I'd still pick Tambling over Franklin

I kind of get your point Benny Hur in a weird way about franklin overshadowing tamblings performances. But I wouldnt attribute that solely to franklin but to the performances of delidio, roughead(at times shows a little but is capable of alot more but he is a key position player and they are hard to find), griffen and lewis. Your happy with tambling and you should be he shows alot of promise but hawks fans are estatic with franklin.

The reason I think tigers fans bring this up is because of Richmonds perenial search for a key foward over the last 10 years to help out Richo. I think thats why tiger fans who has alot of perspective and patience look at the pavlich and franklins and ask how these players can slip through when the tigers have had a need for a key foward. I think in the last 2 years we've probably seen the tigers adress that with the selections of hughes and riewoldt. The 2004 draft was always going to be contriversial with richmond having 5 picks in the top 20 and going for argueably no key fowards or backs(pattison in my opinion isnt a key foward but is a ruckman/resting foward). Even at the time in 2004 when I none of these players had even played a game there were some tigers fans at that stage questioning not picking up a key position player or two with a couple of thier picks considering there were talls around eg roughead/franklin/williams. Listen the tigers are my second team and good luck to the tigers in the future. Thats my 2 cents worth.

These types of threads are always funny.

OMG we should chosen... he is better then ... what a mistake taking... over ...

It happens time and time again and every draft has them. Its a fact of life. No matter which way the draft goes, players will be looked over or just totally missed.

For example
2001:
Judd (3)
Bartel (8)
Del Santo (13)
Brian Harris (71)

2003:
Waters (11)
RISCHITELLI (61)

The fact is, footy is a game that is not played over 1 season. Players spend 10 years in the system, and only then once retiring can we make assumptions.

While i personally have not rated tambling as a junior (won't go into detail) you can't go past that he was rated one of the best in the county. As was Franklin. While Franklin may have come out all guns blazing it doesn't mean that he is better than, anyone else taken in the draft.

Each player develops at different stages, and thats one thing we have to remember. Before people start to pick all over richies caucus, give him atleast 5 years to prove something. Odds are he has the talent.

Until then wait patiently, let the franklin hype keep on going and no that at the end of the day, in 5 years time you have a better player then the hawks.

'Bling Bling' Tambling has copped it from all angles. The truth is, had Buddy not done so well so fast Tambling would likely be seen as an electrifying young talent with an extremely promising future. His recent bursts of brilliance have been overshadowed by the Buddy system, but where was Buddy 12 months ago?

He was in the VFL getting thrashed by Dean Polo. He was an embarrassment.

Tambling missed his first year due to injuries and has never been dropped to the VFL for any length of time to find form. One year ago Buddy was nothing, now he is the media's "next big thing" and this hype has inflated beyond realistic opinion.

Those who doubt Richie's endeavor, he finished top 5 in Terry's NAB Challenge which shows his strong work ethic and desire to get the best out of his abilities. He is now 3rd after leading our club's tackles this year and a career high of 9 tackles in one match. He is winning his own contested possessions and extracting the ball from underneath packs while using his explosive pace to run into space and break the lines. He is averaging 1.4 goals per game and I genuinely believe he is one of the most exciting prospects the RFC has had in my lifetime (I'm 19). His second quarter against Collingwood was arguably better than any quarter performance by any Richmond player this season as he played a large role in 5-6 goals. His 4 goal brilliance in the first quarter against the reigning premiers was exhilirating and had me shuddering at what he'll do in future finals. This kid steps up bigtime when the stakes are raised. He's got that spark that needs to light when the rest of the team is down.

Richard Tambling has both the drive and natural ability to become an elite talent of the game. I'll back him to be bigger than Buddy before the end of next season, and I'd still pick Tambling over Franklin :cool:

Good luck this year Blinger keep on rising and don't set a limit to your heights :thumbsu: You've got the right attitude to go from 'young gun' to superstar.

:o :o :rolleyes: :o Ok

rizzo (qoute) Before people start to pick all over richies caucus, give him atleast 5 years to prove something. Odds are he has the talent.

Until then wait patiently, let the franklin hype keep on going and no that at the end of the day, in 5 years time you have a better player then the hawks.[/quote]

From what i have read on this thread, i haven't seen anyone one here that has said Tambling can't play footy and won't be a star in his own right.

The thread title also says "i'd still pick tambling over franklin". Which doesn't implie that either player won't be a super star in there own right.

It is merely asking if you had a choice between these two players, which player would you choose. Yes i agree with you, in five years time we will really be able to judge whom was the best!

'Bling Bling' Tambling has copped it from all angles. The truth is, had Buddy not done so well so fast Tambling would likely be seen as an electrifying young talent with an extremely promising future. His recent bursts of brilliance have been overshadowed by the Buddy system, but where was Buddy 12 months ago?

Tambling missed his first year due to injuries and has never been dropped to the VFL for any length of time to find form. One year ago Buddy was nothing, now he is the media's "next big thing" and this hype has inflated beyond realistic opinion.

Those who doubt Richie's endeavor, he finished top 5 in Terry's NAB Challenge which shows his strong work ethic and desire to get the best out of his abilities. He is now 3rd after leading our club's tackles this year and a career high of 9 tackles in one match. He is winning his own contested possessions and extracting the ball from underneath packs while using his explosive pace to run into space and break the lines. He is averaging 1.4 goals per game and I genuinely believe he is one of the most exciting prospects the RFC has had in my lifetime (I'm 19). His second quarter against Collingwood was arguably better than any quarter performance by any Richmond player this season as he played a large role in 5-6 goals. His 4 goal brilliance in the first quarter against the reigning premiers was exhilirating and had me shuddering at what he'll do in future finals. This kid steps up bigtime when the stakes are raised. He's got that spark that needs to light when the rest of the team is down.

Richard Tambling has both the drive and natural ability to become an elite talent of the game. I'll back him to be bigger than Buddy before the end of next season, and I'd still pick Tambling over Franklin :cool:

Good luck this year Blinger keep on rising and don't set a limit to your heights :thumbsu: You've got the right attitude to go from 'young gun' to superstar.

Ouch! LoL!:D talk about a bad time to make that comment!

The stupid thing in all of this is - why the hell did you even compare tambling and franklin? franklin went 5, and tambling 4? all of roughhead, Griffen and deledio all went before buddy, and he has eclipsed all of those players too!

i'm actually surprised the doggie's haven't been targeted more about not taking them - as good as griffen is - they are STILL looking for a dominant big man forward to help reward all those classy little blokes up the field.

To everyone saying "you can't compare KPP to a midfielder" well you can.

That is what recruiters do!

I think that Bling will be a lot more damaging than Griffen will be, by the end of this year I'm hoping it's a matter of "Why did the Bulldogs pick Griffen over BOTH Buddy and Bling?" :D

Us Richmond and Hawthorn supporters have done well out of that draft. We should be joining in and laughing at the Doggies blunders!

Deledio + Tambling
Roughead + Franklin
Griffen... + Williams... :o

I think it's pretty clear just who stuffed up and did by far the worst!

Buddy+Bling >>>>>>>> Griffen
Ray Hall >>>>>>>>>> Williams

To everyone saying "you can't compare KPP to a midfielder" well you can.

That is what recruiters do!

I think that Bling will be a lot more damaging than Griffen will be, by the end of this year I'm hoping it's a matter of "Why did the Bulldogs pick Griffen over BOTH Buddy and Bling?" :D

Us Richmond and Hawthorn supporters have done well out of that draft. We should be joining in and laughing at the Doggies blunders!

Deledio + Tambling
Roughead + Franklin
Griffen... + Williams... :o

I think it's pretty clear just who stuffed up and did by far the worst!

Buddy+Bling >>>>>>>> Griffen
Ray Hall >>>>>>>>>> Williams
Ryan Griffen is a superstar.

Has OP atm and if fully fit would be THE complete footballer.

Richmond, you stuffed up, face it, North Melbiurne have too.

You have 2 very good youngsters with others to add.

Hey Benny

Can you start a Tom Williams >>>> Roughead thread this week, i would mind seeing Roughy get a bag against Freo................ :D ;)

Tambling will be better than Deledio.

Definately.

By far.

Lids will be a gun, but Tambling will be a star midfielder who can actually tackle, win the hardball, get clearances and play defensively. Did I mention he goes in hard?

Definately.

By far.

Lids will be a gun, but Tambling will be a star midfielder who can actually tackle, win the hardball, get clearances and play defensively. Did I mention he goes in hard?

Oh for god sakes, don't turn on your young players now by comparing them. Deledio and tambling will both be quality players and if they stay around long enough at tiger land they will both lead you to a premiership! The last thing any team needs is to have one player being isolated from the rest of the team!

You're an idiot.

Why today of all days to bring this thread up?

*OP edited content of post due to the new taboo on drug talk*

Edit: Keep in mind I made this thread the day after he kicked 4 goals in a quarter against West Coast (your team, Trump, remember it?) but I still stand by my comments despite being understandably excited at the time ;)

You're a newbie, and you location is Tassie.

Can I assume you "accidently" selected Richmond instead of Hawthorn? :o

good one mate, take u a while to think of the tassie joke?

if u think tamblings good u honestly dont have a clue, he gets a bit of it but turns it over more often than not and is a chance to end up exactly like krakouer is atm...all

You're a newbie, and you location is Tassie.

Can I assume you "accidently" selected Richmond instead of Hawthorn? :o

good one mate, take u a while to think of the tassie joke?

if u think tamblings good u honestly dont have a clue, he gets a bit of it but turns it over more often than not and is a chance to end up exactly like krakouer is atm... all washed up and going no where!!

Joke? I'm serious, you're a troll posing as a Richmond supporter.

Can you please just get over the Bling vs Buddy thing? I think it has been done before, maybe.

Get over it, I did ages ago, no need to drag up old threads on an old debate is there?