News It's "Us against Them" in 2012

Anyone who lived in the week after this years’ Grand Final in Melbourne knows it is Us against Them.

Every other supporter from every other team wanted to give it to you.

As if they were the first ones to talk to you….

The us v them mentality is driven by the supporters of all other Clubs.

The next person who walks up to me and says Colingwood fans are feral as if I am hearing it for the first time and then laughs at their own joke, is going to find out all about..

Us v Them!

I like it, but the only SMALL problem i have with it is that next to bucks its swan and maxwell (yea okay), then one more person over it appears to be J Mcarthy? who got delisted? why is he there!?!? and whys he next to swanny in the most important part of the shot

Anyone who lived in the week after this years’ Grand Final in Melbourne knows it is Us against Them.

Every other supporter from every other team wanted to give it to you.

As if they were the first ones to talk to you….

The us v them mentality is driven by the supporters of all other Clubs.

The next person who walks up to me and says Colingwood fans are feral as if I am hearing it for the first time and then laughs at their own joke, is going to find out all about..

Us v Them!
Lol I think it's more like anybody who is publicly a Collingwood supporter knows it's us against them.

Tbh it's pretty ridiculous and an amazing phenomenon as to how much people hate Collingwood. And 99% of the time, people won't even give you a valid reason, just some stereotypical dribble. Even more amazing is how it rubs off onto non-avid AFL supporters, shit they hate Collingwood more than they support their own team lol.

I like it. I come from a marketing background and I agree with the thought process of the club on this one. It's our group identity amongst the football populous if you like.

We are still perceived by much of the general population as the team to beat, best team in the league or not, everyone likes to see us lose.

Lol I think it's more like anybody who is publicly a Collingwood supporter knows it's us against them.

Tbh it's pretty ridiculous and an amazing phenomenon as to how much people hate Collingwood. And 99% of the time, people won't even give you a valid reason, just some stereotypical dribble. Even more amazing is how it rubs off onto non-avid AFL supporters, shit they hate Collingwood more than they support their own team lol.
I think Collingwood hatred is similar to Anti-Semitism: Irrational, Long seated and usually the product of a sick mind.

The new theme encapsulates the essence of what it means to be Collingwood, it reflects the reality of living & being a Collingwood person on a daily basis. :thumbsu: It's us against them !

Other teams themes for 2012:
- Adelaide "We play better with a 19th man"
- Brisbane "Go Wild Go Lions"
- Carlton "I am Carlton"
- Essendon "Flight Plan"
- Fremantle (not launched)
- Geelong (not launched)
- Gold Coast "Together we are stronger"
- GW Sydney (not launched)
- Hawthorn "Always Hawthorn"
- Melbourne "Generation D"
- North Melbourne (not launched)
- Port Adelaide (not launched)
- Richmond "Roar Pride, Roar Passion, Roar Power"
- St Kilda (not launched)
- Sydney (not launched)
- West Coast "We're inspired by loyalty"
- Western Bulldogs "The Western Front"

- Carlton "I am Carlton"
- Essendon "Flight Plan"
- Geelong (not launched)
- Sydney (not launched)

Wow. Suddenly 'It's us vs them' looks goddamn masterful.

My boss is a Melbourne supporter. I reckon he goes to about 2 games a year maximum. But every meeting we have, he spends the first half hour on a diatribe of how much he hates Collingwood and Collingwood supporters. Every second day. Like it is original and no one has heard it before...and he thinks he is funny.

If African Americans or Chinese people coped that much abuse, they would call it racial vilification. Just look at the minimum stuff said about Tiger Woods by his former caddie and how the press is all over that.

Yet Collingwood and Collingwood supporters can be abused - left, right and centre...without any form of censure.

Sometimes we don't even get to the topic of the meeting..

Prime example of how this hatred, which I am not even sure where it comes from? The 1950s probably. Drives his every thought about football.

He doesn’t really support his own team, he watches the AFL to hate Collingwood.

It is like being the villain at the Wrestling!

How embarassing for the footy club :eek:

Appealing to the 15 year old bogan demographic (although older in sadly too many cases) that think the Pies can do no wrong and are always right, against the ghastly AFL world who are always out to get us.

Putting the umpire in the "them" section sums up just how much of a victim mentality this club has.

The new theme encapsulates the essence of what it means to be Collingwood, it reflects the reality of living & being a Collingwood person on a daily basis. :thumbsu: It's us against them !

- Carlton "I am Carlton"
- Essendon "Flight Plan"
- Geelong (not launched)
- Sydney (not launched)

Are they real? They're pretty pathetic if they are. Certainly makes ours a stand out.

My boss is a Melbourne supporter. I reckon he goes to about 2 games a year maximum. But every meeting we have, he spends the first half hour on a diatribe of how much he hates Collingwood and Collingwood supporters. Every second day. Like it is original and no one has heard it before...and he thinks he is funny.

If African Americans or Chinese people coped that much abuse, they would call it racial vilification. Just look at the minimum stuff said about Tiger Woods by his former caddie and how the press is all over that.

Yet Collingwood and Collingwood supporters can be abused - left, right and centre...without any form of censure.

Sometimes we don't even get to the topic of the meeting..

Prime example of how this hatred, which I am not even sure where it comes from? The 1950s probably. Drives his every thought about football.

He doesn’t really support his own team, he watches the AFL to hate Collingwood.

It is like being the villain at the Wrestling!
You're not wrong. If football teams were a race then people would be acting a lot differently! It's kind of interesting isn't it? The amount of abuse people give out and receive through football would be totally unacceptable if it was about any other topic.

Yep and we get more than our far share. Yet if you try and have a civilised conversation with a non-Collingwood supporter, they will swear black and blue that all the abuse comes from Collingwood supporters and all the rest of the team’s supporters are as quite as church mice.

The big issue in the Us v Them tag is that it is really ALL OF THEM.

Richmond fans may hate Carlton, Hawthorn fans may hate Essendon, Sydney and West Coast may have a rivalry etc etc…

But we are EVERYBODYS’ arch enemy.

And the only way they see they can beat us; is to gang up on us!

Which they all do!

Hence the beauty of the US v THEM! Slogan.

It really is ALL of them..

Individually and collectively.

You talk to people who don't even watch football and they hate Collingwood! A mate's fiance has watched probably about 4 games of AFL in her life (and they'd be grand finals at parties we go to) and she says "I hate Collingwood" and she doesn't even know any of the players! I asked her why and she couldn't tell me, saying something along the lines of "Oh I just hate them, they have the worst supporters"!

People are brought up to hate us, and never even think about it.

The point of the US v THEM slogan is:-

Look we know you have tried to be civil with other teams supporters, we know you have sat there and accepted their stupid jokes and abuse and you, as Collingwood supporters, have tried your hardest to be giving and happy and let other supporters have their way…

But fair dinkum, enough is enough.

I doubt there are any other group of supporters in the world who get abused as much as Collingwood supporters.

In America, most cities are one team towns. Boston supports the Celtics, Patriots, Red Sox and Bruins. 99.9% of people in the city live and breathe these teams in unison.

In New York, you have got the Jets and the Giants and Mets and Yankees but the rivalry is a bit watered down because they are in different divisions.

In England, you have Liverpool and Everton and Man City and Man United and in London you have Arsenal, Chelsea, Spurs and the Hammers.

But there is not the constant vile, pathetic, hatred from every other franchise in the league that Collingwood and Collingwood supporters get on a daily basis.

We are the most abused fans in the world.

So Us v Them doesn’t go far enough..

You are either Us or you are Them.

And "Them" hate everything about You.

- Carlton "I am Carlton"

I'm assuming that's a direct quote from Mr. 3 votes.

Still reckon the mock up bumper sticker from circa 2001-02 was the best I've seen

It was the club logo, and next to it in plain white type on a black background,

"I don't care what you think".

I think your on the money here. It's ironic because the people who have an unjustified hatred towards Collingwood are also against racism, and they just can not see the correlation between the two.

I believe it was more so during the last 20s' where we kicked 'a' and all the toffy noses looked down on our blue collar backgrounds, thinking 'how dare they think they are so good, when they are nothing but lowly labourers etc'. This was after our supporters gained great joy in celebrating having the most dominate team of all time. That, and we were predominantly Catholics, when most other supporters were Prodestants. I recall reading this in an 'Age' artilce in the last few years. It was a decent artilce for that rag.
Appealing to the 15 year old bogan demographic (although older in sadly too many cases) that think the Pies can do no wrong and are always right, against the ghastly AFL world who are always out to get us.

Putting the umpire in the "them" section sums up just how much of a victim mentality this club has.
What a load of ****ing shit. Victim mentality...WTF:confused: Someone takes things way to seriously.:rolleyes:

News flash, all AFL clubs supporters hate us.

The umpire in the pic brought a s****** and chuckle from most light hearted supporters.

I always find it amusing when Collingwood supporters try to make out that they are some 'neutral' type supporter and they provide unbiased views etc and therefore think themselves different to the average Pie supporter.

You'll never get that tag Leonard.

I think your on the money here. It's ironic because the people who have an unjustified hatred towards Collingwood are also against racism, and they just can not see the correlation between the two.

Agreed, we cop all the abuse in the world and are told to just smile.

You get people who don't even follow the game come up to you and call you feral as if it is the first time you have ever heard it.

I listen to 3AW every morning during the football season and Ross Stevenson and John Burns are border-line verficating Collingwood supporters like they are ******ed.

It is actually sickening.

News It's "Us against Them" in 2012