Jetta: Why the hell didn't we pick him up.

Wayne Hughes worries me. Every comment he had about the draft seemed to be anxious to justify our picks by saying that such and such a club was going to take them with pick X. That is the mark of a recruiter not brave enough to take risks on potentially great players, and a recruiter gullible enough to believe the first thing that pops into his head about opposition clubs. Given his efforts so far, I think there is cause to be concerned.

Can't agree mate. The move to take Hampson was a risk:)
Hopefully it pays off:thumbsu:

Cazzesman on Talking Carlton sums up the views on the players we didn't or did take. I think they actually took some calculated risks rather than played it safe. We will hang them out to dry if they don't come off or do it before we can realistically tell:D , but I don't think they played it safe at all.

Only the odd phantom draft and Carlton had Hampson in their top 10. Every other club passed him over in 15 other picks. I reckon he could've slid further but i am confident he'll be good.

And as for the comparisons, you're missing the point. I'm not comparing between Hampson and Jetta, i'm saying we could've got both.

At #17 Hughes even said he was agonising between Jetta and Hampson. Had he picked Jetta, bombers would've passed over Hampson at #18 - this was fairly certain but not 100% so he played it safe.

Such a tough call, no doubt. Always is when you've got positional need vs best available, and i just hope this isn't shattering long term.

http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=36175

"Was there a temptation to hang off until pick 19 for Hampson and perhaps go for another option at 17? WH: Yeah there was. Most people would understand that Leroy was probably in the mix, Leroy Jetta. We had a discussion about it at the table and if Essendon had picked Leuenberger at two then maybe things might have fallen differently but I was still worried that Essendon might be looking for a ruckman and our discussion basically revolved around, 'Look, I want to pick the one that I want'. I said it might mean that we'll lose Leroy so that was the consequence of that, but that's the decision made on the day and in 10 years time that might be right, wrong or indifferent but what I can't do is ever change my mind, so that's how it works.But you're satisfied you got a good one at 19 nonetheless in Grigg… WH: Yeah, in fact, again, it’s just the way the cards fall. I knew that Adelaide had been very keen on Shaun Grigg and it was my expectation that they would pick him at 14 if the two Adelaide boys had gone, in particular James Sellar had gone. The fact that James Sellar fell through to them and they had a discussion at that selection I presumed that they were then discussing that aspect of it. They picked James which meant that Shaun came through to us. I think our next rated played might have been Hislop and he went the next pick to Essendon so it's just how it all fell out and that's the way it goes."

Sorry but what a load of cr@p you and BluesRules are perpetrating. You are really insulting our intelligence by asking us to belive a comment like this over Wayne Hughes' call. Who do you know inside the bombers to make such a definitive call? I have it on good authority that the Bombers were very keen on Hampson, their ruck stocks are not that promising at all. How did Hampson go at draft camp? how many clubs showed interest in him at Draft Camp? For our club Hampson was the right call. I challenge any U18 watchers to make a good argument why Jetta had a better champs than Grigga. Did Grigg improve from 05 to 06 season? does he have a good attitude and work ethic? what about Jetta's? Would you rather a lightning quick bloke who is versatile and can play all over the ground or another 178cm jet?

This thread is really peeving me off (and I wasn't the biggest Grigg advocate before the draft either).

Burgan also had Hamspon going top 12, so he must have had some good info on him too.

Rubbish, Wayne Hughes went into draft day with a very considered and erudite plan and he and his team stuck with it. We desperately needed a young, athletic developing ruckman on our list. After we decided on Gibbs at #1 then we were always going to take a ruck at #19. Recruiters talk amongst each other, and i think it was reasonable to expect the Bombers to pull the trigger on Hampson at #18. So we took him first and watching him in the intra-club i can see why. He has enormous upside. By all accounts, Adelaide only passed on Grigg at #14 because Sellar was still available. Lightning quick, 189cm, U18 All-Australian, ball magnet with good skills. Hampson had something like 15 out of 16 clubs nominate him for the Draft Camp, this shows a heck of a lot of interest in him.

Our plan was versatile, tall and quick. Kids with great attitudes and work ethic. the kids we picked up apparently ticked all of these boxes.

Please inform me of some of these mistakes that WH has supposedly made that are causing you concern?

How can you justify jetta off one practice match? Fair enough he's a talent but we needed a ruckman(Hampson) and Grigg looks like he's a solid young kid.

Also the midfield may not be lightning paced but neither was the lions midfield when they won three premierships, voss not quick, lappin not quick, black not overly quick, power not grease lightning, aker was nippy, but we got nippy players too like Walker and our young midfield is starting to remind me alot of that brisbane midfield. All the players like the brisbane middy find the ball more often than not, don't matter how quick you are if you cant find the footy! i'm willing to back our midfield of murphy, stevens, gibbs, simpson, carrazzo, walker, houlihan, bentick etc etc to knock over alot if not most midfields in a few years and even this year to an extent. Then we got the forwards like Fevy, Kennedy, Fisher, Whitnall, Betts to kick it through once we get it there, at essendon they've got Lloyd who's getting past it, Lucas the same, bring out the wheelchair for Hirdy though he's a champion and let us not forget Courtney Jones the supposed Saviour of the Essendon forward line the player who's had the best pre season of his career and then got towled up by a bloke that played his first game at CHB in Jarred Waite. They're midfield is ****, monfries is the only one that's shown anything, hence we are streets ahead of them in the talent dept. Regardless if they have jetta or not who's proven nothing yet and has a bad attitude, most likely one you can't fix and will probably end up being a Rioli type player, a flash in the pan one or two season star who'll give it up cos he cant be stuffed working hard anymore.

I'm happy with our position atm and how we've drafted, dont know how there can be criticism we've got a real solid base to work from atm in all positions of the ground.

I have seen plenty of grigg play. I watch all the kids. I'm very rarely wrong. I live and breath the blues and believe me i hope im wrong. But, Grigg is a soft c---

Given the list we have assembled over the past few years, the last thing we needed was another "midget". For example, a player under 180cm. On our list at the minute, we have Eddie Betts (173cm), Luke Blackwell (177cm) and Marc Murphy (179cm).

Thats 3 out of 38 under 180cm, and adding Jetta would have been 4. In my book, that is probably 1 too many.

As for Jetta vs Grigg/Hampson, we're not going to know until at least the end of the 2008 season. One thing I will say though, is that there were certainly 2 questions marks over Jetta coming into the ND.

1. Ability to play in the midfield
2. Does he have the engine to play midfield.

So, at the end of the day, we went for someone that is a natural mid, who can kick despite what you say, and he may be outside, but a team doesn't need a whole heap on in-and-unders.

Watched it courteousy of Bomber.tv :thumbsu:

Jetta had 7 kicks, 3 handballs and 3 goals. Looked very very good not only when he had the ball but even just the pressure he applied. Houli had 8 kicks, 7 handballs and a goal if your interested.

EDIT Gumbleton 3 kicks, 4 handballs.

Did Jetta predominantly play up forward, and did he have any stints in the midfield?

Point 1: Why are people comparing Grigg's drafting with Jetta's? We never had the chance to pick Jetta because he was gone when our pick came around, it's not a case of Grigg over Jetta, rather Hampson over him but anything to troll I guess.

Point 2: WH made a point that had the Bombers taken Leuey with Pick 2, they would've gone for Jetta and left Hampson to 19 since the Bombers wouldn't've picked another ruckman. But because they didn't and given their reported interest in Leuenberger prior to the draft coupled with their rucks not coming along as well, it forced doubts in our minds and instead of risking losing the 2nd best ruckman in the draft, we went for him because we were guaranteed another gun mid with pick 19.

Point 3: People should really wait 6 or so years before comparing Hampson vs Jetta. Hampson's upside is huge given he is only been playing a couple of years football and given we had a pressing need for a ruckman at the time and he was available at 17, we didn't wanna pass him up. FWIW Burgan had him at 10 so he can't've been that much of a shock.
Because the Pies stated they were weighing up Hampson for pick 10 if Brown or Reid were gone. ;)

And Hammo isn't worth pick 17. :rolleyes:

A ruck division made up of Kreuzer/McEvoy/Bellchambers, Hampson, Jacobs and Aisake is the stuff of dreams if this year's draft works out that way. You can find a pacy small forward/midfielder like Jetta in nearly every draft, but young rucks are worth their weight in gold and we didn't have any on our list. We had to take one this year to address that weakness and Hammo hasn't put a foot wrong since he joined Carlton.

Jordan Russell. Adam Hartlett. Chris Bryan. And now Shaun Grigg.

LOL, credibility = 0, the kid hasn't played an AFL game yet. Bryan?? Wasn't he pick 134 or something, he was a big bodied mature ruck which we needed at the time, who should we have picked instead?

JR is coming on now, if it were up to you i suppose you would have cut Simmo after 2 years as well? Hartlett has been plagued by unforseen injuries, and now he is behind some others (which WH drafted anyway), joke post.

Jordan Russell.

JR has taken some time to develop, but I think we are starting to see signs why he was taken in the top 10 a few years ago now.

Adam Hartlett.

Had he not been injured, Harts would have debuted last year, and probably had 5-10 games under his belt. Bit tough there.

Chris Bryan. .

FFS, he was taken pretty late in the draft, so it was always going to be a speculative pick. Keep in mind that his first few games for the club were actually pretty good. It was only when he got to big for his boots that his form died off.

And now Shaun Grigg.

How could possibly judge Grigg when he hasn't even played a game yet. I suggest you get a copy of the Vic Metro/SA game and have a look at his game, particularly his first half. You might be pleasantly surprised.

Jordan Russell. Adam Hartlett. Chris Bryan. And now Shaun Grigg.
None of those were poor choices at the time.

You can't fault their selection because of what other draftees have done in just two years. Russell has negated Bateman and Stanton in his past two games and he will be our number one run with player this year freeing up AW and Carrots. I don't think Bate has a game Russell can't match once he settles into AFL footy and I'm more comfortable with his selection than if we had picked Egan.

I think Grigg will be our Birchall.:thumbsu:

It would have been a massive mistake not to take a ruckman with pick 17, they take a long time to come though and and clubs really need to be drafting them 5-6 years ahead of when they want them coming through.

Because the Pies stated they were weighing up Hampson for pick 10 if Brown or Reid were gone. ;)

And Hammo isn't worth pick 17. :rolleyes:

A ruck division made up of Kreuzer/McEvoy/Bellchambers, Hampson, Jacobs and Aisake is the stuff of dreams if this year's draft works out that way. You can find a pacy small forward/midfielder like Jetta in nearly every draft, but young rucks are worth their weight in gold and we didn't have any on our list. We had to take one this year to address that weakness and Hammo hasn't put a foot wrong since he joined Carlton.

Spot on. For those super recruiters out there.

Remember 5 to 10 years ago or so probably 80% never made it and 50% never even got an AFL game.

Its not as hit and miss now, with alot more time being spent pre draft testing etc, but 50% of those drafted still wont make it.

Next year you'll be talking about a whole new bunch and there will be a case of goodbye to many 05 draftees who just couldn't cut it or simply never got the opportunity to shine.

Sorry but what a load of cr@p you and BluesRules are perpetrating. You are really insulting our intelligence by asking us to belive a comment like this over Wayne Hughes' call. Who do you know inside the bombers to make such a definitive call? I have it on good authority that the Bombers were very keen on Hampson, their ruck stocks are not that promising at all. How did Hampson go at draft camp? how many clubs showed interest in him at Draft Camp? For our club Hampson was the right call. I challenge any U18 watchers to make a good argument why Jetta had a better champs than Grigga. Did Grigg improve from 05 to 06 season? does he have a good attitude and work ethic? what about Jetta's? Would you rather a lightning quick bloke who is versatile and can play all over the ground or another 178cm jet?

This thread is really peeving me off (and I wasn't the biggest Grigg advocate before the draft either).

Burgan also had Hamspon going top 12, so he must have had some good info on him too.

Sheedy was beside himself to have gotten Hislop and Jetta. And they obviously weren't dying to get a ruck given they didn't draft one in either the national or rookie draft.

I hope Jetta turns out to be a Troy Longmuir, not an Andrew Mcleod. And if Grigg turns out to be a great player for us, then this issue's irrelevant. 5-10 years will tell.:thumbsu:

Sheedy was beside himself to have gotten Hislop and Jetta. And they obviously weren't dying to get a ruck given they didn't draft one in either the national or rookie draft.

I hope Jetta turns out to be a Troy Longmuir, not an Andrew Mcleod. And if Grigg turns out to be a great player for us, then this issue's irrelevant. 5-10 years will tell.:thumbsu:

Mate, maybe they didn't draft a ruckman later because they didn't think one was worth drafting after Leuey and Hampster??

Also three good ruck prospects coming along next year.

Fact is the top modern ruckmen are now tall and athletic, and we desperately needed a developing ruckman to bring us up to speed with the other top ruck divisions inthe league. Fact is Jetta is just an undersized pocket or flanker, albeit a super quick one, and we already have Eddie in that role.

I know im not lying, it's been killing me for 3 years now. This year I will predict it again. Look, i had tambling ahead of franklin, so i can be wrong. I didn't have to admit that.

Ok we all have our different opinions of players that's fair enough. i'd love to have a wager with you that you will have a different opinion of grigg come the end of the year if pagan plays him!

In last years draft we had the opportunity to get Leroy Jetta. What a mistake it was to overlook him.
If you saw the expression on his face when he was drafted east, you wouldn't have thought it was a mistake.

Let's see how Grigg & Hampson go before we start having regrets please.

He doesn't look that poor a player in this game against SA, Grigg can be seen winning the ball all over the ground and this soft **** ran back into defence to spoil on two occasions. :thumbsu:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mb-62DTrQdM

In one of his first pieces of play on here he wins the ball at half back and went on a great run to mark inside fifty after starting the play. :thumbsu:

Nearly every Vic Country player's kicking was off early in that game because they chose the wrong boots for the Kardinia park surface. His kicking was good after they changed their boots and Grigg appears to be a very smart player who knows where to position himself to get the ball.