Jason Blake's third quarter

ChrisFooty

Played the best quarter of football in his entire life. Almost a fact he will never play a quarter like that again.

Just one of those freaky quarters. Three goals. Amazing:thumbsu:

Played the best quarter of football in his entire life. Almost a fact he will never play a quarter like that again.

Just one of those freaky quarters. Three goals. Amazing:thumbsu:

:thumbsu:mate he is a great utility and exactly the sort of bloke most teams need. Has always got a hard time on big footy but gives his all and can take a scalp or two. Just great to see he punished the opposition for under rating him. Fully deserved credit and I reckon he can do it again. Good on you Blake, drink it up 'em!

A good player.

Will be in our 22 for the rest of this year and the next year/

He is the kind of player you need playing for u.

Can someone please take a copy of the third quarter, pop down to Channel 10 and stick it fair up Robert Walls back door ?

Constantly tells us that you need big ruckman to do anything, but Blake turned the game againt the Hawks two ruckman because he was more mobile around the ground.

Got tap outs, won footy around the ground and kicked goals that guys like Steven King and Michael Gardiner could not.

Time for Walls to get out of the 60's.

Jason "Selley's No More Gaps" Blake.

This bloke could very well be the most versatile bloke in the AFL. Always busts his guts and deserves every single plaudit that comes his way.

Do I need to search past threads for the "I hate Blake" posters, or will you all own up and collectively bake the humble pie? I don't mind if you eat it too!!! :D

I've always been a wrap for him, because he has got the absolute most of himself. Over the past month he had held down CHB with aplomb, beating the likes of Corey Jones and also playing well against Matthew Pavlich. But he was out of it until moved into the ruck in the third quarter.

This coaching move, along with moving Dal Santo off Mitchell and putting McQualter onto Mitchell may have been the turning point of the Ross Lyon era. Dal was brilliant in the third quarter after being uncustomarily sloppy in his ball handling in the first half. Sam Fisher & Stephen Milne, both of who were quiet in the first half, had a real impact in the second half. And special mention to Leigh Montagna, who kept us in the game before half time.

I've always been a wrap for him, because he has got the absolute most of himself. Over the past month he had held down CHB with aplomb, beating the likes of Corey Jones and also playing well against Matthew Pavlich. But he was out of it until moved into the ruck in the third quarter.

This coaching move, along with moving Dal Santo off Mitchell and putting McQualter onto Mitchell may have been the turning point of the Ross Lyon era. Dal was brilliant in the third quarter after being uncustomarily sloppy in his ball handling in the first half. Sam Fisher & Stephen Milne, both of who were quiet in the first half, had a real impact in the second half. And special mention to Leigh Montagna, who kept us in the game before half time.

Yeah, I don't need to do a search for "Punter".

Agree Mini claimed another scalp.

Wasn't so happy with the kicking skills of Milne & Montagna again (very moody players in this regard), but hard to be critical of anyone in the team.

Not too sure i would want him playing in the ruck every single match. Can be very risky, against a dominant tap ruckman anyways.

I was listening to Sen on the way home from the game and they made a comment not sure which one but it was something like "As most saints fans like my self dont like Blake tonight we all will be impressed with his performance".

What!? since when do the saints followers do not like him? Hes always been in my best 22 for the side. Has had some great games and some average ones like all players. But hes performance on saturday made me love him even more and I hope all saint fans have the same respect for a guy that gets a job and always does it the best he can and that is usually pretty damn good. He can pretty muich do anything on the field.

It was a genius move putting him in the ruck at that point in the game, that really kick started our push.

he got us going and should be damn proud of it!

I love it when Blake gets respect. Doubt anyone in the team tries harder every week. Rapt to see him hurt the opposition where it counts!

At the end of the day he does make bloopers and lacks general awareness, but someone who gives it everything, can play almost anywhere, never stops running, and who can improve his kicking for goal fairly late in his career gets a fair few brownie points.

Also got us back into the match against Essendon in the ruck when they had kicked 5 or 6 on end.

Loved every minute of his 3rd quarter frenzy.

Has always given 110% and deserves his spot in our side.

Blake is a good player. He is a underated utility but not far from the best in the business. Played forward last year - pretty accurate but he has also got the height and speed to match up with forwards and star midfielders (e.g. cousins last year got smashed by blake for three quarters of the game).

His ruckwork isn't as good as say Cox but he is very mobile and provide a loose target or player to assist the other players at either ends.

I think he suffers from the criticism jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none's always do: he's constantly compared to the specialist he's matched up against. Is he as good a defender as Matthew Scarlett? No. Is he as good a ruckman as Dean Cox? No. Is he as good a forward as Buddy Franklin? No. Is he as good a midfielder as Harley? No. But while all of those guys are ranked say 9/10 for their specific role, he can be 7/10 for any of theirs.

As a coach, that's gotta be heaven, because you get like a 23rd player on your side. Missing a ruck? No problem, suddenly there's another one out of nowhere? The same for a tagger, forward, defender, on and on it goes.

Great game.

I think he suffers from the criticism jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none's always do: he's constantly compared to the specialist he's matched up against. Is he as good a defender as Matthew Scarlett? No. Is he as good a ruckman as Dean Cox? No. Is he as good a forward as Buddy Franklin? No. Is he as good a midfielder as Harley? No. But while all of those guys are ranked say 9/10 for their specific role, he can be 7/10 for any of theirs.

As a coach, that's gotta be heaven, because you get like a 23rd player on your side. Missing a ruck? No problem, suddenly there's another one out of nowhere? The same for a tagger, forward, defender, on and on it goes.

Great game.

Exactly
He's a really useful engine, you know
All the other engines they'll tell you so
He huffs and puffs and whistles
Rushing to and fro
He's the really useful engine we adore