GordonBlue

Arsenal
So now that we're in the finals... and safe to say so is everyone else in the top 8 atm...

What scenario would best suit Carlton

Pies
Cats
Saints
Dogs

Dockers
Blues
Swans
Hawks

Top 4 should not change
So the rest...

Most likely results
Round 21
Hawks v Dockers
Swans v Dogs
Blues v Cats

Ladder would look like

Dockers
Hawks
Blues
Swans

Round 22
Dockers v Blues
Hawks v Pies
Swans v Lions

Ladder would look
Blues
Dockers
Swans
Hawks

Now... I personally would not like that...

My preference of opponents are
Swans at MCG
Swans at ANZ
Docker at Subi
Hawks at MCG

To achieve Swans at MCG is going to be hard... basically Freo winning both of their games, Blues winning 1 (against cats), Swans winning 1 and hawks winning 1 or none... or only freo winning anything the next two weeks...

Therefore if Hawks can lose this week... than I wouldn't mind losing the next two so we get to play sydney... but it's looking like it's going to be Hawks over here or dockers over there..

Should we finish 8th and play dockers over there... and get over them... (which we would've played twice in a row)... we would most likely play Dogs... in the second round...

Just to see the players keep the intensity from the Essendon game and carry that into finals. They're a chance against any team if they show up like that.

The Hawks are a worry Sin & would hate to face them in an elimination final.

My preference would be Sydney or Freo at the MCG.

Ideal finish would be .......
5. Freo
6. Blues
7. Sydney
8. Hawks

or ......

5. Blues
6. Sydney
7. Hawks
8. Freo
Like I mentioned in the OP... it's going to be difficult to have either arrangement...

To have Freo sit bottom... they would need to lose both games... hawks to beat Pies, Blues to beat Cats and Swans to beat Dogs

For us to sit 5th with Swans 6th... basically Carlton, Sydney and Hawks all need to go winless... or close to winless... with whatever Sydney does... we will have to match... with Hawks going winless

The Hawks are a worry Sin & would hate to face them in an elimination final.
I can't wait to see the boys take them or anyone else on and I reckon they'll jumping at the chance. As I said, playing with that intensity is the ideal lead up, regardless of who we end up playing.

This is true... should we somehow win the next two... our confidence would be sky high... last year before entering the finals... we were thumped by Adelaide after a terrific start... and then when Brissie started to come back against us... we were all but finished...

The benefit of playing hawks is that I finally get to see us play finals live... something I haven't done since 2000 (2001 i wasn't in the country)

Freo lose to Hawks, lose to Carlton
Carlton lose to Geelong, beat Freo
Swans beat Dogs, beat Lions
Hawks beat Freo, lose to Pies

Sydney 52
Carlton 48
Fremantle 48
Hawthorn 46

Syd vs Haw in Sydney
Carlton v Freo in Melbourne

----------------------------

Based on odds though ...

Fremantle lose to Hawks, beat Carlton
Carlton lose to Cats, lose to Freo
Sydney beat Dogs, beat Lions
Hawks beat Freo, lose to Pies

Fremantle 52
Sydney 52
Hawthorn 46
Carlton 44

Swans would be favourites against the weakened Dogs this week. Pies may not be as desperate against the Hawks in r22 but should still win. Not getting blown away by the Cats and winning in Subi is our best scenario.

As far as I can see, this is the ideal scenario:

Carlton to lost narrowly to Geelong
Carlton to beat Freo

Sydney to beat the Bulldogs and Lions

Hawks to beat Freo and lose to Collingwood.

If these happen, we host Freo at the MCG. Not impossible.

Like I mentioned in the OP... it's going to be difficult to have either arrangement...
To have Freo sit bottom... they would need to lose both games... hawks to beat Pies, Blues to beat Cats and Swans to beat Dogs

For us to sit 5th with Swans 6th... basically Carlton, Sydney and Hawks all need to go winless... or close to winless... with whatever Sydney does... we will have to match... with Hawks going winless

It may be difficult, but that is my ideal finish GB ;)

Would love nothing more than a final in Melbourne & no better place than the G.

Then on the other hand, IF we win our last 2 games & the Bulldogs get smashed by Sydney & Essendon, we finish 4th, avoid an elimination final & face the Pies in the 1st qualifying final :p :D

Big IF's but hey, "DARE TO DREAM" ................

It may be difficult, but that is my ideal finish GB ;)

Would love nothing more than a final in Melbourne & no better place than the G.

Then on the other hand, IF we win our last 2 games & the Bulldogs get smashed by Sydney & Essendon, we finish 4th, avoid an elimination final & face the Pies in the 1st qualifying final :p :D

Big IF's but hey, "DARE TO DREAM" ................
F--K me, didnt even consider this an option, and will continue not to... :thumbsu:

Would love it if we played Hawthorn week 1, then StKilda or Bulldogs week 2 at the G. Reckon we could nudge either of the latter second week. Then bring on those arrogant co**smokers from Lexus so we can put them back in their places

Personally, i dont really care who we play. If we are good enough we will win. If we play the way the last couple of weeks, then we are a chance of getting into the 2nd / possibly 3rd week of the finals. This week should judge where we are really positioned.

If i had a choice, im wanting to play Freo anywhere. I think their wheels are starting to fall off if not have already fallen off. Sandi has missed a fair chunk of footy over the last month and will miss again this week. Pav is horribly out of form and will most likely be rested this weekend, Hill cant shake a tag, Tarrant has missed plenty and will most likely not play finals, Ballantyne would have missed plenty & Barlow is not playing. Unfortunately Freo have got injuries at the horrible time of the year.

Not convinced if our team can handle the strangling of play Sydney play against us, and Franklin, Roughead are always a cause for concern for our back line.

All these options makes my head hurt.

Just go out to win every game. Whatever happens happens.

When we get to finals, we beat whoever we come up against.

Simple.
agree

A home final would be great but given the form of the bottom 4 of the eight and being we are playing some good footy home final or not i think we can beat anyone we play even sydney or the hawks.

All these options makes my head hurt.

Just go out to win every game. Whatever happens happens.

When we get to finals, we beat whoever we come up against.

Simple.

*Deletes epic half page post running through all the possible scenarios that is likely to happen, that could theoretically happen, and that won't happen but I would like it to*

:(