List Mgmt. It's Tanner Time!

South Fremantle
32af31c44903401219c0f70da34b25e2.jpg

We need a Key forward that is big, bullish and can clunk contested marks. Also able to gather possessions and crash packs to get the ball to our small forwards.

Tanner Smith is providing a very useful option up forward for Peel and we are certainly struggling in this area at AFL level. There is nothing to lose with upgrading him at this stage as Mora is going to need more miles in the legs and Uber is not ready yet, nor does he have the tank.

Time to upgrade Tanner Smith and give our guys a real marking option up forward. Let's be honest, we can't do any worse. Can we!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I think that with AP hitting his straps in defense, Tanner's best shot at a career might be to commit to training as a full forward and giving it his best chop - which he seems to be doing. Hopefully it all clicks for him.

Irish is the other forgotten tall. It's a shame he's been injured for so long, as another year in the WAFL may have meant we'd be considering him for a call up later in the year.

Morabito should get an upgrade before him imo, do we have room for 2 rookie upgrades?

Thinking about it maybe Balic would make room for 2 and i guess Fyfe can be put on the LTI

Why should he? Tanner has done far more to earn a chance of exposed form.

Also, let's not forget that Perth is a level below WAFL standard so 25 touches and 12 marks may not be a sign of him coming in to fill Pav's boots!
22 disposals and 12 marks v Claremont last week, so he's strung a couple of games together now.

He's played 6 games for Peel, predominantly up forward.

Rd 1 v Subi: 14D, 7M, 2T, 1HO, 1.1
Rd 2 v EF: 10D, 2M, 1T, 4.0
Rd 3 v SD: 13D, 7M, 2T, 0.1
Rd 4 v EP: 12D, 8M, 2T, 0.0
Rd 5: bye
Rd 6 v C: 22D, 12M, 1T, 3HO, 1.1
Rd 7 v P: 25D, 12M, 1T, 4HO, 1.1

He hasn't had more than 2 tackles per game - maybe they are looking at him to improve his defensive pressure in the forward half... and he definitely looks to be no more than a pinch-hitter in the ruck.

But the last couple of weeks he has certainly improved his output in terms of getting his hands on the ball, and providing a marking target. An extra goal per game would certainly help his case too.

Tanner is a bit of an enigma. Clearly there's something about him that the list managers like or they wouldn't have given him a lifeline as a rookie after he was delisted. From what I remember being said here before, apart from injuries, Tanner's main non-footy problem has been application, but maybe the penny has dropped on that one.

Someone really needs to work with him on his kicking. (Well, we need someone to work with EVERYONE on their kicking, as he is no orphan there.)

Tanner is a bit of an enigma. Clearly there's something about him that the list managers like or they wouldn't have given him a lifeline as a rookie after he was delisted. From what I remember being said here before, apart from injuries, Tanner's main non-footy problem has been application, but maybe the penny has dropped on that one.

Someone really needs to work with him on his kicking. (Well, we need someone to work with EVERYONE on their kicking, as he is no orphan there.)

There is a bit to like about Smith for the list manager; he is very fast off the mark, has good height, good hands and a powerful (if inaccurate) boot - that is why he is on the list. He has a lot more potential than Taberner, and his kicking is better than A Pearce (which isn't saying much), but as you say he hasn't lived up to it yet (injuries have played a part in this).

One could argue that we have drafted quite a few talls (Apeness, Pearce, Smith) based upon their attributes rather than their actual performance; I am probably okayish with having one out of three deliver. Yarran is a case of a "tall" (he plays tall) that actually has delivered goals consistently at WAFL level but doesn't stack up on the height ledger; runs on the board don't seem to have counted for much.

He has a lot more potential than Taberner, and his kicking is better than A Pearce (which isn't saying much)
Smith is a way worse kick than Alex Pearce. There is not much wrong at all with the way Alex kicks the ball. He's got good distance and his weighting is ok. Take a look at his kicking this week. Was fine, good even. I've seen him hoof goals from the fifty at training. He can be patchy but thats more about growing into his body and getting his confidence at the level.
Smith is a genuinely terrible kick. I've seen Smith at training completely miss players even with handballs from 10 feet away let alone his kicking. If he makes the grade as an afl player it will be a miracle.

Smith is a way worse kick than Alex Pearce. There is not much wrong at all with the way Alex kicks the ball. He's got good distance and his weighting is ok. Take a look at his kicking this week. Was fine, good even. I've seen him hoof goals from the fifty at training. He can be patchy but thats more about growing into his body and getting his confidence at the level.
Smith is a genuinely terrible kick. I've seen Smith at training completely miss players even with handballs from 10 feet away let alone his kicking. If he makes the grade as an afl player it will be a miracle.

I thought the same thing re Tanner but after watching him in all of the Peel games this season I've changed my mind. Not only has he improved on field he is now shouting instructions from the boundary during his rest periods. He has become a leader amongst the Peel boys .

I couldn't be more happy to be proven wrong if this is the case. Something radical must have changed. Last time I saw him play he was wandering around in the backing staring at Seagulls while Rodger Hayden screamed at him from the sidelines in frustration to move.

I think its finally clicked for him. I remember the WC supporters saying the same thing about Glass in his early seasons and then it all started to happen for him. Smith reminds of Glass. Hope he turns out half as good.

Didn't hold out much hope for young Tanner, but opportunity knocks. No need to put Pav on a flight to bitterly cold Tassie,rnd 8 against Hawks. Send over the under 25 team and place Tanner Tabener combo up forward. Reckon it would be fwd 50m chaos, opposition would have no idea who our target would be (neither would Tanner or Tabs!)

There is a bit to like about Smith for the list manager; he is very fast off the mark, has good height, good hands and a powerful (if inaccurate) boot - that is why he is on the list. He has a lot more potential than Taberner, and his kicking is better than A Pearce (which isn't saying much), but as you say he hasn't lived up to it yet (injuries have played a part in this).

One could argue that we have drafted quite a few talls (Apeness, Pearce, Smith) based upon their attributes rather than their actual performance; I am probably okayish with having one out of three deliver. Yarran is a case of a "tall" (he plays tall) that actually has delivered goals consistently at WAFL level but doesn't stack up on the height ledger; runs on the board don't seem to have counted for much.
When smith was recruited as a 2nd round pick in 2012. He was drafted as a defender. Played his debut game vs the hawks at Tassie in 2013. I thought he was gone by 2015 but he played well vs port at Adelaide oval in that game to get another shot. I hope he plays this week. He has shown something and motivated himself to get a game

Saw him play in the Launceston game 2013. Got worked over a bit by the Hale/Umpire combination but by and large acquitted himself pretty well. Disappointing that he hasn't come on more quickly. With McPharlin gone, Pav on the brink and MJ shakey he may be realising it's now or never.

I was under the impression that the issue with Tanner was not his ability but rather his attitude and commitment to AFL footy.

Had played both ends before we drafted him from memory and I understood one of the real positives about him was his attitude and application.
Would love to see him achieve his goals as an AFL footballer,don't care which end of the ground.