Adelaide/Sturt/Wingfield
Thought I would take a look back at our 1st Premiership team to coincide with the 10th year mark. What are your memories of the day? Who was your favourite player before the GF. Did you go? Found this while doing a search on information and wondered if this corresponds to peoples memories

From a disgruntled Saints or Victorian fan by the way it reads

Grand Final at the MCG:
Adelaide 3.8 5.10 11.11 19.11.125
St. Kilda 3.6 7.11 9.13 13.16.94

A tense, physical and entertaining game in front of 98,645, the biggest Grand Final crowd since 1986. In the end the better side won on the day. The lead-up had most pundits (in Melbourne) tipping a comfortable St. Kilda win.

Adelaide coach Mal Blight projected nonchalance and played down expectation during the week, although according to former North Melbourne teammate Alves, Blight betrayed his nerves by smoking like a chimney. The Saints were constantly reminded of the "heroes of 1966", the Saints' only other flag, and the recent deaths of Trevor Barker and Nicky Winmar's father (on Friday). In selection the Saints made one change, dropping defender Matthew Young who'd struggled recently with back spasms. His replacement was Robert Neill for his first senior appearance since round 2. Adelaide were forced into 2 changes with Modra's knee and the luckless Trent Ormond-Allen contracting glandular fever. Ruckman David Pittman returned from suspension and Brett James got his chance. Umpires were the reprieved Hayden Kennedy, Mark Nash and Bryan Sheehan. They had a good game.

Pre-game entertainment featured a warmly-received lap of honour by Ablett, Kernahan and Williams. Normally the Brownlow and Coleman medallists would accompany them, but Harvey was playing of course and Modra was getting about in a wheelchair. There were the usual cloth-waving displays by kiddies and mass balloon release. Colleen Hewitt sang some syrupy tosh...we wanted Angry Anderson doing "We Can't Be Beaten". Loewe and Burke won the toss for St. Kilda and they kicked to the Punt Road end on a windless, overcast day.

The Saints, playing in their non-traditional "military-style" guernsey, lined up as expected with Andrew Thompson tagging Jarman in the centre. Tony Brown started on the bench and the stronger Keogh on the ground. The Crows had Pittman at CHB on Loewe, Smart on a forward flank and, surprisingly, Shane Ellen at full forward. Johnson played on Harvey. Adelaide won the ball early with McLeod starring across half-back and Peckett's nervous kick-ins locked the ball in the Camrys' forward half. But they missed a series of shots and St. Kilda got the first goal of the match, Loewe gathering a loose ball at CHF and breaking a Pittman tackle, a handpass to Heatley and he snapped truly. Heatley got the second goal too after accepting Hall's pass. Adelaide's Rehn won the next centre bounce and Koster pounced and lobbed high into the forward line. Ellen got there first, took a tumbling mark and kicked the 4th goal of his career. The Saints were enjoying a good spell though with Burke busy, Cook marked and missed, Johnson gave away a 50m penalty but Thompson missed the shot. The Crows came back, they got a goal from an excellent Bond kick, Rintoul hit the post, then Ellen snaggled another after being grabbed high by Daniels. Heatley still looked dangerous for St. Kilda, he appeared to be pushed by Jameson but no free, then "Wheets" led nicely but missed. After Bickley missed a rushed shot for Adelaide, Peckett was sacked from kick-in duties and Burke took over. He passed to Harvey, onto Jones who set off on a 5-bounce run around the outer wing, receiving a great shepherd from Cook. Jones seemed to have gone too far when he handpassed loosely to Thompson, but Aussi carried on to receive the ball back from Thompson and smack a great left-foot goal from 45m. Adelaide were in trouble as Jameson walked off with a hammy, to join Sampson (thigh). Neither reappeared.

Saints enjoyed their best spell early in the second term. With the Crow defence focussing heavily on Loewe, Hall and Heatley found space. Keogh and Harvey did well on the ball. A long run from defence by Peckett ended with a pass to Keogh, his excellent handpass found the running Hall who thumped it through from 50m. Moments later Harvey emerged from a large pack with the ball and handpassed to Winmar, he passed accurately to Hall. Goal. Hall kicked his third goal in 4 minutes when he marked Keogh's long kick between the goal and point-posts and screwed it through. Just as well it wasn't in front of the Crow folk or he wouldabeen pelted with fruit. Heatley marked but his shot hit the post, St. Kilda led by 17 points. Blight moved McLeod onto the ball and Hart onto Heatley, the Saints lost some drive as Cook went off for a rest. Adelaide defended stoutly before some good roving from Bond allowed Goodwin to snap a goal for them. Loewe took his first mark. Shanahan paddled the ball to the boundary but it took an eccentric bounce to stay in, Koster swept it up and passed to Bond who goaled. But Harvey put the Saints two goals up again when he snapped truly from a throw-in. Sierakowski, vomitting with nerves, went off. Sziller kicked badly from a running shot, Smart's long shot was touched on the line. McAvaney, not averse to showing his Adelaide roots, screamed "OH BOND TOO HIGH NOT PAID!!" as the umpires correctly rewarded a superb tackle by Thompson. Keogh missed a shot on half-time. Didn't see any half-time extravaganza as the corporate types in charge at Punt Road insisted on playing sponsor-related videos. Good move.

The Camrys turned up the heat in the third with some hard tackling and desperate midfield efforts. Half-backs James, Goodwin and Johnson were to the fore as St. Kilda resorted to bombing the ball in to the forward line. Troy Bond received a soft free early as Peckett tried to spoil, Bond goaled to cut the margin to 7 points. Stakilda replied when Winmar escaped from his minder Edwards, he passed to Loewe who converted from the pocket. Out to 13 points again. The Crows got the next 5 goals. Rintoul's long shot cleared Smart and Hudghton and bounced through, a long kick from James was marked by the unattended Ellen in the goalsquare, he booted his third to cut the gap to 1 point. Jarman (yes, he was on the ground) led from the pocket, marked Smart's pass and slotted to put the Cows in front. Next Rintoul kicked nicely into space for Ellen again to mark and bomb it through from outside 50m. Pittman drifted forward to mark over Burke, his kick into the goalsquare was roved and converted by Caven, down from defence. Late on Winmar snapped a much-needed goal for the Saints, Lappin returned after being slaughtered early by McLeod and his snap was going through but Caven just managed to touch it.

St. Kilda tried early in the last but a typical Jarman cameo, 5 final-term goals, finished them off. Caven and Ellen, now in defence, chopped off early Saint thrusts. Rintoul won a dodgy free against Cripps, from his kick Jarman received a rubbish free for holding against Shanahan and majored. Burke replied for the Saints with a good snap from Loewe's superb tap, the Saints trailed by 9 points. Sierakowski's shot fell short and Caven charged from defence, he got the ball to Koster and Jarman outwitted Shanahan to lead, mark and goal. Jarman snapped another moments later, he wheeled away celebrating and the Saints looked in trouble. Seconds later Rehn tapped for Connell, his long kick bounced off the pack and there was Jars again. Adelaide led by 27 points. Thompson handballed to Peckett, he lofted it high from 50m and the ball somehow avoided the pack and bounced through for the defender's second goal of the season. But Adelaide replied immediately as Rintoul gathered Jarman's spilled mark and handpassed to Ellen who strolled into the open goal for his fifth. Loewe missed a shot but Heatley roved a pack to snap truly and cut the margin to 20 points with 6 minutes left. Connell walloped the ball forward for the Camrys and Jarman came from nowhere to sweep up the ball and bang it through, moments later Bond roved Smart's marking attempt and steered through the sealer, to his great delight. Loewe kicked an excellent goal from the junction of boundary and 50m lines, but the 'G resounded to the Camrys' fingernails-on-blackboard song as Smart marked Caven's pass and buried the shot with 3 seconds on the clock. McLeod held the ball as the siren ran. While the Crows celebrated, Winmar had to endure being hugged by Wayne Jackson.

The Norm Smith Medal, for the best player afield, went to Adelaide's Andrew McLeod. He played brilliantly in the first quarter and had 10 possessions in the last, putting himself in the centre of packs and in the thick of the action both on the ball and across half-back. McLeod finished with 18 kicks, 11 marks and 13 handpasses. Jarman booted 6 goals from 15 kicks and showed sublime skill when it counted, former Bulldog Shane Ellen, originally from Melton on Melbourne's western fringe, kicked 5 goals. Troy Bond, dropped from Carlton's 1995 premiership side, bagged 4 goals from 7 kicks. After some early trouble from Cook, Rehn lifted to dominate the ruck with 5 second-half marks and 16 hitouts. Simon Goodwin had 16 kicks as an attacking half-back, Peter Caven improved after early difficulty with Hall. Edwards did a good job on Winmar, Johnson pressured Harvey and had 21 disposals himself. Hart did well, Pittman won kudos for his game on Loewe but the Saint forward was usually double, sometimes triple-teamed. St. Kilda's best were on-ball skipper Nathan Burke, who fought tremendously hard for 33 disposals (20 kicks, 13 handballs), and All-Australian winger Aussi Jones who battled in a good duel with Koster for 29 touches and goal of the day. Harvey finished with 23 kicks, 13 handpasses and a goal, but many of his disposals were under pressure and "Banger" couldn't find space and lacked his usual penetration thanks to Johnson's close attention. Barry Hall had a great first half with 13 possessions, 4 marks and 3 goals but he was beaten by Caven after half time. Heatley also kicked 3 goals but struggled after a good start, held by Hart. Thompson, Peckett and Sziller weren't bad. Loewe (4 marks, 2 goals) was swarmed upon by Adelaide backmen. Keogh fired his team in the second quarter.

St. Kilda coach Stan Alves said "Unfortunately we had too many players who didn't play well...but I don't want it to come across that I'm not intensely proud of them and I'm absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to be their coach. In the end we were 2 quarters away from winning the premiership and I'm immensely proud." Mal Blight, at last winning a flag after 3 failures with Geelong, said "I feel fantastic. To win four finals in all the circumstances, I would like to think it would go down as one of the great wins in the history of the game. Particularly when we lost 2 (players) in the first quarter...I thought 'oh no, here we go again'." Asked about playing Ellen at full forward, Mal said "I just thought he could lead a bit, he's a fair mark and would keep someone honest." A terrific coaching effort from Mal to win it all in his first season at the club, after dumping some Adelaide icons early on and drafting in some youngsters. There's no doubt the arrival of Port Adelaide helped focus a few Crows too, especially after the Crows' loss in the first derby. Hard not to feel sorry for the Saints though, who played the best football I saw this year. Ah well.

Some memories here

(and do you know I cant find a Premiership side anywhere on either the AFL or AFC site)

For me we stayed in Adelaide and had a bbq at home and watched the game on the tv, balloons and streamers all over the house and home made flags etc

Absolutely unbelieveable feeling when we realised we had won and then headed out on the streets where everyone else was doing the same...down to the Downs hotel for a dinner and a flutter on the pokies .

Just an amazing time

Great idea PC ol' Boy....:thumbsu:

Grand Final Week began for me hiding under the Pool Table burying my head in my hands - not being able to watch as we negotiated the final 2 minutes of the Prelim final........:o

After recovering from the shock and watching the last quarter again on tape - it was onto the phones to book buses and tickets. Mrs Dog and I were lucky enough to be Gold Members so we knew we would be ok.

So we bussed it over with a supporter group Charter.......and as usual I was half shyte-faced by the time we passed Stirling....:D .......

The bus stopped at the Ballarat McDonalds at about 6am the next morning and there was a dirty big fat Crow sitting in the middle of the Carpark with an eery fog drifting through the area. It was at this moment I knew the Cup was coming Home !!!! It was an omen...:thumbsu:

After walking around town for a while we got to the MCG pub at about 10am - of course as most of you know it's always full on GF day so you just stand out on the footpath and drink beers....:thumbsu: We met up with some friends and family so there was quite a crowd of us in the end.

We sat behind the Punt Road Goals - about half way up the terrace. The game itself seemed to be over in a flash - despite Hall kicking 3 in the 2nd qtr - I thought we were in it all day - and the 3rd qtr was one of the most memorable I've witnessed. We were pretty much convinced the first goal after the 3/4 time break would decide the game and it did....

Mrs Dog was 4 months pregnant - and she needed to restrain herself from jumping all over the place - at one point in the last qtr I had to sit down with her and make sure she was ok.....:D

After the game we just wondered around - back up to the Pub - down to the Tennis Centre before the bus left at around 10pm. Of course it rained from about 6pm onwards so we were drenched but WGAF....

After nearly 36 hours awake - I reckon I was asleep by Footscray - and woke at Tailem Bend. Once the bus arrived it was straight to the ShowGrounds for the festivities.

Fantastic Memories.

My favourite player was D Jarmam - so I was so happy he had such a great game.

Still pull the old DVD out every now and again :thumbsu:

I was in Melbourne for Grand Final Week. Great to be there for the Parade to see the boys part of the celebrations. Sadly every second Melburnian was apparently a Saints supporter who was expecting a 60-point win.

The guy who wrote that is/was a Richmond supporter who disliked the Crows. He emerged during one of Richmond's typically shortlived mini-resurgance, taking it upon himself to write reviews of games (even ones he didn't watch) to post on the now archaic usenet groups.

Not surprisingly, his interest in writing his regular game reviews came to a halt once it became apparent that Richmond were a basketcase going nowhere.

He's probably posting here in Bigfooty somewhere although I wouldn't know his username.

Interestingly enough, at the time, Robert Walls was the only Victorian journo who was brave enough to tip the Crows to win in 1997. I gained some newfound respect for him after that although what respect I had soon nosedived after he became part of the Ch10 commentary crew.

I remember watching the pre game entertainment in a completly different light than other GF"s.

normally I seek to see if its any good and its style. That year it settled the nerves and passed away alot of butterflies as I enjoyed the moment.

In the Third quarter I knew we had it, in alot of GF's when its tight in the third quarter the winners normally have a play where they get dominance over the oppisition.

The play that lead to caven's goal told me we had it.

but what we did in the last quarter blew me away.

8 goals no points and to this day Ive never seen a more instinctive goal than Jarmans fifth of the quarter

I was at both the pre lim final and the grand final. The prelim was the best game of footy I've been to.

It was funny actually because at 3/4 time we were down by 23 (?) points and I was very very confident of winning. I even took a few bets from the dogs supporters that were surrounding me at the time. Half way through the last quarter I was actually expecting to get tossed from the olympic stand.

The grand final, again was sensational, no one in Melbourne gave Adelaide a chance so I copped a fair bit all week.

When Shane Ellen wandered down to full forward, my first though was, this'll **** em, and it did.

Great memories indeed.:D

I would of only been about 11 years old but that day is a clear memory. We went around to a family friends house early, streamers, balloons everywhere. Did the bbq thing at half time. I remember drinks spilling as arms went up after some of Jarmans goals. Something that still stands out is the sound of all the car horns through out Adelaide even as we drove home later.

Actually MD Gold members didn't have access to tickets in 97 - we knew people that got tickets to the GF and didn't have season passes and my family missed out. :mad:

My bf of the time had bought two AFL finals passes which gave you access to finals in Victoria only and he bought them with the understanding that we would both be going to the GF if the Crows made it. The week came around and he decided that his uncle who had been using them for all the previous weeks could go to the game with him. I was not one happy girl at all let me tell you! I tried all week trying to get a ticket and decided to drive over with them anyway and see if I could get one outside the ground by hook or by crook. Luckily on the Thursday a friend who was umpiring in the reserves game had a ticket available. My mother at this stage then decided not to speak to me as I was actually going to be there.

Game day - caught the train from the Uncles house out Hawthorn way into the G. Had to be their early as I had to go in with the umpires before the reserves game. Got to walk in through the players enterance and told to walk up a set of stairs into the AFL members and find a seat.

Well I entered the area to find it pretty much full. Luckily I looked lost enough in my crows scarf that a friendly green coat decided to help me find a seat. He found one down towards the fence amongst a whole lot of seats that had been saved by people. So down I sat on my own with my crows scarf amongst the victorians. Back came the group that had saved the seats and in hindsight now I think I was sitting in someones seat from the group. but I must have looked so sad and lonely on my own that they felt pity and let me sit there. I told them that a green coat had found the seat for me. They were a friendly bunch of Melbourne and Collingwood supporters that had been coming to GFs together for years and just wanted a decent game of footy. They were not small fellows and one made a comment that if there were any fights he was going to hide behind me. I did not verbalise my thoughts that you could fit at least three of me behind one of him. :o

Most of the game is a blur for me but I distinctly remember in the last quarter the guy next to me an apparently intelligent collingwood supporter singing the crows song at me early into the quarter. I told him to be quiet as I knew my team and we could still lose from here. The Shaw memories were still strong. When it was getting close to the final siren and it seemed that amazingly we were going to win I headed down to the fence to celebrate. I stayed there next to a couple that were originally from SA and had AFL members tickets. While the players were doing a lap of honour I glanced back to find that the group that I had been sitting amongst were still there clapping my team. They got the good game of football that they were hoping for. The couple and I were calling for the players to come over to us during the lap of honour but they obviously decided that they had been close enough to the fence for the rest of the time that they wanted to take a short cut past the AFL members back to the rooms.

Tried to call my family back home during the intial jubilation just after the siren but funnily enough couldn't get a signal out of the MCG. Did manage to get one out, my mother answered the phone, realised it was me and then passed it onto my father to speak to me so I had happy chats with my dad and various other friends that had come over to their place for a bbq and to watch the game. I'm still not sure if she has forgiven me for being there. The best part though was that my ticket cost me absolutely nothing! :D

Afterwards caught up with the bf and another friend outisde the G that came over for the game, got a WEG poster and headed to the tennis centre for some celebrations and then into town where I won $20 for proving that I knew the second half of the Crows theme song. Some random guy accused crows fans of not knowing it and I had to sing it to prove that I did. So not only did I not have to pay for a ticket I ended up $20 richer.

On the monday we got in the car to head back to Adelaide. Driving through Collingwood stupid friend who drives mostly long distance country trips decided to look around a bit while driving so we ended up rear ending another car. :( I was quite shaken up and called parents who bought me and bf a ticket home on a flight later that day. (Credit cards are evil and Nikki really should never possess one).

All up a weird trip but one I am very happy I made.

i was there at the ground, sitting in the top deck of the ponsford stand, i remember being so scared at half time cos i didnt think we had played well... then us coming back and bagging all the saints supporters... i remember having my face painted before the game... 3 stripes on one side and in a good omen the number 23 on the other, i repeated it from the same place the next year too!!

1997 I was 9 We had a massive family BBQ with the neighbours and their family! it was great!! In 98 I was there! best day of my life!, we drove over and everywhere we went we saw signs that led me to believe that we were gonna win eg.

1. When Crossing the boarder on the way there 'WE are the Champions' was playing....the cd was on random!
2. that morning at breakfast we were using a sauce that was called White CROW!
3. during the 3rd QRT Adelaide's flag (on top of the scoreboard) was flying freely and North's was wrapped around the pole and not 'Flying'

I have great menories of the day, I was 20 years old and myself my best mate and my brother managed to score some standing room tickets behind the goals in the southern stand. Seeing Jarman kick those 5 goals in the last quarter was brilliant and I will never forget a mass pile of of crows fans in the area where I was standing as the goals piled through in the last quarter.

It was then off to the Metro nightclub with Crows gurnseys on. When we got their staff were busily taking down all the saints gear from the walls etc because they were predicting a saints win.

We then watched a replay of the game on the big screen and sank dozens of drinks reliving the game. It was then off the the Dance floor to celebrate. The vics were great to us even with our gurnseys on and we got congratulated all through the night by 100s of people (a good way to chat to the ladies though). We had the Crows song played about 4 times during the night too.

I got hugged by Matthew Richardson and Matthew Allan, they were smashed like the rest of us.

Got back to the hotel at 6am and drove home (well I was slumped in the back seat) at 7am. The 10 hour drive back was torture and I have never been so hung over in my life. It was all worth it though. 98 was pretty much the same deal except the drive was even worse.

Reading this thread was convinced me to watch the DVD again...
I even know the commentary by heart now :o

I remember feeling nervous all day
But my strongest memories was I demanded my Dad recorded the game so we could watch it over and over, and he said he didn't want to jynx it. So we never taped it, and boy did he regret it.
Also, that week in school in English I did a creative writing piece on the game. And I still have the paper somewhere. I got 19/20 and my teacher wrote, 'It'll be Port's turn next year' :p

What an amazing week that was. Like someone above, I couldn't watch those last two minutes of the Prelim final, I was pacing madly around the house. Then when the siren went we were jumping and screaming and I thought - shit, got to make a phone call! So on the phone to Qantas (or Ansett, can't remember now) but I do know that we got the last two seats out of Brisbane on the Saturday morning - cost us $856 EACH!!!!!:eek: We didn't care, we were going to the G. Then it was a matter of getting tickets! They went on sale on the Sunday morning and we had two gold memberships and needed two more (which the family organised) and they tried for hours to get through on the phone with no luck. So at about 11am I decided to call that number from Brisbane - and got straight through! Had our tickets booked within minutes.:D

Mum and Dad drove over from Adelaide and picked us up from the airport on Saturday morning. First thing I saw when we landed in Melbourne was a Crow on the runway. Probably not an unsual occurence, but to me it was an OMEN! (Happened the next year too!) We drove to one of the train stations, parked the car and trained it in to the G. Soaked up all the atmosphere and had relatively good seats behind the goal on the lower level. Loved the pre-game entertainment. Loved the balloons and the music. At half time I was quietly confident. At three quarter time I said a silent prayer (to whom I know not as I am an athiest!). And that last quarter was just magic.

Celebrated long and hard over at the tennis centre where the players came back. Then made the long trek back to the only hotel we could get two rooms in out at Lilydale! Was wonderful on Sunday morning to sleep in and then read the Victorian papers! Then we headed back in to the City and went to this little newsagency on the south bank where WEG was signing his premiership posters. Was a great day wondering around in our colours.

The next year we prepared early - bought our flights in July (just in case) and went down to see the parade. Now that was an awesome week too!

I was overseas!!! In Greece to be exact, on an island where the family originated from. I would have been nine at the time. An old guy from Australia that was also holidaying there told me Adelaide had made the GF (he didn't know i barracked for them) and I was straight onto the phone to my Nan to confirm. She did and she taped it for me, and I rang her when I thought the game would be finished (time difference and all - i think i rang literally as the final siren went) and I was just the happiest kid in the country.

When we got back mid-October there was newspaper clippings blu-tacked on the door and nearly everywhere else in the house, they had found my scarf and wrapped it around the heater chimney inside, and just all sorts of stuff around and the tape sitting on my bed. We got back really late so I didn't watch it that night, but I got up early the next morning and watched it straight away.

It wasn't that great going back to school though cos i didn't really get the chance to gloat all that much cos it was sorta like the moment had passed. Nobody cared anymore.

I was in the country for 98 though, watching at home, taping it again. Had a bet with my uncle on the result. $10. He gave me two five dollar notes, then took one back saying "you lost the first half". But he gave it back to me in the end. I had not long started at a new school though so again didn't gloat that much cos i was trying to fit in and make friends.

I was suckin on a few tinnies during a bbq:D
We had all the streamers and scarfs and a wind break etc to get us through.

Got absolutely hammered and woke up to "The pride of south australia echoing over the airwaves:cool: "

Its :( bin a long time.....2LONG

i was 10 when we won in 1997

was at home in 97 a few of the family around for a BBQ went and kicked the footy at half time and missed the first 10mins of the 3rd quarter :(
but saw the rest and especially the D.Jarman show :D

went to my cousins at balaklava for 98,

the main thing i remember about the 98 GF is my mum going mental at my dad, he works at the advertiser and already had those "Crows Premiers 98" posters the thursday before the game, he was showing them to the people at the BBQ.
mum was telling him to stop you'll jinx them etc etc...

and remember after the game going to the local hotel and hanging out with the balaklava locals, singing the club song over and over

that 97 prelim was insane the first Quarter I was full blown Crying cos Tony Modra did his knee and then when Jarman Slotted that goal I was Jumping up and down and screaming and when the final siren went I was running down the road knocking on everyones doors and telling them WE MADE IT TO THE GRANDFINAL!!! (I made extra sure that Port Supporters answered there doors! lol)

The Final was better than I imagined Jarman I mean He was just sensational!!

that 97 prelim was insane the first Quarter I was full blown Crying cos Tony Modra did his knee and then when Jarman Slotted that goal I was Jumping up and down and screaming and when the final siren went I was running down the road knocking on everyones doors and telling them WE MADE IT TO THE GRANDFINAL!!! (I made extra sure that Port Supporters answered there doors! lol)

The Final was better than I imagined Jarman I mean He was just sensational!!

still laugh when i watch the DVD of the prelim at Liberatore celebrating his point and then Rohan Smith punching the ground and throwing his mouthguard :D

I didn't go over for the 97 GF, and barely remember it to be honest - I was in year 6.
I did, however, go over for the 98 one, and it was an absolutely brilliant day.
I missed my year 7 disco for it though, and I was a shoe-in for "Disco King"...