30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Horks
...admits they got it wrong ?

From AFL.COM.AU

Field umpire Bryan Sheehan, deputising on the video charge for colleague Justin Schmitt who was in Sydney on business, admitted Chick should have received a free kick from the marking contest with Buckley.

Yeah, fat lot of a good it does admitting a mistake 3 days after the game. That umpire should be dropped immediately.

Do you reckon they took that into account when declaring Chick innocent?

Yeah they admitted after the Geelong game that umpiring cost the Hawks the 4 points (Geichen I think it was?)

Fat lot of good that will do come round 22 when we are battling for a decent position in the final 8. Those points may be the difference between getting a second chance, or playing finals in Melbourne.

Originally posted by Sly77
Yeah they admitted after the Geelong game that umpiring cost the Hawks the 4 points (Geichen I think it was?)

That was a little too late! Cold comfort if you are battling for the double chance.

Originally posted by Dan25
Its all part of the game. Deal with it people. Bad umpiring is no excuse for whee a team finishes on the ladder.

Think i might try and keep this post in the memory. Not for this season or next, maybe not even three or four. BUT one day i reckon it will come in handy! ;)

Actually Grendel, in Dans defence, he is not one to crap on about the umpiring alot.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but I'm really struggling to think of one instance where he has even really talked about bad umpiring.

cheers

Originally posted by topdon

That was a little too late! Cold comfort if you are battling for the double chance.

I luv u topdon!

That is one of the only matches (out of a godzillion) I have ever seen where I think the umpires affected the overall results. It is also the only match where I've heard so many commentators and other media personal agree with that.

However, on the other side of the ledger, if we're good enough it won't matter where we finish in the 8 :p

I luv u topdon!

Awww shucks :p

That is one of the only matches (out of a godzillion) I have ever seen where I think the umpires affected the overall results. It is also the only match where I've heard so many commentators and other media personal agree with that.

If there were a match that sticks in my memory for it costing a team a game...that would be it. Have to see that kind of umpiring cost a team a premiership.

However, on the other side of the ledger, if we're good enough it won't matter where we finish in the 8 :p

Very true. But easier to win the flag from the top 4 than the bottom 4.

Fat lot of good that will do come round 22 when we are battling for a decent position in the final 8. Those points may be the difference between getting a second chance, or playing finals in Melbourne.

How can someone say umpiring cost Hawthorn the 4 points? If I remember correctly, the umpiring was bad that day, but both teams got the wrong side of the stick. How can you say that it is going to cost Hawthorn, one lost game, what about all the other losses you've had since?
Our 5 game losing streak is going to haunt us if we don't make the finals, but I'm not going to start going back and complaining about free kicks which 'cost' us a finals spot.

Originally posted by Catman

How can someone say umpiring cost Hawthorn the 4 points? If I remember correctly, the umpiring was bad that day, but both teams got the wrong side of the stick. How can you say that it is going to cost Hawthorn, one lost game, what about all the other losses you've had since?
Our 5 game losing streak is going to haunt us if we don't make the finals, but I'm not going to start going back and complaining about free kicks which 'cost' us a finals spot.

EVERY media report, TV, radio and print, said Hawthorn were harshly done by in the umpiring that day. Even neutral supporters such as Topdon say so. It's the only game I can ever remember leaving thinking, the umpires were a big factor in that loss.

But like Sly said, we should be good enough to win it from anywhere if we are truly good enough to win it - and I believe in karma, and one day we'll receive a whole heap of soft frees to give us a game in return! ;)

Got to agree on this one, I was there and i was fuming. I didn't know which worse lossing to the cats or the umpiring....

On similar note, can anyone rember the worst game they witnessed from a bad umpiring point of view ??? Would be interesting to know ....

Catman - read what I posted again please. I stated my opinion that I feel it MAY have denied us the 4 points. I didnt make an outlandish statement that it DID. Anyone who saw the match saw that it was an even struggle between two even sides on the day. Without the influence of the umpires, it could have went either way, however as Goalden Hawk pointed out - EVERYWHERE people were saying Hawthorn were badly done by, and the fact remains that the final result was less than a goal.

Regardless of the poor umpiring, Geelong MAY still have won - however, general concensus from the neutral camps is that the umpiring affected the result. That fact will remain.

I don't think any Hawks fan is going to make any umpiring decision as an EXCUSE for where we finish on the ladder. We are just merely stating that the umpires are not doing their job and when you take everything into consideration - IT SUCKS :D But as we say we're "riding the bumps with a grin"

Not saying the umpires have cost us games, but they may have cost us percentage.

Some pepole are using hawk's poor percentage to say we somehow don't deserve to be top four - this could be a reason.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Actually Grendel, in Dans defence, he is not one to crap on about the umpiring alot.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but I'm really struggling to think of one instance where he has even really talked about bad umpiring.

cheers

Oh I agree with you BSA, however im sure that ONE day there will come (as it does to all of us) that inability to hold back and really give it to the maggots.

Given that all teams invariably cop a truly woeful display from them every now and then, its human nature.

Of course by that, im making the assumption that Dan is human to! ;) (Kidding Dan) :p

Grendel,

To be completely honest witn you, I don't see the point in bagging the umpires. As you know, I am quite statistically minded. Therefore, if we get a "bad run" with the umps, I am always thinking to myself: "it will even out in the end.

The umpires in Australian Football probably have the hardest umpiring job of any sport anywhere in the world. They have to make a lot of quick "grey" decisions, and are forced to do so, while running half a marathon.

In addition to this, we have to cop the inevitable umpire bashing at around this time evey year, where certain supporters claim that this years umpiring is the "worst ever." Now, since I have been following football (1983 onwards), every year has been the worst year apparently. I learned, a long time ago, to just ignore the boring, predictable, umpire bashing that takes place EVERY YEAR and worry about other, more controllable things. The umpiring will never change, and there will always be controversy.

One bad decision is not the sole reason a team loses a game. There are literally thousands of variables, ranging from easy shots missed early in the game, to the wrong choice of boots being worn, to the fact that an extra tall has been included in a match where it is going to rain etc etc. Umpiring is one of those things that can't be changed, and there is nothing that anybody can do, so the best thing is to just accept the decisison, and move on. I can honestly say that the umpiring has never botheed me. Sure, it has been awful sometimes, but that is just part and parcel of the game. Good footy will win footy mathces, not umpires and frankly I get sick of the boring "baggng umpire" crap every year, so it is one football issue (probably the only one), that I have never really commented on

A great philosophy Dan, it's sort of mine but I can't manage to keep to it all the time.

I especially agree with what you say about umpiring always being worse than the year before.

IMHO, the umpiring this year is a lot better than 5 years ago.

I vaguely recall one decision where the umpire (Geoff Caulfield) payed a decision against Melbourne (Jim Stynes) that cost them the game.

The umpire in question has the good sense to realise the severity of his error and resigned immediately as an AFL umpire.

Originally posted by CJH
I vaguely recall one decision where the umpire (Geoff Caulfield) payed a decision against Melbourne (Jim Stynes) that cost them the game.

The umpire in question has the good sense to realise the severity of his error and resigned immediately as an AFL umpire.

Was that Bulldogs v Melbourne at the MCG??? I seem to remember it was because I went to the match with a few mates, and my mate who barracks for Melbourne had to be restrained from throwing himself off the top deck of the Southern Stand!!! That really was a bad decision, but it was early in the last quarter, so it's debateable it cost them the game.

It did however, give them a soft goal and I think they won by less than a kick - so he should have resigned!

Originally posted by CJH

Couldnt have anything to do with Bucky could it? (I have no idea who the umpire was in that match) :D

maggots suck ****

all maggots suck ****!!! they are a ****ed up breed who have no understanding of the basics of the sport, the spirit of it or the way it should be umpired. the crap that ive seen against the swans and pies is a joke to man, and its happened all year and will continue to happen. its time to scrap umps alltogether and just have trial by video for deliberate penalties. scrap frees and introduce penalties/sin bin or yellow/red cards for blatant deliberate fouls and let it play on.

umpires will control games as long as they can. they thrive of attention.

#19 save and print hard copy. ref 55757775777 10 diego(donis)

Umpiring hit its nadir in 1996 and 1997, when the idiotic David Levens was captain of the SS Maggot; improved under Schwabby in 1998 and 1999; and has slipped backwards again underneath the misguided tutelage of The Giesch. All IMO, naturally. ;)

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Umpiring hit its nadir in 1996 and 1997, when the idiotic David Levens was captain of the SS Maggot; improved under Schwabby in 1998 and 1999; and has slipped backwards again underneath the misguided tutelage of The Giesch. All IMO, naturally. ;)

My IMO agrees 100% with your IMO MR.R. ;)