Its Spencer Time

• Thread starter Thread starter Turbocat

Surely with our current over whelming need of fit bodies that are over 190 , it must be time to find out if this guy is going to be here long term.Our need is great and he simply must step up.Hes always seemed slow to me but its time find out whether he compensate this by getting the ball or by preventing others get it.

If MS doesnt get a game this week , then he should he should be given the Left,Left,Left Right Left- right out the door at years end because the powers that be must not have any faith in him.

basically, I think its Elvis time Matthew, Its Now or Never

I would like to see him appear in the line up before years end and if he fits intot he team this weekend, it would be great to see him. Would he and Egan be fighting for around about the same spot though?

cats2rise said:
I would like to see him appear in the line up before years end and if he fits intot he team this weekend, it would be great to see him. Would he and Egan be fighting for around about the same spot though?

No, Spencer is a genuine KPP while Egan can play KPP but also match up on a smaller defender or the mid-sized forward i.e Hamill, Lucas etc..

nananana catman said:
Hamill and Lucas are mid sized forwards?

Hamill certainly is at 184cm, Lucas is a kpp at 193cm though. And for the query about Johnno, he's 189cm, so yes he's taller than Hamill but is 8kg lighter at 86kg, Hamill is a chunky unit at 94kg.

Getting back to the point about Spencer, he's robably worth a go, we are lacking height and to rely on Egan and probably Dasher to take Riewolt and Koschitzke is a little far fetched. From all accounts, he's a bit slow which would put him back a little, but hopefully he can make up for this with strong hands and good footy nouce.

I would like to see Spencer tested at the highest level. I would rather watch him get beat while learning than watch Rooke give away 10 cm trying his guts out but just can't get the spoil in.

He would get made look silly, has no pace and cant turn, cant kick and does't make a lot of good decisions. I agree he has a big body but that's not all you need. I have seen a lot of VFL games this year and every time he gets in the best he has been plainly betten all day, I think Tudor just loves him.

Macpop said:
He would get made look silly, has no pace and cant turn, cant kick and does't make a lot of good decisions. I agree he has a big body but that's not all you need. I have seen a lot of VFL games this year and every time he gets in the best he has been plainly betten all day, I think Tudor just loves him.

I don't think you were watching number 25 then mate! When you say he has no pace; compared to who his size?

He is 194cm is is very agile for a guy his size. He has a red hot go every week which is the least I could say for half of the guys in the firsts. I can be fairly confident that he would keep someone like kozi quiet.

He is the leading vote getter this year in the cats VFL side as well so give him a break. You don't get votes based on whether the coach likes you or not. If that was the case then King and Charlie would be our leading vote getters in the firsts!

Bring him on, I say!!

Alot of people have questioned his movement but having gone to quite a few vfl games i find his movement to be quite decent for a guy that is 194cm tall.

Tweak Talent said:
Alot of people have questioned his movement but having gone to quite a few vfl games i find his movement to be quite decent for a guy that is 194cm tall.

I reckon his lateral movement is suspect, but he's quick when running in a straight line.

His turning arc is quite large.

if Moons is out you would think Lonergan would come in. But because of the bevvy of Saint talls we may need another one. Give the kid a go, i reckon he looks like a kid who will give you 110%, can't ask for more than that.

weird I was just gonna come here and ask how matt was going and if he was a chance to crack a game given the injuries to tall players.

Geelong seams to have a long list of good young talls, so I hope he gets a chance.

that is all.

doog said:
Geelong seams to have a long list of good young talls,

They're certainly tall and young, not sure about good though.

We've got a plethora of taller players but few of them have shown much to date :(

You blokes are unreal, if he gets a go and is made look silly the first thing you will do is bag him, The last 2 weeks he has been in the best, 2 weeks ago he had 5 goals kicked on him in a half and was moved away from that player and Buckland was put onto his player and kept him to 1 goal in the second half, so why don't they give Buckland ago, they have to see if he can do it or not. Last week he was lead to the ball all day, 3 goals 5 kicked on him, just as well the bloke was a bad kick or he might have got best on ground

Macpop said:
You blokes are unreal, if he gets a go and is made look silly the first thing you will do is bag him,
Total crap

The last 2 weeks he has been in the best, 2 weeks ago he had 5 goals kicked on him in a half and was moved away from that player and Buckland was put onto his player and kept him to 1 goal in the second half,
Didn't Hall kick 5 on Scarlett in a qtr a few weeks ago ?
Didn't Fevola kick 4 on Harley in a qtr earlier this year ?

so why don't they give Buckland ago, they have to see if he can do it or not.

He'd have to be promoted to the senior list first.Which he won't.

Macpop said:
You blokes are unreal, if he gets a go and is made look silly the first thing you will do is bag him, The last 2 weeks he has been in the best, 2 weeks ago he had 5 goals kicked on him in a half and was moved away from that player and Buckland was put onto his player and kept him to 1 goal in the second half, so why don't they give Buckland ago, they have to see if he can do it or not. Last week he was lead to the ball all day, 3 goals 5 kicked on him, just as well the bloke was a bad kick or he might have got best on ground

That right , all we want is to do is bag a player,every player on our list is crap or is going to be so lets just start now and save time.Who wants good players anyway , you get to win games , its better to be negative and bag the pants right off them , heaps of fun. Dahhhh

I want every players on our list to be champ Macca, but just like Goldilocks found only one out of three are just right.I really hope he is our third tall backman but from what Ive seen of him in the V's i dont think he is. I hope Im wrong but either way , its time for him to prove himself to me , to us , to all and esspecially to himself.

The Geelong selection panal isnt really up to it of late. Odds on another under-done player will come in and Spencer and Lonergon will be over-looked and we will all be wondering 'why, WHY?'

JUBJUB said:
If that happened,Spencer may as well pack his backs and head back to WA.
You are correct my friend.

Spencer's moment to make it has arrived, whether it be this week or in the ensuing weeks. I reckon, because of this current predicament, he would be chosen ahead of Lonergan in any instance.

this season is already down the gurgler so spencer should be blooded now with next season in mind...

-------
"Those who sacrifice freedom for security end up with neither"
---- Benjamin Franklin

Phat said:
I reckon his lateral movement is suspect, but he's quick when running in a straight line.

His turning arc is quite large.

Surprised that he hasn't been tried up foward, I would think that being able to run quick in a straight line but not turn would be handy for a FF (eg Lockett), but not sure about a CHB.

I personally hope he gets a go because he sounds like a good kid and he's a WA boy :)