it's time for zero tolerance

• Thread starter Thread starter r dub 19

Once again, and if we say it slowly and loudly......IT IS ZERO TOLERANCE ON GAME DAY!!!! when they may 'hurt' other people (but this is obviously more for the performance enhancing results). Train Drivers, Dogman etc. are NOT tested on holidays or after hours at ALL.

You try and equate these other jobs, but NONE are tested after hours except for Footballers. AND that is where the 3 strikes is. Turn up for Work (gameday) and you get 2 years!! no if nor buts....

and that is also an excellent point.

No, the media should only report on football related matters. If they were not always under the spot light, they would be under less pressure and not have to resort to drugs and drink for an outlet.

I consider no player a role model, personally.

Really? You genuinely believe that no kid in Australia has a poster of any player on their wall, or tries to mimic any player on the field?

Fair dinkum, if you believe that then you're living in a dream world. The fact remains players are role models. It's not their choice. They simply are. Kids will look up to them, irrespective of whether the player wants it to be the case.

I do consder several CEOs and business people role models, and people who present the match on the television.

Probably, but nowhere near as much as footy players, and most definitely nowhere near as much for kids.

They do not have as greater intrusion on their lives, or get subjected to stringent drug testing regiemes, if they did, my God, we would see a lot greater percentage of stories, considering what I have witnessed first hand.

I'm sure you're right. But that's not an excuse for players. That's like crying when you get caught by a booze bus that because there wasn't one on the next street over, and people that drive on that street aren't getting tested.

Many employers drug test workers these days. These ordinary workers get one strike, caught with drugs in the system and you are sacked, end of story.

- Where there are clear safety issues that justify the practice
- Where tests take place at the workplace to ensure there are no safety issues
- Where there is no right to test the worker at his home or while he is on annual leave.

Footballers agree to be tested whenever and wherever (including while they're holidaying in Europe for example).

If they test positive on game day, it's a 2 year ban.
If they test positive out of competition, then it's subject to the illicit drugs policy agreement.

When push comes to shove, possession and use of recreational drugs is a MINOR criminal offence. The criminality of the practice doesn't justify the zero tolerance response demanded.

Use of marijuana in in Victoria is punishable with up to a $500 fine.
Use of harder substances in non-traffickable quantities in Victoria is punishable by up to around a $3000 fine, but first and second time offenders are inevitably ordered into diversionary programs (eg drug rehab).

Drug rehab/counselling is the precise penalty the illicit drugs policy demands after a 1st and 2nd positive test. It is in effect no different to being charged criminally except that confidentiality is maintained, which is in the interests of the goals of rehabilitation anyway.

If a third test resulted, the player would be named and punishable by up to 12 weeks suspension, AND most likely a fine from the club or AFL (up to $10,000). The 12 weeks of match payments and fine are far in excess of what the likely sanctions would be in the criminal justice system, not to mention the public shaming landing a 3rd test result would bring. If you were caught with ecstasy in your system three times, and faced charges each time, I guarantee you would be punished less.

What the players have agreed to is akin to walking into a police station and asking to be drug tested. The difference is that the police would probably laugh at you and even if you were charged the judge would let you off without a sentence for turning yourself in over such a minor offence.

AFL players are not tested on their two month annual holiday, same as ordinary workers. The term "out of competition" testing is misleading A worker in other industries tested on a monday morning and found to have drugs in their system is in the shit, even though the drugs were taken on the weekend, not at work.

partially correct.:thumbsu: I'll retract my previous bit.

They can be tested if whenever at training or required to go to the club (eg fitness tests, medical checkups), even if it's during their holiday period. They can be tested away from the club while on holiday, but the results would be purely statistical.

I'm sick of all these drug scandals it is tarnishing our beautiful game. The AFL needs to have zero tolerance on the drug issue. It's time for in house testing , all results should be sent to the AFL and everything kept confidential. It has gotten to the point where people only pick up the papper to look for players off field beahviour and not how well a team has played etc. And for those who say players are no different to any other people in society and should not have to be under such scrutiny need to rethink. AFL players have to be treated differently they are role models they are responsible for upholding the brand of the AFL and for that they are expected to act within the law. As uncle ben said "with great power comes great responsibilty" this is exactly the case with players. They don't get paid large amounts of money to ruin the game. It's time for a change.

Mate, this is media hype. If I was an AFL player, I would vigorously defend my right to live my life outside of my employment as I feel fit.

Why should an AFL player, or any sportsperson, who subject to testing for non-performing enhancing drugs out of season - it is ridiculous and not consistent with what drig testing was introduced for in the first place, to catch those who tried to enhance their performance.

The media are simply using the death of Mainwaring to try to gender some more hype on this issue to sell papers.

What if you end up banning half the players ans some big drewcards among them ?

What if a banned player successfully proves being in the AFL system was a major factor in becoming addicted ?

Really? You genuinely believe that no kid in Australia has a poster of any player on their wall, or tries to mimic any player on the field?

Read my post, I said I do not consider players a role model i.e. I could not care less what they do.

People like you propegate celebrity trash magazines. You are probably hiding in a bush right now taking photos inside some players house and then selling them to the media saying how they are behaving badly and being an irresponsible role model.

You make me sick, with your instantaneuous gratification deriving from bringing down a person in the public forum. What a big fuc£ing man.

Go read you trash mag and feel better about yourself by contributing to the downfall of of others through contrived stories.

I hope your life gets destroyed by somebody motivated by selling papers and incresing the profit margin for its share holder. You naive loser.

Read my post, I said I do not consider players a role model i.e. I could not care less what they do.

So you should have said that they you do not believe they are a role model to you. I'm not a f**king mind reader.

People like you propegate celebrity trash magazines. You are probably hiding in a bush right now taking photos inside some players house and then selling them to the media saying how they are behaving badly and being an irresponsible role model.

You make me sick, with your instantaneuous gratification deriving from bringing down a person in the public forum. What a big fuc£ing man.

Go read you trash mag and feel better about yourself by contributing to the downfall of of others through contrived stories.

I hope your life gets destroyed by somebody motivated by selling papers and incresing the profit margin for its share holder. You naive loser.

My God, that's probably the most inane rant i've ever read on bigfooty. So much built up emotion.

Go and take some tablets, make yourself a hot milo and calm down.

Just something to consider. Push players and they will push back.

AFL players take a smaller cut than counterparts in many other major codes. AFL players accept a lot of control over who they play for and under what conditions. These are two major planks of equalisation/competition engineering and central to the AFL commission’s competition structure.

Rob.

Then make less comments unless you are sure. You are as unarticluate as the magazines you bring in to effect. Hersay.

The rest of your comments are deep. Thanks for them. We are all now more stupid than when you started typing

Just something to consider. Push players and they will push back.

AFL players take a smaller cut than counterparts in many other major codes. AFL players accept a lot of control over who they play for and under what conditions. These are two major planks of equalisation/competition engineering and central to the AFL commission’s competition structure.

AFL needs to stand firm though.I know they don't want the draft and trade stuff to be tested in court, but what we have now is not working.

It needs more structure, more testing.Now they test positive they get a slap on the wrist, they know nothing will happen, they are not accountable for taking the drug.

There needs to be a massive education program AFL wide.TV ads included for fans.A procactive approach.

You don't want a player to die, its a very real possibilty.

Many employers drug test workers these days. These ordinary workers get one strike, caught with drugs in the system and you are sacked, end of story.

No that is not a correct blanket statement. I work for a company that subjects employees to RDT's. For a first positive test you are stood down until you can provide a clean sample at your own expense, are given a warning and some literature. On the 2nd positive you have to attend counciling and are in effect target tested thereafter. Only after the third strike are you dismissed. I also have friends who have worked in the mining industry who have had similar policies in place. So it is not always one strike and your gone.

AFL needs to stand firm though.I know they don't want the draft and trade stuff to be tested in court, but what we have now is not working.

It needs more structure, more testing.Now they test positive they get a slap on the wrist, they know nothing will happen, they are not accountable for taking the drug.

There needs to be a massive education program AFL wide.TV ads included for fans.A procactive approach.
Personally I would prefer the AFL not to be so involved in social engineering projects. If the government wants to make or keep certain things illegal and actually prosecute transgression then that is up to the government. While nothing much is really done on an official level to stop people taking drugs in private then it isn’t really up to the AFL to pursue.

As for policing match day that is another issue. By all means test every player every week and ban every positive test.
You don't want a player to die, its a very real possibilty.
Perhaps. No one wanted to ban drinking or driving after Millane and no player has been deregistered for doing both at the same time since. I know drinking is legal and some drugs aren’t but if legality is the real issue than the line is arbitrarily drawn at drugs but not other illegal acts.

I would be happy if every player was tested for all drugs by a hair sample, once a month. less invasive.

If testing positive, then get banned or whatever.

We know have a Laissez-faire approach to the whole drug problem, and that is not a good thing.

Personally I would prefer the AFL not to be so involved in social engineering projects. If the government wants to make or keep certain things illegal and actually prosecute transgression then that is up to the government. While nothing much is really done on an official level to stop people taking drugs in private then it isn’t really up to the AFL to pursue.

As for policing match day that is another issue. By all means test every player every week and ban every positive test. Perhaps. No one wanted to ban drinking or driving after Millane and no player has been deregistered for doing both at the same time since. I know drinking is legal and some drugs aren’t but if legality is the real issue than the line is arbitrarily drawn at drugs but not other illegal acts.

Binge drinking is a major health problem though. Thats only started to occur in the last 5 years.

Young men, binge drinking and illicet drugs is a recipe for disaster.
Things have changed in the last 10 years.

Mate, I take drugs, and I play for in proffesional sport series(not going to mention which one)....If i recreationally use something while i'm injured (when most of the players use them) then it's my choice....If I get caught then so be it....I don't think that I should be banned for something that 25% of the youths population use on a regular basis, just becuase 'your sick of hearing it'

get a life mate, i'm your freind, your neighbour, your lift, your entry, your idol, your server of fast food, your policeman, your lawyer, you name it....zero tolerance was around during the stolen generstion you trogloditic freak....if you want those times.....then don't live here!!!!

get used to it....people aren't perfect....that's it

if we hurt anyone else then incriminate us....until that S&^K MY D#^K!

Top post, mate. I'll second that.

To all these self-righteous twats who feel the need to tell everyone else how they should live:

STEP OFF, GO F**K YOURSELVES AND S&^K MY D#^K!

Binge drinking is a major health problem though. Thats only started to occur in the last 5 years.

Young men, binge drinking and illicet drugs is a recipe for disaster.
Things have changed in the last 10 years.

That's a typo right? Binge drinking only started 5 years ago???

i never got the 3 strike rule, its weak, zero tolerance sounds right but not that right

lets face it, the 3 strike rule is pathetic, maybe a second chance is as far as it should go

Binge drinking is just as much of a problem as illicity drug use.
If people want players to stop taking drugs, they should also expect them not to drink.

And don't give me the 'Oh but 1 hit of a drug can kill but one drink cannot'. Guess what, people at a club do not have only 1 drink. They drink enough to change their state of mind, the same as people who take enough of a drug to change their state of mind.

Saying drinking is OK because it is done in moderation is the same as saying well I guess drug use is OK if people only take 1/8 of an ecstacy pill. It just doesn't happen.

That's a typo right? Binge drinking only started 5 years ago???

In the young teenage population yes. I did a research proposal last year on 14 years olds and binge drinking. The advent of the vodka cruiser style drinks has changed the way young teenagers drink.
It is a major public health problem. The damage to their bodies, mentally and physically in the short and long term is mammoth.

i never got the 3 strike rule, its weak, zero tolerance sounds right but not that right

lets face it, the 3 strike rule is pathetic, maybe a second chance is as far as it should go

yep.

massive education and counselling after a 1st positve. The club and AFL notified. Then have them target tested.Educate them, rehabilitate them.

Then if they test postive again, throw the book at them.