sirviv

Wasn't it great to see Raph continue last seasons form on the weekend. Do people think he has finally found his feet at the level. Goddard took 3-4 years before he started to live up to expectations is Raph in the same boat. Lets hope the hammie is a 1-2 week injury and we can enjoy the new Raph for the remainder of the season

In short, no.

Raph's disposal will never let him obtain the levels of BJ.

However we're not asking that of him, as long as he keeps playing to the level he's demonstrated in his last 6 or so games, I'm sure every Sainter would be happy with that.

Raph's improvement during last weeks of 2008 which he easily confirmed on Saturday has been remarkable. His decision making is better, his awareness is better, his involvement is better, his confidence is better, his body language is better, his disposals are better, his defensive skills are better, ... the list goes on.

He may never be able to kick the ball as exact and over the same distance as Goddard - but hey, neither will Nick Riewoldt who is widely considered our best player.

Raph may not be a Goddard (but we already have the real Goddard anyway), but may well be known as Raph Clarke, one of the stars of the AFL, soon, possibly already by the end of this season.

In a word, no, in two words, hell no.

Not even close to the kicking of Goddard, decision making questionable, engine questionable, reading of the play questionable.

In a word, no, in two words, hell no.

Not even close to the kicking of Goddard, decision making questionable, engine questionable, reading of the play questionable.

Good to see you haven't gotten softer over the summer mate :)

Raph isn't the new Goddard as said that's a pretty big ask (and as said Goddard took years to be the new Goddard), however he is the new Raph and I'm really liking what I see at the moment. Good on him. After people getting off his back last year he's been able to just put his best foot forward without the public criticism he was copping (I also know I wasn't the fondest of him so not being hypocritical). Best wishes for a speedy recovery:thumbsu:

I think some people may have mis-read sirviv's point and assumed he was comparing Raph to BJ as a player whereas he was only comparing him on the basis that they both were/are much maligned due to taking a couple seasons to influence games. I think sirviv has a valid point. Either way nobody would put a burden on Raph to be as good a player as Goddard.

If he could get on the park consistently to consistently emulate it.

We already know that both Clarkes can play a high brand of footy, Raph has seemingly taken his chances as of late and now that we know he can do it over a prolonged period needs to emulate it to keep expectation.

In a way though, I think there are guys that you class differently than others, Raph, most would be happy with him just being good at what he does and him doing a job. BJ, expectation is more, ability is arguably more so you wouldn't be happy if he just did his job more often than not, you'd think he has more to give.

Just think that it's about time one of the Clarkes managed to consolidate a position and not fall over for 4-8 weeks.

Not everyone footy player is going to be a Selwood or Palmer, some need time to adjust at the highest level. Guys like Rich have been playing with men and will probs adjust quicker to this level than others (just for punter, this was case with Ponting, who made his first seniors hundred at 12!!) who have been recruited from the TAC cup or their school firsts. I never said a bad word about Goddard, i knew he was gonna come good.

Yeah nah.

Raph is coming along nicely as a decent league footballer.

Goddard took longer than some others on our list but he's now the second best player we have. Much more complete footballer than Dal or Ball and younger than Hayes. Will dominate from here on in.

Maybe more skillful but not more important than either of Ball or Hayes. In and under tacklers are always more important than players like BJ.

I think they're equally important, inside and outside

Once the insiders goes and gets it, he needs someone to give it to afterall

Raph has indeed improved but I think it's optimistic to think he'll be as good as BJ. He's certainly improved, and once back from injury I hope he can continue on the form he displayed at the end of last season, and in Round 1

tend to agree that we need Raph to hold a backline spot

Hopefully injury won't prevent him from doing that

Over the years, our backline has been underrated in my opinion, yet if we can get everyone fit then we have Max, Gilbert, Fisher, Goddard, Maguire, Raph, Dempster, Geary (possible), Ray, Blake and Dawson to choose from. No wonder we're looking to release Goddard and Fisher into the mids

Good inside players are rare and underappreciated, if you look around the comp few teams have in and unders like Ball and Hayes.