Jack Darling

• Thread starter Thread starter sr36

I'm genuinely curious, what should his targets be as the second tall forward?

In a league comparison of 'second/third bananas' goals this year
Jenkins 47
Membrey 34
Darling 33
Ben Brown 32
Jack Watts 31
Tom Lynch (Adelaide) 28

He's had a bad few weeks, but as second fiddle to Kennedy he's still doing his job.
Good point, but at the start I think we can both agree that he showed massive potential, my personal opinion is that hes development has been a bit disappointing as he should be a better player than what he is. He can still be a gun without a doubt, but he should be performing better given the attributes he posses.

I think we are also a bit too Kennedy centric at times which doesn't help him. He could be doing better, but at the same time the numbers he's putting up now aren't disgraceful either.

not really saying much as Freo are injury riddled at the moment. would love the eagles get a similar injury run like freo got in 2011 and 2016.
Pretty sure Darling's best season goal tally wise was one of our worst for injuries. Kennedy was out for most of the year and he was drawing the best defender as a 20 year old.

Also, he kicked 0.5 against Carlton and think he sprayed one across the face that didn't even register. Definitely an aberration as he's normally a very good set shot.

I don't rate him much, but referencing a goalless game against Carlton as evidence of underperforming isn't very valid. If he kicked better he would have had at least 3 goals to with his 5 marks and 11 touches = a OK game.

Yesterday was wet, and like many of our current spuds his hands turn to shit at the slightest bit of moisture on the ball. inb4 comment about dropped chest mark at the GF.

Problem with darling, except for the hard hands, is that he doesn't really have another gear. You get roughly the same performance each week while you expect him to have the odd game that he rips apart - especially when he's up against a smaller or less experienced opponent. Just doesn't happen, but at least he's not Jayden Pitt.

not really saying much as Freo are injury riddled at the moment. would love the eagles get a similar injury run like freo got in 2011 and 2016.

What a thing to wish for...

You mean like 2012 when Kennedy played 9 games and LeCras & Nicoski zero?

147 goals between those 3 in Darling's first year, 18 in his second. Good thing Darling stepped up.

Darling, like West Coast, is having an average year. And he'll still kick 40-50 goals. Freo can only dream of someone doing that.

Pretty sure Darling's best season goal tally wise was one of our worst for injuries. Kennedy was out for most of the year and he was drawing the best defender as a 20 year old.

Also, he kicked 0.5 against Carlton and think he sprayed one across the face that didn't even register. Definitely an aberration as he's normally a very good set shot.

I don't rate him much, but referencing a goalless game against Carlton as evidence of underperforming isn't very valid. If he kicked better he would have had at least 3 goals to with his 5 marks and 11 touches = a OK game.

Yesterday was wet, and like many of our current spuds his hands turn to shit at the slightest bit of moisture on the ball. inb4 comment about dropped chest mark at the GF.

Problem with darling, except for the hard hands, is that he doesn't really have another gear. You get roughly the same performance each week while you expect him to have the odd game that he rips apart - especially when he's up against a smaller or less experienced opponent. Just doesn't happen, but at least he's not Jayden Pitt.
i agree Jack Darling us no Jayden pitt.

Nathan Fyfe is no Brad Sheppard either.

What a thing to wish for...

You mean like 2012 when Kennedy played 9 games and LeCras & Nicoski zero?

147 goals between those 3 in Darling's first year, 18 in his second. Good thing Darling stepped up.

Darling, like West Coast, is having an average year. And he'll still kick 40-50 goals. Freo can only dream of someone doing that.
We wont need Darling. I rather cam mccarthy or cyril rioli

i agree Jack Darling us no Jayden pitt.

Nathan Fyfe is no Brad Sheppard either.

Absolutely.

Sheppard is a ripper bloke and Fyfe is an utter flog. :thumbsu:

Yes and Michael Walters is no Jordan Jones or Ashley smith or tom swift

Do you really want to play the drafting game and who screwed up more over time? This will not end well for you

Depends.... If were talking about from 1994-2006 you are half a chance. If we talk 2007 onwards then it will get very interesting

All those "nailed" draft picks and yet, 16th on the ladder.

Great stuff :thumbsu:

What's interesting is that your side is currently third last - largely because you have a glut of C-grade role players who were recruited post-2007, and also because you blew picks on skinny flankers that are no longer playing footy instead of a Pavlich replacement.

Now you're pinning your recruiting hopes on an undersized KPF with mental problems who hasn't played footy in months.

Pretty interesting.

All your lack of injuries and still can't beat a decent team, fantastic effort!
I am having fun on their board.the opposition board to be exact.

You can make this up. One of them said that I am one of the most biased and idiotic posters on the forum.

Another said.... get this said that Plugger35, defacto and Duritz are better blokes than me lol

wait till Darling pulls out because he is unfit. Once your team gets a couple of players out... you are doomed

You mean like how Darling missed the first half of last season and we went 7-3? That was even despite our bad injury run back then

What's interesting is that your side is currently third last - largely because you have a glut of C-grade role players who were recruited post-2007, and also because you blew picks on skinny flankers that are no longer playing footy instead of a Pavlich replacement.

Now you're pinning your recruiting hopes on an undersized KPF with mental problems who hasn't played footy in months.

Pretty interesting.
we have pick 3, that makes things interesting. Priddis is your best mid. you will fall once he retires

You can make this up. One of them said that I am one of the most biased and idiotic posters on the forum.

Another said.... get this said that Plugger35, defacto and Duritz are better blokes than me lol

Well the last part isn't wrong. You also tried to claim Walters doesn't throw his head back (debunked) and McPharlin only got suspended once in his career (debunked).

You then came here to bump this thread to make yourself feel better.

Those two and Rodney Stroke (something like that) are pathetic, no one, I repeat no one is worse than them.