Jayden Pitt

Sorry to intrude. Just a quick one on Jayden Pitt. Played a few games early then disappeared? Not on injury list? I thought that with Freo long injury list he would get another call up. Waiting for him to bulk up? I havent read anything about him for a while. Tks & good luck for the rest of the year.

Yep, he's got a permanent booth at HJ's in South Tce taking in a few extra calories. Will be a player when he fills out.

He was probably found out a bit early on when he played those couple of games. Did some really good things to give us hope. Couple on this board are a bit impatient and are whinging about taking him over Darling but you can't win them all. I still think he will be more than handy in a couple of years.

My latest wish we'd taken him instead of Pitt, is Fasolo. Liked him at Easts, looks right at home in the Collingwood machine. Local boy and all.
Still I like Pitt, has the poise and time that bodes well for the high level. Kicking had high wraps and looks a million bucks at training but has felt the pressure a bit in the real thing, scrubbing a few and making poor choices.
It's hard to know in what role the club sees him, I know Lloyd said at the time he was a long term project, perhaps a Mackie style defender?
On exposed form and considering who we overlooked a slightly puzzling choice but our recruiters haven't got a whole lot wrong lately so lets wait & see. Meantime he can bulk up, hone his craft in WAFL and lets see what he brings with another pre-season, I doubt we will see much more of him this year but you never know.

Doesn't look like he has the build to put on much size.

Would have much preferred Darling or Fasolo.

Can't win them all i guess.

The thing is there were many who were all on about Hill vs Rich.
This Pitt vs Darling has the same smell about it imo.

We all know who is better out of Hill and Rich.. think Freo will again be vilified in their selection of Pitt.

Lol completely irrelevant.

Hill showed enough in his first few games to suggest he would be a star.
Darling has showed he will be an A grade player, Pitt has shown well nothing really. Even if he does, he will probably get homesick.

In the context of your post I think you mean vindicated. ;)

G'day mate.
Hindsight's great, a lot of people here have been using it when discussing drafting Pitt. He was a potential top tenner who slid to us - who is being compared to another potential top tenner in Darling which slid even further.

I'm prepared to wait a year or 2 before giving my 2c. People around here have been spoilt for choice in the last few years when it comes to rating scrawny undeveloped bodies instantly making an impact. The thing is, it's ridiculous to think they all can. And what's more it's short-sighted to think that if they don't show ANYTHING right away that they'll be hopeless forever.

I'm confident He'll play another game this year, maybe a RS nomination next year and build on that going forward.

Lol completely irrelevant.

Hill showed enough in his first few games to suggest he would be a star.
Darling has showed he will be an A grade player, Pitt has shown well nothing really. Even if he does, he will probably get homesick.

dude, that is some glass-half-empty shit right there.
pitt just needs to put on some playing weight and develop his instincts to AFL level, which he has shown he's capable of with his first few games. he might not slot right in like fyfe did, but i seriously doubt he'll need the same amount of development as say, pearce and hinkley, who are only now reaping the rewards after years of working on their game.

Darling was always going to look fantastic once a defender had gone to Kennedy, Lynch and LeCras. He's playing keyposition on a rebounding defender closer to Pitt's size.

Jayden had a very interuppted preseason and serious fatigue makes for bad executions.

I would expect to see him pinned to the hip of Nathan Fyfe in the next preseason, fit as a fiddle, a good user of the ball is infinitely more valuable than a big kid playing the smallest role in a forward line of monsters.

Christ some idiots are impatient..

I agree. It's ridiculous. We have such luck fast tracking players like Hill Fyfe Mora and Suban that these people think that every 65kg kid should come in and play 22 games no worries. It's not like anybody expected Fyfe to play in his first year so why treat Pitt differently? His composure, Skills, smarts and the way he moves is very similar to Pendlebury. He will be better than Darling and will make you all look like idiots in a couple years.

Whether he makes it or not, the expected timeline of him coming on and playing top footy is in the years and towards the time Pav, McPharlin and Sandi are gone. Let's not kid ourselves, without those three we are bottom four material, they are top class AFL players, and can play positions we don't have much depth for (although we're building it in the ruck).

I hate to agree with Clay but he is right, we needed to take a mature body who could make immediate impact in his first two years and beyond. We have a real crack at the flag in 2012 if we can get our best side on the field, and Pitt will probably still be sitting in the WAFL. I'm not saying Pitt won't be a good player I just don't think he was the right selection at the time.

I'm not against trading our first round draft pick this year, if we can secure a good midfielder. We will probably be looking at about 15-20 again with the compromised draft and if Palmer goes which looks likely we might have another pick at about that range as well.

after watching pitt get near on 10 disposals in the 1st quarter against the crows earlier this year,I'm prepared to be patient for 2 to 3 years with Pitt.

That's right, and his last quarter as the sub v Bulldogs was excellent too, was directly involved in a couple of goals and made smart decisions.It's idiotic to make judgements this early, he's clearly not as AFL ready as someone like Darling but he will get there.

I've always thought that in 3-4 years when they are all gone that our midfield is going to be so good that it won't even matter.