Toast Ian Callinan

• Thread starter Thread starter SydCrow

his ability on both feet is very much elite, Fudd and R Jameson being the only other players I can think of who could interchange feet so easily that played for the AFC.

I can't think of many other players on an AFL list that can do it like he does (except Walker kicking ofr goal, but that is just him being a goal hog).

Hopefully, injuries stay minimal and Callinan gets his just deserts.....

Fuds brother was pretty handy too ! Maybe better by hand then by foot though

I will annoy you all by saying this but I doubt he will play past 31 at the latest.... Very few players in the modern game do unless they are blessed with pace..
He can make up for his lack of pace with his incredible sense of hearing.

Did a quick flick back to see if this had been mentioned, on AFL 360 Nutta was nominated for the unsung hero of the round along with Talia. Had a look on Fox Sports and he won it with 6332 votes. Lots of love from Tassie for Nutta and getting the recognition he richly deserves. A great story of perseverance, guts and determination.

the article really shows how cut throat the AFL is and how a bloke who clearly has the talent to suceed is overlook by less talented "athletes"

but in reality, I don't think it is worth thinking about the "what if" because in reality he could have got picked up at any age and hated it and gone away from the game - to the detriment of aussie rules.

This appears to be his time - and I hope like hell he makes the most of it.

Great article on Nutter in todays age. I could not be more happy for a bloke.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/at-long-last-callinans-turn-to-crow-20120621-20qwy.html

Good article to read, loved it. When i watched him squeeze the ball in which resulted a goal on his left against the saints, i picked up a footy and started working on the left foot. Fair to say it didn't turn out so well :confused: Just about the one player who I would like to see finish his career with a premiership

Liked how Callinan mentioned on channel 9 that he feels his body is in great shape to go on for 2 or 3 more years because he hasnt put his body through the crash and bash then recovery strains that other players have already done for 10 years by the time they reach 29. Obviously thinks SANFL is far less stress on the body.

I reckon Ogilvie is going to be very good for us. Danger, Sloane, Jenkins and Nutter.

I am sure each year he recommended 50 plus names each year.. We will only hear about the success stories... Every failiure will not be his fault.. That is usually when the ex-coach overruled his choice of picking up Ablett/Judd/Franklin etc

What the.....

Rendell has got a lot of credit for our recent recruiting, but it seems Ogilvie was integral to that.

Yeh, what do you mean by the ex-coach?

Every recruiter loves their glory strories.... Fantasia, Rendell and now Ogilvie.... They love telling you how they picked up certain players. You also get the battler stories... Fantasia's battler stories include Kane Cornes and Brent Harvey. Fantasia desperately wanted Cornes but Ayers insisted on Angwin.... He also wanted Brent Harvey only to be overruled again, this time by Robert Shaw who insisted by memory on Lance Piccionie..... Rendell's battler story includes Rory Sloane.. Wanted to pick him up when we picked up Aaron Kite but Craig insisted on Kite.... Luckily he was there the next year....

What I would love is for a recruiter to say " I wanted Tambling but was overruled and had to pick up Franklin"....

And my ex coach line is because the stories only surface when the coach or recruiter move on....

Reminds me of Vardy a good old fashioned half forward who has great goal kicking ability.

Robbo gave him a wrap in the Sun yesterday
The "Crow-bots" are gone and have been replaced by a hard-running, attacking team that has weapons in midfield - Patrick Dangerfield, Scott Thompson, Sam Jacobs and Rory Sloane - and in the forward 50 - Kurt Tippett and Taylor Walker, and don't you admire Ian Callinan.