Tigerland

Can't believe people on here are disappointed he got signed up.

Has leg speed, has grunt, has a crack every time. Never takes a backward step.

Anyone that does what 300? pushups holds the type of determination you want in a side.

His skills are not spectacular but that not what he is in the side for.

His fighting atributes we sorely lack across the park at the moment.

Seriously the opinions off some of the punters on here is so far off the mark it is laughable. Thank god you're not calling the shots at Tigerland.

He'll make a lot of you look pretty stupid in 12 months time, if not before.

I think the most valuable part he brings is the attitude to work and work and work.

But the guy needs to re-invent himself as something other than a backman to make it.

Deserves a 2 year contract, performance based on the 1st, which he apparently got, and with the drive he has it wouldnt surprise me if he did return in a new position with something else to offer. I hope so, but I'm not holding my breath he wouldnt be exploited again and find himself in the same situation as now.

Anyone that does what 300? pushups holds the type of determination you want in a side.

Seriously the opinions off some of the punters on here is so far off the mark it is laughable. Thank god you're not calling the shots at Tigerland.

cant play as an attacking defender any more, got found out and teams just isolate him.

His only chance is to become a tagger in midfield. His days as a small running back are done

Recall TW saying the same thing about JON at the start of this year.

Anyway regarding King's position in the side, I get the feeling he could become a defensive small forward we have been crying out for. Think Rioli, Davey or Betts. At the foot of packs when the ball comes in looking to crumb a goal and if the opposition gets the ball then putting pressure on the defence as they try and clear it out.

His kicking is generally good, handball good , he is quick and he is a tough little bugger, deserves another contract, rotate him in the middle or HFF

i agree, i like this kid .. i'm glad he got another contract ..
this kid has balls !! and the tigers need some balls .. we have to harden the fu*k up in the next year or so ...

Kingy and Jordy BOTH need to be put through an intensive "how to close-check your opponent in defence" course, but I reckon once both of them get that part of their games right, we will have 2 of the best running defenders in the comp.

King tackles hard too which is something he has over McMahon. He just needs to work on his checking and defensive work around the ball and he'll be a champion.

Agree with RT - he needs to be reinvented as a defensive forward. He's been exposed as an average defender and doesn't have the smarts to play as a mid tagger. Dont mind him being re-signed - he's not in our best 22 but he's a good depth player. Keeps others around him honest with his work ethic.

I reckon jake king is fantastic. A real tenacious battler! Hes got a bit of mongrel in him and even though his skills may not be a1; he fights tooth and nail to get there on willpower alone. I personally would love him at hawthorn but then we'd need to offload Benny Mcglynn who is the same type of player. (maybe brothers from another mother)

Like I said in previous post. TW should instruct King that his role is to chase and tackle only and not kick and handball at all.

Otherwise, he is a good angry player that brings grunt and mongrel to the Richmond side.

Specialist back pocket that cant stop small forwards kicking goals and makes poor decisions when he has the footy. Kicking skills ok but he is prone to the odd shocker.

Needs to find another string to his bow if he is going to have a career.

I would have passed on re-signing him

cant play as an attacking defender any more, got found out and teams just isolate him.

His only chance is to become a tagger in midfield. His days as a small running back are done

yeah...was found out in his first year...let them think they have found him out when he settles in and improves on his first year.
Or do we forget how lost Cogga was when he first got a gig? I for one would think...WTF do they see in this guy and over one pre-season he went bang...stay tuned...kingy will improve now that he has been given the green light(2 years),to do so. The coaching panel have shown confidence in him and this will allow him to play his natural game, rather than go at a million miles an hour, to prove his worth. He has smarts, time for them to return. ;)

yeah...was found out in his first year...let them think they have found him out when he settles in and improves on his first year.
Or do we forget how lost Cogga was when he first got a gig? I for one would think...WTF do they see in this guy and over one pre-season he went bang...stay tuned...kingy will improve now that he has been given the green light(2 years),to do so. The coaching panel have shown confidence in him and this will allow him to play his natural game, rather than go at a million miles an hour, to prove his worth. He has smarts, time for them to return. ;)

cogga has size and played mid, King is too small to play on medium fwds and gets taken straight to the goalsquare,like i mentioned i reckon he has some tools to work with but he needs to find a new role, dont think he has the goal awareness needed to be a fwd pocket, but he has the grunt to be added to the midfield and if he can make a tagging role his own I could see him playing a role for us

let him stay with jack so every time jack leads king goes with and when jack doesnt mark it, king will be there and hopefully kick a goal

i agree, i like this kid .. i'm glad he got another contract ..
this kid has balls !! and the tigers need some balls .. we have to harden the fu*k up in the next year or so ...

He will be 25 by the start of next year, he's not "a kid."

I am one of those against him being re-signed. Jake King was tried in multiple positions this season and he has shown he couldn't do it. When he tagged McLeod he was far from promising. When he played small back we saw Jones, Milne and more take him to the cleaners. He is simply a joke when it comes to marking overhead.

He gives away stupid free kicks and then he coughs it up with his decision making. Rnd 14 against Carlton he had the ball on the wing and tried running through Kade Simpson the problem is he is 174cm not Barry Hall and it was holding the ball,

His kicking isnt good at all, his handballing is even questionable I am suprised he was given a new contract.

Don't worry mate, most of the supporters here are bandwagoners and once the media jumped off of King, so did they.

The media were never "off" King.

He had one positive article written about him and then the media forgot about him.

I think the most valuable part he brings is the attitude to work and work and work.
Yep.
I get the feeling he could become a defensive small forward we have been crying out for. Think Rioli, Davey or Betts.
When I think Rioli, Davey, Betts, I certainly don't think King. Those guys have a sixth sense. I'm not sure King has any.:p But seriously, I know I've mentioned it before but Charlie Sharples from Sturt with a late draft pick will fill this need.
do we forget how lost Cogga was when he first got a gig? I for one would think...WTF do they see in this guy
Really? I was at his first game and thought 'this guy has something'. His in-close ball-winning ability was evident from day one.

I am one of those against him being re-signed. Jake King was tried in multiple positions this season and he has shown he couldn't do it. When he tagged McLeod he was far from promising. When he played small back we saw Jones, Milne and more take him to the cleaners. He is simply a joke when it comes to marking overhead.

He gives away stupid free kicks and then he coughs it up with his decision making. Rnd 14 against Carlton he had the ball on the wing and tried running through Kade Simpson the problem is he is 174cm not Barry Hall and it was holding the ball,

His kicking isnt good at all, his handballing is even questionable I am suprised he was given a new contract.

Couldn't agree more, very disappointed that he was re-signed. Too easlily beaten in one on one contests, puts too much air in his kicks which places teamates under pressure. He's almost 25 is about 5 foot tall and apart from his obsession with push-ups and winning a GF sprint is pretty much a very average footballer.

Can't believe the club is going with him rather than taking a punt on a young bloke in the draft.

hes been given another year get over it. if it were up to the team of bigfooty we might have 15 people still on our list comming into trade week.

We have only 2 definite delistings at this stage (Hyde & Tivs) and I would prefer King to be axed ahead of a player like Meyer.

The only advantage with King is that he can be a adequate fill-in when required but I doubt he will play in a Richmond finals team.