!!!

LoL:)

Devilcat said:
Watching Geelong tonight, and seeing them sing the club song after the game, I felt so guilty. Felt like the Geelong supporter I always loved to hate. Am I really so shallow that I'll turn on my team after a couple of bad performances? Shame, shame, shame.

GEELONG FOR THE FLAG IN '06!!!

LoL:)
Mate, tonight clearly demonstrates we have got the premiership in the bag.

I always say "keep the faith" - but we beat the potential spooners.

Lets just win a few games.

"Just good to get 4 pionts"

Hopefully this means we can get "They don't know how to win" out of all conversations concerning Geelong.

But, like said above, only beat the bottom team. And at times looked like they were gonna make a comeback.

It'll take a few good, hard, persistent wins to make me regain faith.

Come on cats!!! You can do it!!!

RoosterLad said:
Yeah you only beat Essendon. If you are a decent side you would have won by more... the Crows FLOGGED them last week.

30 goals oh riiiiiiiiiight giggidy

Geelong were out of sorts...Adelaide are in top gear.

I'll take a 7 goal victory every week...

You do realise Geelong lost the 2nd half? AGAIN.

Yeah, it's good to win again. Geelong played OK. Essendon were pretty bad, lets be honest.

This win was a small step, and if any of you think otherwise, well... lets just say you're foolish :p

Scuderia said:
You do realise Geelong lost the 2nd half? AGAIN.

Yeah, it's good to win again. Geelong played OK. Essendon were pretty bad, lets be honest.

This win was a small step, and if any of you think otherwise, well... lets just say you're foolish :p

We only lost it by a point. :p

Better than losing the second half by about 10 goals and losing the match!!

I must admit there were a couple of lil heart attacks felt, during the 3rd, when Essendon came back a bit, but luckily we were able to steady. :thumbsu:

YOTC said:
Lil heart attacks?

When you have Money on Geelong to win by 40+ it was a full blown quadruple bypass.

:D :D :D

Serves ya right for betting on footy!!! :p

(a guy at my work was mouthing off, cause his footy double of Richmond and Geelong didnt pay off last week!!! I told him he was a dope to go against Freo at home, but he kept going on and on and on about how WE lost it for him...)

Shell said:
We only lost it by a point. :p

Better than losing the second half by about 10 goals and losing the match!!

I must admit there were a couple of lil heart attacks felt, during the 3rd, when Essendon came back a bit, but luckily we were able to steady. :thumbsu:

Yeah, but it would have been nice to win the 2nd half by a few goals.

Oh well, I'll accept a win next week anyway we can get it. And btw, I tipped the margin correctly :D

Devilcat it wasn't just a couple of losses in a row. IT WAS 4 wins over 11 weeks (2 wins which were in the first 2 games)!!! We all had a right to be angry and upset. I supose it depends how far you turned on Geelong during the misery. lol I think the real test of us supporters is unfortunately still to come.

We are in NO WAY out of the woods yet! Infact, the cats are still probably in the middle of the woods down a huge cave stuck behind a rock. IMO a win against the bottom team on the ladder does no where near enough to make me think Geelong are back on track. I don't think I'm being to harsh saying that it wasn't a convincing win. Atleast it is 4 points and they managed to stick out the game. I felt that the boys didn't improve a whole lot if any on last weeks game. I didn't think last nights effort was as good as the 1st half of the game against the eagles.

I enjoyed singing the club song at the end of the game (about 3 times actually) and flying my scarf out the car window on the way home but it just didn't feel like much of an accomplishment to beat the bottom team who had heaps of players out injured.

With Freo in Subi this coming week, then a break and then Adelaide at AAMI we are still in strife. It's going to be SO SO SO tough to beat these quality sides but we use to be one of them, so we can beat em... maybe. The tipsters and bookies wont be on our side (I hope!), we will be the underdogs and thats when we often play our best.

Yes Jess, I know. The next few weeks is going to make or break Geelong's season. Having lost the games we should have won we are now in a position that we have to win the games we probably cant win. There was a bit of sarcasm in the first post in case you didn't notice. :) I still dont know whether to hope for 06, because despite what everyone has been saying for the past few weeks, we do have a team that on its day, could win a flag. If we hit form at the right time of the year who knows... Top 4 is probably out of the question, but if Adelaide can win a flag from 6th so can we. Should we be aiming for the draft, or should we begin dreaming again? I guess the next few weeks will decide that for all of us.

ablettallica said:
I always say "keep the faith" - but we beat the potential spooners.

Lets just win a few games.

"Just good to get 4 pionts"
The 4 pints??:eek:

drinkbricka.jpg

Well, Kevin Sheedy ain't at home poring over matchups and replays of the last ten weeks, I can tell you that for a fact. Right now, he's at Olympic Hotel in Preston swilling red wine and punting on horses. Don't feel guilty guys.

jess_555 said:
Devilcat it wasn't just a couple of losses in a row. IT WAS 4 wins over 11 weeks (2 wins which were in the first 2 games)!!! We all had a right to be angry and upset. I supose it depends how far you turned on Geelong during the misery. lol I think the real test of us supporters is unfortunately still to come.

We are in NO WAY out of the woods yet! Infact, the cats are still probably in the middle of the woods down a huge cave stuck behind a rock. IMO a win against the bottom team on the ladder does no where near enough to make me think Geelong are back on track. I don't think I'm being to harsh saying that it wasn't a convincing win. Atleast it is 4 points and they managed to stick out the game. I felt that the boys didn't improve a whole lot if any on last weeks game. I didn't think last nights effort was as good as the 1st half of the game against the eagles.

I enjoyed singing the club song at the end of the game (about 3 times actually) and flying my scarf out the car window on the way home but it just didn't feel like much of an accomplishment to beat the bottom team who had heaps of players out injured.

With Freo in Subi this coming week, then a break and then Adelaide at AAMI we are still in strife. It's going to be SO SO SO tough to beat these quality sides but we use to be one of them, so we can beat em... maybe. The tipsters and bookies wont be on our side (I hope!), we will be the underdogs and thats when we often play our best.

I still thought last night was encouraging though. The form of S.Johnson, Stokes etc....

Lots of positives. Better playing noobs like Stokes and Spencer than playing **** basket cases like Kingsley and Gardiner.

jess_555 said:

Isn;t it great to go in as an underdog. Tigers do it every week . but they pick up a few wins.

Felt exactly the same way.

Just can't get into a win after they've let us down so many times :(