CDFC, Arsenal
I have said it before, I will say it again. Luke Jericho is not up to it. I would expect that in time we will discuss him in a very similar way to David Gallagher. He just hasn't got it I'm afraid.

IMHO Jericho is quicker and has better skills than messrs Gallagher and if he goes harder at the ball he will almost be the complete player.

I feel sorry for this kid, he was dumped in AFL before he was ready due to our need for young forwards last year and showed a bit, but he always looked like a boy playing against men, Give him Time!

He really gave me the ********s in the first half today. I don't know whether Dew kept farting all night or something else but Jericho was giving him a LOT of space out there tonight and I was not a happy chap :mad:

Stiffy_18 said:
He really gave me the ********s in the first half today. I don't know whether Dew kept farting all night or something else but Jericho was giving him a LOT of space out there tonight and I was not a happy chap :mad:

hey stiffy you stole my sister and mine fav line there - always wondered if some of the opposition players smelt really bad to our boys as they never did like getting close to them!

NikkiNoo said:
hey stiffy you stole my sister and mine fav line there - always wondered if some of the opposition players smelt really bad to our boys as they never did like getting close to them!
Sorry but it just looked that way :p

Honestly Dew had the whole bloody paddock to run around in and Jericho was always some 20 meters away :mad:

That was one soft performance from Jericho, and I would have had him off the park a lot earlier than he did. Soft as butter.

Massie would have been worth a try in his place, as at least he's hard at the ball. I thought the treatment of him was outrageous.

Stiffy_18 said:
He really gave me the ********s in the first half today. I don't know whether Dew kept farting all night or something else but Jericho was giving him a LOT of space out there tonight and I was not a happy chap
Way off topic I know, But I cut one in the box I was in tonight that would make most people gag! Nobody said a word and the little girl at the front just opened the window wider :D :D
Only crows fan there too, I let it rip with 5 minutes to go in the game :D
I bet they were asking who it was in their cars on the way home.
Toilet humour but i am still giggling

SpringChoke said:
This kid really has to be sent back to the SANFL to learn how to attack the man and ball with more vigour.

Bock can join him & as i said last year we should have traded Jericho while he still had some value on him, :( both of them soft & not up to it.

Disappointing effort from Jericho last night. Lacked intensity and two of his handballs in the 1st half were not in the same postcode as the intended recipient.

macca23 said:
That was one soft performance from Jericho, and I would have had him off the park a lot earlier than he did. Soft as butter.

Massie would have been worth a try in his place, as at least he's hard at the ball. I thought the treatment of him was outrageous.

Anyone know the reason why Massie never got a run???? Jericho mmmmmm he has alot of work to do, being a lil younger wouldnt be on the delist plans at this stage but he must use the ball better and play tighter.

jc67 said:
Way off topic I know, But I cut one in the box I was in tonight that would make most people gag! Nobody said a word and the little girl at the front just opened the window wider
Only crows fan there too, I let it rip with 5 minutes to go in the game :D
I bet they were asking who it was in their cars on the way home.
Toilet humour but i am still giggling
There should be a Farting Smiley so you can amuse yourself on BF! :D

i think Jericho is playing in the wrong position - i reckon in time he would make a fine wingman or halfback

meanwhile i would like to test his calibre as a tagger - perhaps he may learn the defensive side of the game

Soft - no doubt about it, but he was all last year aswell.

I'm not prepared to write him off yet. Last year he was rushed into the side probably before he was ready after only being at SANFL reserves level the year before. It was a huge jump. He has shown some signs at times but mainly from the full forward line. I think he leads well and this is his strength.

But I'm far from convinced.

maccas_no1 said:
Anyone know the reason why Massie never got a run???? Jericho mmmmmm he has alot of work to do, being a lil younger wouldnt be on the delist plans at this stage but he must use the ball better and play tighter.
Massie only came in last minute for Edwards. He played for Norwood for the entire game on saturday so he was just there in case we ended up with 17 fit players

**** said:
Soft - no doubt about it, but he was all last year aswell.

I'm not prepared to write him off yet. Last year he was rushed into the side probably before he was ready after only being at SANFL reserves level the year before. It was a huge jump. He has shown some signs at times but mainly from the full forward line. I think he leads well and this is his strength.

But I'm far from convinced.
Good comments - No doubt the game was too quick for him last night - he appeared not mentally prepared to play the game at the intensity with which it was played.

However I wont shoot him on the basis of one Wizard Cup game. His attack on the ball is poor, his composure on the field good - there's something about this lad that says if the coaching staff can get to him that we may have a very good player.

But on last nights game :(

johnnypanther said:
i think Jericho is playing in the wrong position - i reckon in time he would make a fine wingman or halfback

meanwhile i would like to test his calibre as a tagger - perhaps he may learn the defensive side of the game

Don't have a problem with any of those suggestions. At the moment he just isn't playing accountable football.

Reminds me of Burgoyne the younger who for all his talent used to bludge somewhat chronically up forward, and has shone since switched to defence where he cannot hide from his responsibilities.

SpringChoke said:
This kid really has to be sent back to the SANFL to learn how to attack the man and ball with more vigour.

Agreed - don't think he's half as bad as David Gallagher though.

He needs to put on a bit more weight as well, I was quite disappointed with what I saw last night that he still has a small frame and chicken legs.

I wouldn't write him off just yet though, he has pace and is a pretty good kick.

Stiffy_18 said:

Lets face it he plays totally unaccountable footy...not a defensive side to his game at all. Agree he needs a concentrated weights program & a full year at westies on a back flank....only then would he get a game at AFL level. I've also got real doubts about him as a team player..I think he plays completely for himself....dont think he's learnt anything since he played his first game.

outback jack said:
give him a whole preseason b4 we all shoot him down.............

alot better than some of the trash we have on the list. And why wasnt massie played much??? does that even need to be anwsered........

I'm not writing him off, yet..However, I think he must go back to West and learn to use his body.

Jericho is a runner trying to play football.....he is not a natural footballer.

I'm hoping he continues to develop because his pace and leap could be a huge asset to the side - but I fear he will always be found wanting in the physical stuff.

The SANFL is more his level of intensity and opposition physicality.

Mad Dog said:
Jericho is a runner trying to play football.....he is not a natural footballer.

I'm hoping he continues to develop because his pace and leap could be a huge asset to the side - but I fear he will always be found wanting in the physical stuff.

The SANFL is more his level of intensity and opposition physicality.

I hope you are not right :eek:

With the above in mind doesnt playing him as a fast leading forward make sense then? That way he uses his immense pace, leap and agility without being found out as much as further up the ground with his relative lack of footballing nous. He still may not make the grade as a leading forward but I just think he has a better chance there