Tony Francis

Aug 17, 2005
Melb
The Mighty Pies
Just wanted to get a feel for how Brisbane fans saw Redden's debut season?

I ask because the rumors around the 2008 draft were that you were keen on Beams with 25, but ultimately decided to go with Jack, who seems a similar type (inside mid), thus allowing Beams to slip through to us.

Since then I've decided to keep an eye on his career and saw that, like Beams, he did some nice things in 2009, so I'm keen to understand how you reckon he went and how his career will ultimately pan out?

I think most Lions fans viewed Reddens debut season as pretty good.

While his stats were modest, he showed plenty of promise. He broke into the Lions senior list as a skinny, underdeveloped, 17 year old and held his own.

He is tipped to be a good clearance player and will get plenty of possessions. I expect, with a "Voss preseason" behind him, we will see significant improvement in 2010. With coaches focussing on neutralising Black/Rich/Drummond, players like Redden will flourish.

It will be interesting see how he is compared to Rich by the end of next year.

I think most Lions fans would feel that we made the right call to pick him in b4 Beams. 'specially as we have Beams little bro as a rookie this year. Definately made the right call to pass on Mitch Robinson, who was also widely linked to us.

I was originally dissappointed when we selected Redden (who is he apart from a great quarter of under 19 football) over others like Beams.
HOwever, I am now rapt. Has shown he will be a fantastic player for us, so calm under pressure and smart with the ball. He is still so young and see him being a massive contributor in the midfield for the next 10 years.
Beams is good though but I would not swap now.

Both performed above expectations in their first year. Beams had the better year but had the advantage of being a bit older. I don't think either club would want to swap.

I ask because the rumors around the 2008 draft were that you were keen on Beams with 25,

I know for a fact that Beams wasn't in our plans for our second pick... or if he was, it was ruled out weeks beforehand. We'd basically locked in Redden over a week before the draft.

From what I was told from a Lions official (not a recruiter) was that Beams was clearly considered the best Queenslander in the draft but would be a slight overpayment at 25. Would have been snapped up at 41 if he was still available though.

Our recruiters rated Redden as a very similar player, but with considerably more development potential.

To answer your question, I am a massive fan of the way Redden goes about it. Glides around similar to a certain S.Black. Knows the right spaces to run too and likes the hard stuff. Absolutely rapt with him. Like others have said... he just gives the feeling that he could be a very good player.

Collingwood should be equally happy with Beams. Quality.

Knows the right spaces to run too and likes the hard stuff.

This is what you really look for in a first year player but he also at times placed some ripper passes into the forward fifty. But like others have said there has been nothing wrong with the way Beams has gone about his business this year. Hopefully neither will get the second year blues and further their development.

Personally i think both Beams and Redden are very similiar footballers, Beams had a brilliant year and realistically was probably equal to Rich in performance.

I rate Redden really highly due to his attack on the footy and his balance. Like Beams, Redden seems to read the play well. Both boys will be in the leadership group at their respective clubs within 3 seasons.

He played well above and beyond what he looked capable of as a skinny 17 year old. When u see someone who looks like that with such an attack on the ball you know you've got something special. He did always seem to look to be in the right place or take the right option as well, his body limited what he was able to do on field, and thats the great thing. When his body is big enough to mix it with the big boys he will be a gem

Im thinking Beams is and always will be a lot better than Redden.
Unless you have some video to proove otherwise.
Most people have no idea who Redden is

I take that as an admission that you haven't seen Redden yet. Way to ruin your own credibility.

Jack Redden is a natural footballer, and a classy user of the ball. As others have mentioned, he is a lot like Simon Black. I am rapt in him and think with him, Rich and hopefully Bartlett we have the beginnings of a gun midfield... ably assisted by the blokes who are already there like Black!!

DSwan you said, "Most people have no idea who Redden is" as your proof that he's inferior to Beams.... does it really matter whether "most flogs" know who he is? Does that somehow lessen his ability?

Kid's going to be a gun, and I almost never say that about anyone, not even Rich (ok, maybe Rich....).

If you say so it must be true!!:rolleyes:
We need some kind of "Flog Filter".

:rolleyes:
Thanks for coming.

Hope you don't stick around for our board's piano cat special.

Damn school holidays.

Most people have no idea?? Clearly because dswan is ordered to bed by 7:00pm saturday nights he thinks everyone else is too.

I dont have any video to prove it but I am thinking Leuenberger will always be better than Cam Wood. ;)

Haha a youtube recruiter. I think everyone is guilty of it to some extent but the twats who believe that one video which could be no more than 5 seconds long provides irrefutable evidence as to one player's superiority or inferiority over another always amuse me.

Edit: Probably should simplify that somewhat for dswan. Can't be confusing him with those pesky multiple syllable words...;)

Heard that Redden has bulked up a lot, anyone got any pics??

4199548388_3bab410e97_o.jpg

4199542608_b0ab2f6568_o.jpg

Wow!!

Thanks for that!

Jack Redden