- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
I seem to remember you copping some flak over it as well. Not sure if it was this board or the main board?All over ya like white on rice

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
I seem to remember you copping some flak over it as well. Not sure if it was this board or the main board?All over ya like white on rice
Probably both. I was bullish on the Eagles that year. I did pick Geelong to go all the way this year, and that isn’t looking great right now but who knows. That’s a $50 bet I had with a mate. Obviously very happy to lose that $50 if Melbourne salute.I seem to remember you copping some flak over it as well. Not sure if it was this board or the main board?
Melbourne or Brisbane.Tell us about 2022
I'd still back Geelong from here.Probably both. I was bullish on the Eagles that year. I did pick Geelong to go all the way this year, and that isn’t looking great right now but who knows. That’s a $50 bet I had with a mate. Obviously very happy to lose that $50 if Melbourne salute.
Hmmm. They looked pretty average when we kicked into gear on the weekend. Blueprint to beat the cats is high intensity fast footy. They absolutely can’t cope when you go hell for the leather.I'd still back Geelong from here.
You might have to translate these words for we Eagles fans mate.Hmmm. They looked pretty average when we kicked into gear on the weekend. Blueprint to beat the cats is high intensity fast footy. They absolutely can’t cope when you go hell for the leather.
A gambler never talks about his losses.And have you ever gotten anything wrong?
Hmmm. They looked pretty average when we kicked into gear on the weekend. Blueprint to beat the cats is high intensity fast footy. They absolutely can’t cope when you go hell for the leather.
Kicked into gear = started playing properlyYou might have to translate these words for we Eagles fans mate.
Can’t see Eagles staying down for long. If that helps! You’d surely want more out of Kelly. You look to have a few guys of a similar style, I.e Petrucelle, Rotham, Waterman etc. Do you think you go in a bit tall? Have you got enough smaller to medium sized players?If demon davey joins the chat with similar predictions we are a go!
If we lost Lever we’d probably be nowhere near top 6.Particularly without Stewart out the back in the same way lever does for you.
Can’t see Eagles staying down for long. If that helps! You’d surely want more out of Kelly. You look to have a few guys of a similar style, I.e Petrucelle, Rotham, Waterman etc. Do you think you go in a bit tall? Have you got enough smaller to medium sized players?
Who do you think needs to move on?Yes we go in too tall as we are spoilt with tall options, but we also have some difficulty in reverting to our seniors with 'runs on the board' at all costs. In 2014 we played Cox, who wasn't in great form, but he was a champion of the club. He retired and we played off in a GF following year. End of 2017 we had guys like Priddis getting games on inconsistent form. They retired, we played off in a GF following year.
There's some tough discussions to be had this off season. More difficult still because our older players have been predominantly holding up their end, but are breaking down.
Who do you think needs to move on?
Gov surely stays? Is the general consensus a big overhaul?How long have you got?
According to this board it starts with Nisbet, Simpson, and all the assistants and medical team. Then in the playing group it’s anyone over 30, including club legends, and then the likes of Gov, Shep, west, Brander. Then everyone else.
Gov surely stays? Is the general consensus a big overhaul?

He definitely seems to have had less impact. He was the best KPD in it between 17-19 I reckon. Nevertheless, you can thank him for the flag in 2018. Those last two minutes were unbelievable.He will but plenty on here wouldn’t be worried if he wasn’t here. In any case, talk is that he might be out for 9 months with hip problems.
Eagles are like Hawthorn. They don’t stay down for long. Even post 94 flag you stayed in the 8 for about 5 years. I checked out some of the venue arrangements and you were absolutely stiffed on several occasions. 1996 I think you flogged someone round one of finals then got Essendon on the road, even after they’d lost and had a lower ladder position?
I think you were rubbish for about 4 years when you had that shocking vomit jumper. Judge years perhaps. Then you had 04-07, went down again but back into a PF by 2011. Then obviously 15 onwards.
I’d be incredibly surprised if you had more than 4 years of being average. Eagles have always been a no loser club, you seem to just accept high standards as a given. You’ve definitely got to get something sorted though as you were much more beatable In Perth this year. I was confident going in the other week. You almost pinched it you bastards. McGowan probably organised that lightning strike!![]()
Who do you think needs to move on?
Be nice if Melbourne could be frustrated and impatient.We had two years of missing finals in the 80s, none under Malthouse in the 1990s, missed finals in 2000 and 2001 under Judge at which point he was promptly sacked, Worsfold then took us to eighth spot in his first three years. We bottomed out hard in 2008-2010 after Judd and Cousins left along with a bunch of others from the 2006 flag side, surprisingly returned to the top four in 2011.
This is just the tenth season we’ve missed finals in 35 years, which partly explains why people are so frustrated and impatient.