Ins and Outs for Round 2?

I hope Petersen stays in, if you think conservatively you can make an argument about his fitness base and lack of experience etc but I always prefer to take the brave option and if you do that then surely he must stay in, he's shone in every outing so far.

Also if you think about doing what the opposition would least want you to do then I think that means keeping him in also.

As has been said elsewhere at some point having Petersen, Hooper, Rioli, Franklin and Burgoyne linking up does seem a mouthwatering prospect.

Pace, pace and more pace!

I think you will see 3 changes this week. Franklin, Bateman and Rioli IN. Outs I really dont know, but I reckon if you were to ask Clarko what he thinks, Im sure he would tell you that this is a great problem to have. All I know is that the match committee will pick the best team to smack the cats!

Plenty of depth, just about a full list to pick from, every one playing well. This puts everyone on alert and pushing for spots.

Look out in 2010!!

Go Hawks!!!

I think you will see 3 changes this week. Franklin, Bateman and Rioli IN. Outs I really dont know, but I reckon if you were to ask Clarko what he thinks, Im sure he would tell you that this is a great problem to have. All I know is that the match committee will pick the best team to smack the cats!

Plenty of depth, just about a full list to pick from, every one playing well. This puts everyone on alert and pushing for spots.

Look out in 2010!!

Go Hawks!!!

Agree completely.

Anyone would be unlucky to be dropped, I notice Morton doesn't get a lot of love here, but I think the coaching group have some for him.

B; Murphy, Gilham, Guerra
HB; Birchall, Gibson, Ladson
C; Bateman, Hodge, Moss
HF; Osborne, Franklin, Rioli
F; Hooper, Roughead, Brown
R; Renouf, Mitchell, Lewis
IC; Peterson, Ellis, Schoenmakers, Suckling/Shiels

Match-ups

Hawkins - Gilham
Mooney - Gibson
Chapman - Guerra
Johnson - Murphy
Byrnes - Ladson
Ablett - Moss/Bateman

Use Schoey as a utility to play either half back or half forward depending on the matchups. Will need to go forward if Roughy rucks in the centre.
Mooney, although big, still prefers to get out and lead, so Gibson will be a reasonable matchup.
Peterson needs to stay in to provide ruck cover for 3 or 4 minutes per quarter.
Renouf needs to park himself at half back in general play to give himself opportunity to rest and let Roughy, Hodge and Peterson share rucking duties in the F50.

Shiels/Suckling option will purely depend on whether we want the extra run with option if Geelongs midfield get on top (ie Shiels), or we if want another half back option to release Birch, Laddo etc up the ground.
We must show Byrnes some respect.

Bartel will move himself into the forward line at some point, at which time Gibson should move onto him and Schoey onto Mooney.

Moss and Bateman should share duty of minding Ablett.
Ling will go to one of Mitchell or Hodge. Let the other + Lewis go head to head with Selwood and Corey.

I think it will be Morton and JKT for Buddy and Changa. I thought personally that Suckling and Shiels wee enormous and that JKT a couple of times ater the inital Green incident didn't put his head over the ball a couple of times, something you couldn't accuse Shiels of. Hooper was the same a couple of times and looked far more dangerous when he didn't have the ball.

Suckling's foot skills were brilliant(how was that kick off one step on the last line in the second quarter, outrageous) and never thought I would say we had a better kick at the club than Dodge but Suckers may be and for that has to stay in the team. Keep Cyril til he is 100%, but Morton stepped up yeterday and is stiff

The player we will realy miss against Geelong will be Brad Sewell. Given Mitch will be heavily tagged by Ling, the close in stuff will be left to Hodge and Lewis, who thankfully, on Saturdays form, are in great nick.

I liked Morton's game against the dees, particularly in the frst half. I thought he presented again and again and that's all you can ask from a running half forward. I'd also hang on to Suckling to give the back 6 some options.

Moss is pretty slow and to me he is an obvoius out for Rioli if fit. I'm not sure if there is room in the side for all three of Rioli, Hooper and Moss. So,

In: Franklin, Rioli, Bateman
Out: Moss, JKT, Hooper.

Petersen to retain his spot. (Are footy boots with springs in the heels legal?:D)

Edit upon reflection maybe out Sheils for Hooper.

is there ANY chance that Sewell might make a miraculous recovery this week? He's got a bit longer than normal with it being a monday game, and apparently he'd been running around at training without a sling on or anything. He'd be a MASSIVE inclusion for us as he always dominates against the Cats. Lewis/Shiels/Ellis just don't seem ready to fill his place yet.

Murphy will not be dropped. I dont see peoples reasoning???

If Rioli, Buddy and Bateman are in. Why take out a defender and not include another???

We need bigger bodies againest the Cats. So Shiels will stay untill Sewell returns.

Morton, KT and Peterson will be the unlucky few.

Buddy in for Morton
Bateman in for KT
Rioli in for Peterson

Peterson had a great game, but is not fit enough and not big enough to take on Geelongs defence like he did to Melbourne.

Hunt, Mackie, Milburn, Taylor, Enright and Scarlett will eat Peterson for breakfest.

Re: So who do we drop?

Morton, Suckers and Murphy.

I can't see Murphy going out, he was really solid on the weekend. Suckling was really good too. If it's just Buddy and Bateman back this week I'd say that Morton and either Moss or JKT will be out. Peterson will stay and I'm pretty sure they won't risk Rioli this week nor should they against the Cats. He's got no match time in 2010.

Those who think either shiels or Peterson will be dropped are dreaming. Debuts do not come much better than petersons until hodge clocked him, and shiels is a hard player we need against geelongs bigger bodies

B: Guerra, Gilham, Ladson
HB: Gibson, Schoenmakers, Birchall
C: Ellis, Hodge, Franklin
HF: Lewis, Peterson, Osborne
F: Brown, Roughead, Hooper
Foll: Renouf, Shiels, Mitchell
Int: Rioli, Bateman, Kayler-Thompson, Moss

In: Rioli, Bateman, Franklin
Out: Suckling, Murphy, Morton

If we start Franklin and Roughead in traditional key posts then the Geelong back six can settle and they are a tight unit.

I would play Roughead deep to keep Scarlett away from the play and let Osborne, Brown, Hooper, Moss, Rioli and Peterson rotate through the forward line. They are unpredictable and all create pressure at ground level. The rotation will keep them fresh and effective.

Franklin off a wing will give Mackie nightmares. Mackie gets too much support when they play a tradtional forward/back matchup so lets see how good he is going where ever buddy wants to go.

Whoever gets Ling can go forward also and be replaced in the midfield by Lewis. Ling struggles when played in defense.

It should be a great game!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS!!! We cannot be predictable this week against the Cats.

Peterson had a great game, but is not fit enough and not big enough to take on Geelongs defence like he did to Melbourne.

Boo!:D

A lot of people were saying the same about him after his pre-season exploits but my view is until he absolutley shows that any lack of fitness is a liability I'd keep persevering with him.

is there ANY chance that Sewell might make a miraculous recovery this week? He's got a bit longer than normal with it being a monday game, and apparently he'd been running around at training without a sling on or anything. He'd be a MASSIVE inclusion for us as he always dominates against the Cats. Lewis/Shiels/Ellis just don't seem ready to fill his place yet.

Interesting news - does anyone have an ETA on his return?

His body strength would be invaluable this week.

For mine Morton, Suckling and Kayler-Thompson out for Buddy Chance and Junior

Murphy stays (watch him this year, you just watch him!)

Shiels is the future and will only benfit from playing Geelong (unless Sewell is miraculously fit)

and Peterson - let's see how he goes against a good opposition - at the very least he will make someone like Mackie accountable

B: Guerra, Gilham, Ladson
HB: Gibson, Schoenmakers, Birchall
C: Ellis, Hodge, Franklin
HF: Lewis, Peterson, Osborne
F: Brown, Roughead, Hooper
Foll: Renouf, Shiels, Mitchell
Int: Rioli, Bateman, Kayler-Thompson, Moss

In: Rioli, Bateman, Franklin
Out: Suckling, Murphy, Morton

If we start Franklin and Roughead in traditional key posts then the Geelong back six can settle and they are a tight unit.

I would play Roughead deep to keep Scarlett away from the play and let Osborne, Brown, Hooper, Moss, Rioli and Peterson rotate through the forward line. They are unpredictable and all create pressure at ground level. The rotation will keep them fresh and effective.

Franklin off a wing will give Mackie nightmares. Mackie gets too much support when they play a tradtional forward/back matchup so lets see how good he is going where ever buddy wants to go.

Whoever gets Ling can go forward also and be replaced in the midfield by Lewis. Ling struggles when played in defense.

It should be a great game!

Love the idea mate! We have a number of players who are flexible in terms of positioning (hell, roughy can play foward, back, and ruck!) so why not exploit this advantage and make our side hard as hell to match up on?

I agree with your reasoning as well. Geelong have a fantastic back 6 and once they feel settled, they set it up for the rest of their team. If our forwards can emulate the pressure nice and early that they put on the melbourne defenders last week, the cats defenders might well start to second guess themselves and have to play a game style that isn't what they are used to. Take them out of their comfort zone and we're every chance.

With a few big names still missing and potentially a few players still a bit underdone, i don't love the idea of simply lining up like we do every other time we play them and rolling the dice. Mix it up, make bomber have to play a game he isn't used to playing and force the cats to play out of position.

If nothing else, the flexibility gives us the added advantage of being able to find as many favourable matchups for us as possible. Heck, if for whatever reason one of their talls is getting the better of all our defenders, throw roughy back their and shoenmakers up forward for a bit!

The goals against geelong usually come from the midfield and small crumbing forwards rather than the big twin towers up forward as the cats defenders are solid. And with the multitude of small/midsized forwards that you mentioned, it could create havok for geelogns small forwards to match up on. Also agree with the idea of playing wheover scarlett lines up on deep inside the fwd50 to keep him scarlett away from the smaller blokes.

Now that would be a ripper of an inclusion!! The cats don't seem to love the hard body-on-body style of footy, perhaps apart from selwood(the one geelong bloke who has a pair is the one that hawthorn could have gotten :D) so to have one of the toughest blokes back would be great. With pinkpig usually doing a good shutdown job on whoever he takes, if sammy, it would be nice to have that extra inside midfielder.

Failing that, if he can't get up in time for the game then i hope to see him at lloydy's farewell match on sunday, jumping over the boundary fence and cleaning up the fking mongrel while he's not looking during his lap of honour. karma biatch!

Yes Nev he would be a massive inclusion, probably the best we could ask for out of all the injured boys.

Without any inside knowledge whatsoever, I think it's irrelevant that he's been running around without a sling because there's nothing wrong with his legs or hips. Bone takes time to mend and depends of the severity of the fracture. At best, based on a very minor fracture, I would think 4 weeks and up to 8-10 for a decent break. He might feel fine till Rooke cannons into his shoulder.

Please Sewelly, prove me wrong.

Yes Nev he would be a massive inclusion, probably the best we could ask for out of all the injured boys.

Without any inside knowledge whatsoever, I think it's irrelevant that he's been running around without a sling because there's nothing wrong with his legs or hips. Bone takes time to mend and depends of the severity of the fracture. At best, based on a very minor fracture, I would think 4 weeks and up to 8-10 for a decent break. He might feel fine till Rooke cannons into his shoulder.

Please Sewelly, prove me wrong.

Forgive the intrusion guys, I don't think Rooke will be playing. Knowing how cautious we normally are with players recovering from injury, it wouldn't surprise me if they gave him another week.

Hope I'm wrong though- would love him out there especially as he's needed against you guys.

Does everyone expect Rioli to play this week?

I have heard mixed reports about when he will be back...some reports say it will be this week (Dunstall even said so on triple m yesterday)... Steven Quartermain on radio yesterday said Round 3 or 4?? :confused:

I think Sewell could be back for Round 3 vs Dogs or Round 4 v Pies at the latest and hopefully Young & Burgoyne will ready to go about this time too :thumbsu:

Ins and Outs for Round 2?