Is 2025 the most boring AFL season in recent memory?

three easy changes to make to fixture

Opening Round 1 - split round
4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

(and then in round 2 the 9 games ensure the matchups are between weekend 1 teams and weekend 2 teams)

split round at Round 15
4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

(and again in round 16 the 9 games ensure the matchups are between weekend 1 teams and weekend 2 teams from round 15)

and, ensure everyone plays eachother once in rounds 1-17.

(and if one year its say GC v Ess at Gold Coast, the following year its Ess v GC at Marvel)

Remember the split round during the 2000s? I think it was 5 games one week and 3 the next.
It varied, sometimes it was 4-4, sometimes 5-3, sometimes 6-2 and sometimes 7-1. Any of those options is better than round zero and staggering the byes over so many rounds like now. Obviously with nine games a round now it’d have to be 5-4 or something similar.

Should have a mini tournament mid season knock-out style. The kinder surprise cup. Extra time if need be and penalties.

4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

(and then in round 2 the 9 games ensure the matchups are between weekend 1 teams and weekend 2 teams)

split round at Round 15
4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

(and again in round 16 the 9 games ensure the matchups are between weekend 1 teams and weekend 2 teams from round 15)

(and if one year its say GC v Ess at Gold Coast, the following year its Ess v GC at Marvel)
No.

So when you said you "still go every week", that was a lie, because you actually don't go every week. Got it.
Said the world’s most passionate Essendon hater.

God it’s insufferable seeing your relentlessly tiring posts badgering people for you own morbid entertainment.

Said the world’s most passionate Essendon hater.

God it’s insufferable seeing your relentlessly tiring posts badgering people for you own morbid entertainment.
A lie was posted, I called it out.

You have the choice to use the ignore function, instead you continue to bitch and moan.

Same teams every year competing for the flag makes it boring imo.
Ya Collingwoods, Geelong, Brisbane. And the fact you know it early season makes u not watch the neutral games as much. I'm hoping the Bulldogs win the flag even though that's unlikely it will be more exciting.

Rubbish same teams. The teams you mentioned hadnt won a flag in 12, 11 and 21 respective years.

Behave. I said, behave.

A lie was posted, I called it out.

You have the choice to use the ignore function, instead you continue to bitch and moan.
Yeah nah ..beneath the surface of your unhinged mind you know I’m right.

You’re just a sad little man ..or maybe a sad, giant blob of a man sitting behind the keyboard with a forged 99’ Duck poster on the wall ..bought from Ricky Nixon for $120 at the Port Melbourne bakery.

I mean even the Doggies won a flag less than a decade ago and have made finals several times (and a grand final) since.

I'd much rather see Freo (especially), Giants or GC win their very first flag

4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

split round at Round 15
4 games weekend 1
5 games weekend 2

This is so logical and fair, the AFL would never do it.

Absolutelty shithouse, I went to the derby and sat there as bored as an Amish electrician, and then went to the pub and didn't know where to look with the garbage games on TV tonight.
The league is in deep shit

Absolutelty shithouse, I went to the derby and sat there as bored as an Amish electrician, and then went to the pub and didn't know where to look with the garbage games on TV tonight.
The league is in deep shit
Specifically it’s about who is shit and who is good. Crows, Fremantle and GC about the only supporter bases with fresh energy for finals. With the exception of a few crows, you don’t really feel any of that on the east coast.

The always ran fans don’t seem to be getting that excited.

The fact Essendon, Tigers, Eagles and Blues fans have given up on the season since at the latest round 12, means probably 50% of the competitions supporter base isn’t really interested. I think when these teams are up and about the hatred for them gets others involved even if their individual team isn’t doing well, but it’s been so long for all of them it’s just sad and pathetic.

Look, I'm used to losing investment in Essendon's season after about 10 weeks and still manage to get excited just following the league - and yeah, this year has felt like a flop on many levels.
On the field there's been poor standard of footy, blowout games, atrocious umpiring, heaps of injuries.
Off the field there's been trouble at AFL house, Laura Kane crashing out, Tassie woes, low crowds and losing to NRL on TV.
Just been a pretty bad year for the league.
However I'm still holding out hope that it can be a really good finals series because at the very least it seems like a pretty strong top 8, though the Crows are well out in front of the pack as things stand, so who knows maybe they'll just blast everyone in finals to cap off the year.

Is 2025 the most boring AFL season in recent memory?