Jacobs & Walker Trade Discussion - Part 2

The deal will be 18 and Jacobs for 14 and 33. Fair deal.
No way. I'd rather Jacobs go to Richmond for nothing than for us to give your club pick 14 and 33.
Just because Carlton can't TANK any more doesn't give them the right to extort first round draft picks off other clubs.
Carlton have burnt to many bridges with the Crows this week so I highly doubt if we would ever trade with them ever again even if one of our players wants to be traded to them.

I see in your best 22 thread that Talia doesn't really feature in many ppls team yet Jacobs would. You would think a trade for a player not in your best 22 for one that would be in your best 22 would be good for both clubs. From the rumor mill we are going hard at Talia and that a deal should be sorted some time early tomorrow wether he is involved or not.

I would think a straight swap would be good for both clubs. You guys need a good ruckman and you'd get one and we need a young KPP. I know you'd be happy with Jacobs but Talia is unproven yet highly rated. You guys have a surplus of KPPs and us a shortage. You have a shortage of quality ruckmen and us a surplus. A straight swap would only benefit both clubs. We are probably trying to squeeze out a better draft pick, that's probably the hold up but who knows.

You guys would be happy with Jacobs. He's got good hands, good at ground level, competes hard, long arms, a good tap ruckman and excellent disposal as well as a good reader of the play. Has a good defencive game. He doesn't have good pace but he never gets exposed for it. Has been taking a lot of contested marks and kicking the odd goal in the VFL and it's only a matter of time before he starts to do it at AFL level. He's a pure footballer and goes about things the right way. I rate him as our 3rd ruckman but not far off 2nd. You guys would be very happy with him as I have been when he played with the blues. Still just a baby in terms of ruckmen.

Fremantle just got pick 44 + Mzungu from gc in exchange for pick 38. Could we get that pick off Freo for Griffin and use a combination of picks 33 + 44 to get Jacobs?

I see in your best 22 thread that Talia doesn't really feature in many ppls team yet Jacobs would. You would think a trade for a player not in your best 22 for one that would be in your best 22 would be good for both clubs.

Hey, what incredibly logic! We should talk to Essendon about trading Scott Stevens for Bachar Houli :rolleyes:

From the rumor mill we are going hard at Talia and that a deal should be sorted some time early tomorrow.

Please write 100 times on a blackboard "I will not smoke pot whilst walking to the rumor mill".

I see in your best 22 thread that Talia doesn't really feature in many ppls team yet Jacobs would. You would think a trade for a player not in your best 22 for one that would be in your best 22 would be good for both clubs. From the rumor mill we are going hard at Talia and that a deal should be sorted some time early tomorrow.

I would think a straight swap would be good for both clubs. You guys need a good ruckman and you'd get one and we need a young KPP. I know you'd be happy with Jacobs but Talia is unproven yet highly rated. You guys have a surplus of KPPs and us a shortage. You have a shortage of quality ruckmen and us a surplus. A straight swap would only benefit both clubs. We are probably trying to squeeze out a better draft pick, that's probably the hold up but who knows.

gbatman

Talia for Jacobs is not a fair deal

Jacobs was drafted as a rookie and has played 17 games in 3-4 years, yes he has showed promise however it has taken him 3-4 years to get to this point

however

Talia was our 1st round pick last year and his 1st season was interupted by injuries so this is the reason why he has a little work before forcing his way into our best 22.

Talia already has the body built for a KPP so fast forward another 4 years when he is the same age as Jacobs is now and Talia would have already played 50 very very good AFL games, this lad will be a gun and will end up a much better AFL player than Jacobs, no doubt about it, this is why a straight swap wont be done

The deal will be 18 and Jacobs for 14 and 33. Fair deal.

I cannot live with this.

No-way an unproven 17 x game ruckman is worth pick 33 and a 1st round upgrade???

I hope the AFC are not even considering this deal - would not be at all fussed if we missed on a deal and took our chances in the PSD.

Look at all the other deals going on..... if he is worth so much, why isnt Port trying to get a deal done, or another Melbourne club looking for a ruckman? History of trades and this years trades shows he is lucky to be worth 33, especially considering the new ruck rules???

I see in your best 22 thread that Talia doesn't really feature in many ppls team yet Jacobs would. You would think a trade for a player not in your best 22 for one that would be in your best 22 would be good for both clubs. From the rumor mill we are going hard at Talia and that a deal should be sorted some time early tomorrow wether he is involved or not.
I have no doubt at all that your mob are going hard at Talia. Doesn't mean that you have a snowflake's chance in Hades of getting your greedy mitts on him.

Talia is a 2nd year KPP who is coming off a fairly serious knee injury. I would be extremely surprised if he WERE to be named in any of our best 22 sides. That doesn't mean that he's not highly rated - we picked him up with pick #14 last year and our opinion about his qualities hasn't changed one iota since then.
If you want Talia then it's going to be Jacobs + draft picks (probably your 2nd rounder if not 2nd + 3rd) coming back in the opposite direction.

Talia >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Jacobs.

Let's not forget that Adelaide WANT another decent ruckman (ie Jacobs). Carlton desperately NEED a decent KPP defender (ie Talia). Need trumps want every day of the week, especially when the differential in quality is taken into consideration.

Then there's the fact that clubs aren't allowed to trade 1st year players unless there are "exceptional circumstances" - which there aren't.
You guys would be happy with Jacobs. He's got good hands, good at ground level, competes hard, long arms, a good tap ruckman and excellent disposal as well as a good reader of the play. Has a good defencive game. He doesn't have good pace but he never gets exposed for it. Has been taking a lot of contested marks and kicking the odd goal in the VFL and it's only a matter of time before he starts to do it at AFL level. He's a pure footballer and goes about things the right way. I rate him as our 3rd ruckman but not far off 2nd. You guys would be very happy with him as I have been when he played with the blues. Still just a baby in terms of ruckmen.
I have no doubt that we'd be happy with him, but we're quite happy with our ruck division as it is. Jacobs would no doubt improve it - but the improvement is not so great that we'd consider throwing out the kitchen sink an effort to land him. Pick 14 or Talia are definitely close to throwing out the kitchen sink.

Pick 33 or nothing (ie PSD) appear to be your only options right now. I highly recommend pick 33 if you don't want your team to be a laughing stock, like St Kilda are over the Luke Ball affair.

gbatman

Talia for Jacobs is not a fair deal

Jacobs was drafted as a rookie and has played 17 games in 3-4 years, yes he has showed promise however it has taken him 3-4 years to get to this point

however

Talia was our 1st round pick last year and his 1st season was interupted by injuries so this is the reason why he has a little work before forcing his way into our best 22.

Talia already has the body built for a KPP so fast forward another 4 years when he is the same age as Jacobs is now and Talia would have already played 50 very very good AFL games, this lad will be a gun and will end up a much better AFL player than Jacobs, no doubt about it, this is why a straight swap wont be done

Jacobs like all ruckmen was a project player that took a long time to develop and due to us not being desperate for ruckmen did not get a game until ready. Was very light when drafted. I highly doubt that Talia will be involved in any trade that's made. Obviously where a player is drafted means nothing as to what value they are when they are developed. Some just don't live up to it and some do. That's the nature of the draft. This is more about how valuable each player is to their club, not how good they are. I think if you guys could get a decent utility like Walker and a good ruckmen in jacobs then you'd be tempted to offload a decent young player like Talia as these two sort of players would be very valuable to your team and would fit into your teams style of play well.

If for some reason Carlton manage to get Talia I imagine there will be something coming with Jacobs like perhaps Walker. Jacobs alone is not really worth Talia but that's what we are ment to be chasing.

Yeah you've had some replies already and yeah if we don't just get it for 33 it's weak trading by the club,
The thing is the best 22 is theoretical and is definitely tainted by the marketing band from the carlton board.
Have you noticed they are all in the business of trying to push out anyone with any experience, they are bringing in untested players it's wishful thinking that they'd like to see by mid-season or season end after those players have proven themself magical.
It's fantasy stuff. The guys looking at getting his dreamteam salary though.

It's not difficult to switch Maric with Jacobs many are on to get McKernan in the side and I'm sure someone had him ending up partnered with Maric in the interest of list flexibility with I/C rules.

Jacobs like all ruckmen was a project player that took a long time to develop and due to us not being desperate for ruckmen did not get a game until ready. Was very light when drafted. I highly doubt that Talia will be involved in any trade that's made. Obviously where a player is drafted means nothing as to what value they are when they are developed. Some just don't live up to it and some do. That's the nature of the draft. This is more about how valuable each player is to their club, not how good they are. I think if you guys could get a decent utility like Walker and a good ruckmen in jacobs then you'd be tempted to offload a decent young player like Talia as these two sort of players would be very valuable to your team and would fit into your teams style of play well.

If for some reason Carlton manage to get Talia I imagine there will be something coming with Jacobs like perhaps Walker. Jacobs alone is not really worth Talia but that's what we are ment to be chasing.

Hey I've got an idea. You guys have heaps of mids so clearly that young talented mid that you drafted last year with a first round draft pick who hasn't had anywhere near enough time to show what he's capable of, Kane Lucas is suprlus to needs and you'd be happy to trade him for Ricky Henderson, a previosly rookie listed player who has shown a lot in his games so far this season but is as yet unproven. I mean you guys are looking for marking forwards aren't you? No....didn't think so.

If you guys wanted Talia so bad you should have drafted him last year. Instead you chose to grab yet another mid and are still seriously short of young talented kpp's. And you have now discoverd that other clubs won't just hand over gun young kpp's for nothing in trade week.

Hey I've got an idea. You guys have heaps of mids so clearly that young talented mid that you drafted last year with a first round draft pick who hasn't had anywhere near enough time to show what he's capable of, Kane Lucas is suprlus to needs and you'd be happy to trade him for Ricky Henderson, a previosly rookie listed player who has shown a lot in his games so far this season but is as yet unproven. I mean you guys are looking for marking forwards aren't you? No....didn't think so.

If you guys wanted Talia so bad you should have drafted him last year. Instead you chose to grab yet another mid and are still seriously short of young talented kpp's. And you have now discoverd that other clubs won't just hand over gun young kpp's for nothing in trade week.

thats gold:thumbsu:

see what i did there?

Yep - big difference between a previously rookie listed ruckman who has played 17 games at 22 years of age and is not considered a best 22 player at his club who WANTS TO LEAVE and who EVERY neutral supporters in football agrees is worth a second round draft pick being offered to be traded for...shock horror... a second round draft pick. It's not like we're trading for Naitanui or Clark here....

.....And an 18 year old highly rated first round draft pick kpp who is only 12 months in to his AFL career and yet to make his AFL debut....

Jacobs as a 22 year old ruckman is not equivalent to an 18 year old first round pick like Talia or a 19 year old Phil Davis...

Or is Kane Lucas actually the equivalent of Ricky Henderson or Matthew Jaensch?

Yep - big difference between a previously rookie listed ruckman who has played 17 games at 22 years of age and is not considered a best 22 player at his club who WANTS TO LEAVE and who EVERY neutral supporters in football agrees is worth a second round draft pick being offered to be traded for...shock horror... a second round draft pick. It's not like we're trading for Naitanui or Clark here....

.....And an 18 year old highly rated first round draft pick kpp who is only 12 months in to his AFL career and yet to make his AFL debut....

Jacobs as a 22 year old ruckman is not equivalent to an 18 year old first round pick like Talia or a 19 year old Phil Davis...

Or is Kane Lucas actually the equivalent of Ricky Henderson or Matthew Jaensch?

it seems you're tying to convince yourself of jacobs' so called worth. irrelevant. carlton has set the price. that's what we believe he is worth.

in compromised draft a virtual pick ~40ish is nearly a waste of our time.

let him go to the draft, would rather see him sweat it out there if he's going to let us twist in the wind.

and talia is?

could well turn out to be a dud. jacobs has far less risk attached as he has performed at the top level.

though, i would not trade talia if i were adelaide either.

And Lucas is no certainty to be a Judd, Ablett or Hayes so I guess you'd be happy to trade him for a bloke who has proven he can be a kpd at AFL level - Scott Stevens..

Lucas could be a Nick Dal Santo or he could be a Brent Reilly.

Talia could be a Jack Riewoldt or a James Sellar. There is no certainty but at 18 years of age as one of the best young kpp in last years draft Talia is certainly off limits until he has a chance to show what he can do in Crows colours.

and talia is?

could well turn out to be a dud. jacobs has far less risk attached as he has performed at the top level.

I don't see anyone here calling him a gun.

I do see a lot of Crows posters constantly posting that he is a first year player tho' so that should be a hint as to the lieklihood of that happening.

and talia is?

considering the rule changes Jacobs is a risk

however Talia is little risk at all, he is already 194cm and 93kg's and can play Tall or on a mid size and forward or back

with the new rule changes those players that can play a variety of roles like Talia will become even more valuable

Talia was a U/18 AA and he comes with little or no risk at all, so if you think that he may turn out to be a DUD then go and shop elsewhere

When will you Carlton flogs realize that you are wrong? 1:30 tomorrow arvo I'm tipping. See you then... Going to get a good nights sleep so
I can have plenty of energy for "bahahahahahaha's" and "told you so's"

it seems you're tying to convince yourself of jacobs' so called worth. irrelevant. carlton has set the price. that's what we believe he is worth.

in compromised draft a virtual pick ~40ish is nearly a waste of our time.

let him go to the draft, would rather see him sweat it out there if he's going to let us twist in the wind.

We honestly don't care if he goes into the PSD. If he does you guys get nothing for him. If we get him then great but if we don't it's not the end of the world.

We are happy with what we think is Jacobs worth and if you guys are stubborn enough to miss out on the chance of drafting second round talent like Beams, Otten, Fyfe, Bastinac etc rather than trade him for a fair price then so be it. (You guys all seem to be conveniently ignoring the fact that all neutral people agree that he's worth a second rounder and it's only Carlton people who think that it's unfair)