James Sicily

So, they just posted on afl.com.au "Email to coaches: Sicily-type free kicks will continue to be paid".

I agree we don't want voilence in AFL...but this rule needs a few tweaks so it doesn't ruin the look of the game and players don't start to take advantage of it...AFL is a contact sport...comeon...sort it out.

It's not about being precious, it's about a bit of respect. It comes as no surprise really, thats Sicily!

Sorry mate thats not Sicily that silly. Players on the ground get fired up, umpires should know this and acr appropriately when a decision might be doubtful, personally I beleieve players letting off steam should be left alone by umpires, because over frustration creates bad outcomes for some players who are more highly strung than others, but Goldspink was a perfect example of talking down to players , to inflaming situations and I believe created the line in the sand game many years ago. He was a over indulgent power grabber , who I reckon had a thing maybe even a hatred of my club. I don't think I 've ever seen and umpire as bad, and as infuriating.
So the subject Sicily , if he does his block and gets a reportable charge laid against him tough luck for him. But he is not only targeted by opposition but by umpires, and I reckon he's been trying lately to calm himself, but our footy has no characters or fun in it now, it is losing its oompf, its full of stats and over broadcasting bullshit from commentators, and it is being ruled by umpires who have to follow some things that don't even need to be rules.
And you say its not about precious its about respect, I'd like to see some players out play Sicily instead of harrass and annoy , until he breaks , that is not being good at football, it is being a gutless creep. Looking for weakness means you can't find your own strength, respect , none shown for this young bloke , but Dermie used to get it, because he mangled opposition and took it back, he gave your people a couple of spankings hey, even got up and helped win the GF 1989 when big Yates tried to kill him. And he was cold and the game just started, well now days you can't do that because you may wind up being hung from a city lamp post, that's how the game has been umpired out of what it is meant to be.
ONLY BLIND PEOPLE DON'T SEE IT, and real blind people with half a brain for footy , can hear it, let me tell you.

Not penalising instigators has been happening in footy longer than I've been around.

The issue with Sicily (and the WB game is a poor example because the umpires were paying frees across the weekend that weren't even there - Lycett WTF) is that you can goad him into giving away a stupid free kick without breaking the rules yourself. He's one of those guys that you can needle and once in a while they'll snap and push you high or throw you to the ground which is an obvious free kick. You could see the 'well done, dickhead' reactions of the WB players whenever he was penalised. He's not the only player like this, but he's a lot less terrifying than Barry Hall.
Its been awhile since he has done that. Since the 2nd suspension early last year he has got that out of his game

I still reckon it's in his DNA. Even after the free kick at the end of the WB game (which was legit and didn't matter) he had a dummy spit. He might not give away a dumb free or 50 for the rest of the year but I reckon teams will still try and provoke him into doing so.

Sicily had a dummy spit because the umpire got it wrong. It was called as a push (it obviously wasn't Sicily was in front and had hands to the ball to complete the spoil). The first two queries were as polite as any umpire could expect in that situation - the umpire ignoring Sicily and then changing his call to "front on contact" (it wasn't this either IMO) led to the third enquiry from Sicily (including the expletive).

All the umpire had to do was to respond to Sicily the first (or even second) time - effectively admit his error and change his call from "push" to "marking interference - you dragged him to ground", and (whilst very soft) it couldn't (and wouldn't) have been argued.

Players make mistakes all the time, let alone in game 2 under the pressure of a tight end to a match - Why can't umpires?

For all his faults, Chamberlain DOES talk to the players, DOES admit his errors, and carries a much more open tone (generally). IF he wasn't miked up, I'd think most of the public's issue with him would dissolve.

...Goldspink was a perfect example of talking down to players , to inflaming situations and I believe created the line in the sand game many years ago....

Sorry to cut a chunk out of a good post, but the LITS game is a perfect example of how poor umpiring and "letting the niggle go" can end up.

Hawthorn had been bullied for so long, that even "almost reportable" incidents were deemed not worthy of a free kick. Players tackled and slung to ground without possession, punches, knees and elbows off the ball, etc. All in the name of "physical intimidation".

Eventually, as it became apparent the umpires were not going to allow a fair game, so Hawthorn tried to up their own physical interactions, but a young, inexperienced team that were trying something new against a mature hardened unit that knew the tricks of getting away with it - was never going to end well.

When Robbie Campbell was slam tackled by Johnson after the half time siren and then Brereton had his words with the captain to "put a stop to it", the Hawks were primed to "stand up" for themselves. All it took was one more piece of EFC thuggery and it was on, with most players on both sides involved.

The commentating, post-game reporting and video editing, Newspaper "Journalists" articles and the Tribunal outcomes suggest there was only one team that did wrong. A great story, but far from the truth.

It seems all week everyone has kept referring to the merit (or lack thereof) of the "Sicily Rule". He's done well to get this dubious rule unofficially named after him. Love him or hate him at least the bloke gets talked about!

The Sicily rule? Sounds as if the AFL umpires are finally being transparent, in the obvious prejudice against certain players. Compare that with how many years now have the Selwoods have been allowed to duck, without being made accountable?

It seems all week everyone has kept referring to the merit (or lack thereof) of the "Sicily Rule". He's done well to get this dubious rule unofficially named after him. Love him or hate him at least the bloke gets talked about!
Don't know if that saves the game of Aussie rules?

He is Hawthorns backline weapon and maturing nicely. If what happened against Footscray the other week happened two years ago Siss would have lost the plot completely especially when Bont/Gowers were giving it to him after the 50 metre penalty. He is a gun and maybe Dusty needs to speak to Siss about keeping it together!

was once outplayed comprehensively by jed lamb

A shit 2 bit footballer who's career defining game involved pushing and shoving another player all night while the umpires stood around waiting to punish the retaliations.

His career ended that night because it was the last time the umpires rewarded him.

was once outplayed comprehensively by jed lamb

Let's be very clear here. Jed Lamb never "outplayed" anybody. Jed Lamb, much like Crowley and Baker before him existed only to negate the footballer they were opposed to. None of them had any talent at all. None whatsoever. The best taggers in the game are the ones who can make you accountable with their own ball winning ability and two way running. Cameron Ling was a brilliant tagger. Jed Lamb was a grub and a blight on the game.

He outsmarted Sicily on the day. Which meant pinching, wrestling, punching, behind the ball. The umpire pulled out a few free kicks against the player who retaliates.

So Lamb's contribution to his team was to play the umpires and distract Sicily. He did it.

But any umpire who rewatched the match would have been a bit pissed off. Lamb as a tagger had a short shelf life.

(What HairyO said)

all the points of him needling sicily all night are well made. but it's forgetten that jed lamb had 15 possessions and kicked 2.2 in a game that carlton won by 7 points.

Because the umpires gave him 6 free kicks in the forward 50. And never once pinged him all night.

Not even Selwood gets that kind of treatment.

Yep Cameron Long was an excellent two way tagger. Jed Lamb was a blight on the game.

and grabbing pants and/or shorts was never a measure of the man.. just let go and then rustle up and kick the goal.. it doesn't have to
be painful.. just hook and turn and then you have them.. gotcha..