Jetta: Why the hell didn't we pick him up.

I have been supporting the blues for 18 years and I'm 23. I know everything about every player that has played since 1990 onwards, so don't question my knowledge. Maybe you shouldn't be so bias a be realistic. I love this club more than anything, but im realistic.

You were probably one of those fans who supported the Mansfield trade. Yeah, great move that one was, an old over the hill dud for a draft selection that turned out being paul chapman. Another wonderfull move. What about O'Rielly for draft pick (Turned out being Adam Mcphee) Great Move!!!!!!!!!! What about Gallagher, Eccles. More dud trades. McKernan, another old fart.

The days with Williams, Kouta, Sticks, Braddles, McKay, SOS, Sexton, Ratts, Madden, Ang are gone and won't be back until we started recruiting better talent.

If you knew how to read, I said I saw him play 2 out of 3 games at the U18 carnival. I have seen him play about 10 times all together. My point was in 2 games out of 3 he just played ok and he got all-aust. This tells me you don't have to do sh-- to get in under u18 all aust side.

But how else are you to judge a young player at the highest level appropriate to them? A recruiter can only go on what he sees when the presumed best youngsters are pitted against their contempories. Isn't Hughes largely responsible for what Freo look like now?

All Australian means crap all for U18. If you play 3 reasonable games you get in the team. It a load of rubbish. So many players are U18 All Aust and don't get drafted, or they are complete flops. Grigg being an all Australian is all you have to support your case. I saw 2 of the games and all his possesions were trash easy balls. Show him a pack and you can bet that he will be on the outer waiting for the soft ball.
He has started on the ball and won the ball even if he isn't an in and under player. Shaun kicked six goals in round one of the TAC cup and was a goal kicked all year.

Does your poster boy Jetta go in and under to get the ball or work both ways? :rolleyes:

You're a troll.

There was a comment on here at the time of the draft camp that Jetta didn't want to complete a few of the trials. The footage of his reaction to being drafted to Essendon was priceless and he sounds like another Sampi to me.
Actually, come to think of it he reminds me a little of Adrian whitehead.
Grigg reminds you of Whitehead? :confused:

Whitehead was an accountable player who was a premiership player and was one of our best small defenders/taggers in 1995.

IIRC he won a rising star nomination.
Our stuff ups started with Vance, Massie, Livo etc. It will continue with Grigg, Russell, Hartlett, Hampson, Edwards etc.
Do you even have parents?

Or did you split from a single cell amoeba?

Instead of talking crap, why don't you come up with more arguments that make sense. Insults are easy, but what about backing up with more facts.

Leroy isn't the hardest player going around, i'll give you that. But he is a match winner. If you think Hartlett will make it then you are one-eyed and bias. C'mon. Another merrington. dud dud dud dud.

Dont forget sporn. Another one of your heroes im sure.
Whitehead was a dud who came off the bench and kicked a goal or 2 when the game was over.

Gleeson should have got a game in gf in 95'. Not that dud.

If your a setanta fan, then i know for a fact you a real dill.

He will be hot and cold, but in the long term he will be a top player for essendon. I hate essendon more than anybody but I'm not bias like some, and i think Houli, Jetta, Gumbleton are ripper players. I would have loved Jetta and Houli. I'm wrapt with gibbs though. Essendon had a great draft in 2006. I think we stuffed a great opportunity to get some good talent with pick 17 and 19 and we stuffed it.

In last years draft we had the opportunity to get Leroy Jetta. What a mistake it was to overlook him. It was a miracle that he slipped so far down the draft order, but when he was available at carltons second pick it was fantastic. It was an opportunity for carlton to pick up a super quick mid/fwd. Picking Hampson was a mistake. We should have taken Jetta at 17 and hope Hampson was there at 19 (Which he would have been because essendon wasn't going to pick another tall).

This will be a huge mistake. Remember these words. Grigg is very soft, can't kick and is only a back flanker, Hampson isn't really a proven under age footballer (Was worth the gamble at pick 19, but not at pick 17 in front of jetta).

With a midfield that contains Bentick, Murphy, Stevens and Gibbs. These guys are not quick. We needed an injection of pace. Jetta was the answer for carlton. Carlton lack pace in the midfield and it will come back and haunt us in the future.
It's too early to judge yet but this guy does have a point.

I heard an interview with wayne hughes where he said they agonised briefly between Hampson and Jetta at #17 (hence the pause on draft day as he told others his thinking others).

Fact is he was worried Hampson wouldn't be there at 19, as he thought bombers would take a ruck.

This astounds me, they were never gonna take a ruck with that pick.

We could've got Jetta at 17, Hampson at 19, and Grigg may well have slid to 35 (probably not, but may have).

A killer draft.

I'm not gonna criticize too much given Jetta could yet go awol and be a dud, but i was also very disappointed we didn't take that low risk "punt" on the day. Time will tell.

Finally, somebody with a brain. You are completely right. Jetta 17, Hampson 19 and if grigg wasn't there at 35 then we could take Houli. Hampson is not worth pick 17. He was not worth the risk so high in the draft which was so deep. I know its early but we can't offord to make mistakes like we did with sporn, vance, massie etc. I think grigg and hampson might just be added to that list. I REALLY HOPE IM WRONG.

Point 1: Why are people comparing Grigg's drafting with Jetta's? We never had the chance to pick Jetta because he was gone when our pick came around, it's not a case of Grigg over Jetta, rather Hampson over him but anything to troll I guess.

Point 2: WH made a point that had the Bombers taken Leuey with Pick 2, they would've gone for Jetta and left Hampson to 19 since the Bombers wouldn't've picked another ruckman. But because they didn't and given their reported interest in Leuenberger prior to the draft coupled with their rucks not coming along as well, it forced doubts in our minds and instead of risking losing the 2nd best ruckman in the draft, we went for him because we were guaranteed another gun mid with pick 19.

Point 3: People should really wait 6 or so years before comparing Hampson vs Jetta. Hampson's upside is huge given he is only been playing a couple of years football and given we had a pressing need for a ruckman at the time and he was available at 17, we didn't wanna pass him up. FWIW Burgan had him at 10 so he can't've been that much of a shock.

Finally, somebody with a brain. You are completely right. Jetta 17, Hampson 19 and if grigg wasn't there at 35 then we could take Houli. Hampson is not worth pick 17. He was not worth the risk so high in the draft which was so deep. I know its early but we can't offord to make mistakes like we did with sporn, vance, massie etc. I think grigg and hampson might just be added to that list. I REALLY HOPE IM WRONG.

you are wrong :) :cool: . There is no way people can judge either of these two players until 5 years time, when they have either made an impact or not.

It's too early to judge yet but this guy does have a point.

I heard an interview with wayne hughes where he said they agonised briefly between Hampson and Jetta at #17 (hence the pause on draft day as he told others his thinking others).

Fact is he was worried Hampson wouldn't be there at 19, as he thought bombers would take a ruck.

This astounds me, they were never gonna take a ruck with that pick.

We could've got Jetta at 17, Hampson at 19, and Grigg may well have slid to 35 (probably not, but may have).

A killer draft.

I'm not gonna criticize too much given Jetta could yet go awol and be a dud, but i was also very disappointed we didn't take that low risk "punt" on the day. Time will tell.
Would you be prepared to give up the second best ruckman in the draft who was rated a genuine top 10 chance and happened to be around for our second pick, by being over ONE SINGLE PICK?

Keep in mind that at that point in time we didn't have Cloke nor Jacobs and our ruck stocks were looking very very very thin, there was no way we were gonna risk not taking a gun, top-10 rated ruckman in Hampson with our pick when it rolled around, particularly when the Bombers hadn't picked Leuenberger.

FWIW you can make a much much much stronger case of 'Grigg over Hislop/Proud/Urquhart' than 'Hampson over Jetta'.

I have seen plenty of grigg play. I watch all the kids. I'm very rarely wrong. I live and breath the blues and believe me i hope im wrong. But, Grigg is a soft c---
We only have your word that you chose Monfries and Jetta over Russell and Grigg. You also don't talk about other players you might have chosen that you got wrong. The proof in the pudding is to make a call ahead of the next draft and then see how much you are always right.

I know im not lying, it's been killing me for 3 years now. This year I will predict it again. Look, i had tambling ahead of franklin, so i can be wrong. I didn't have to admit that.

When all is said and done, we wanted and needed Hampson more than Jetta. If that low risk punt did not pay off, we would have found ourselves taking Renouf or someone at 19, far higher than we wanted, or they would have been hung drawn and quartered.

Wow! Lighten up everyone. :) BluesRules is only saying what he/she thinks.

I won't lie, I was disappointed to see we passed on Jetta at pick 17 (same with Houli at pick 35). Leroy is a potential star, but also potential dud. Lots of talk about people doubting whether he would settle well in Melbourne.

I'm happy to trust Hughes, as it's his job to spot the best talent. But if he gets it wrong I'll be cut. Especially as we've had poor draft selections for so long. I couldn't bare it if this next round of AFL hopefuls turn out to be duds.

When all is said and done, we wanted and needed Hampson more than Jetta. If that low risk punt did not pay off, we would have found ourselves taking Renouf or someone at 19, far higher than we wanted, or they would have been hung drawn and quartered.
Yeah that was the dilemma.

Bombers admitted after the draft that much of their "interest" in Leuenberger was just a ruse, and it just sux we got sucked in by it.

Would you be prepared to give up the second best ruckman in the draft who was rated a genuine top 10 chance and happened to be around for our second pick, by being over ONE SINGLE PICK?

Keep in mind that at that point in time we didn't have Cloke nor Jacobs and our ruck stocks were looking very very very thin, there was no way we were gonna risk not taking a gun, top-10 rated ruckman in Hampson with our pick when it rolled around, particularly when the Bombers hadn't picked Leuenberger.

FWIW you can make a much much much stronger case of 'Grigg over Hislop/Proud/Urquhart' than 'Hampson over Jetta'.
Only the odd phantom draft and Carlton had Hampson in their top 10. Every other club passed him over in 15 other picks. I reckon he could've slid further but i am confident he'll be good.

And as for the comparisons, you're missing the point. I'm not comparing between Hampson and Jetta, i'm saying we could've got both.

At #17 Hughes even said he was agonising between Jetta and Hampson. Had he picked Jetta, bombers would've passed over Hampson at #18 - this was fairly certain but not 100% so he played it safe.

Such a tough call, no doubt. Always is when you've got positional need vs best available, and i just hope this isn't shattering long term.

http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=36175

"Was there a temptation to hang off until pick 19 for Hampson and perhaps go for another option at 17? WH: Yeah there was. Most people would understand that Leroy was probably in the mix, Leroy Jetta. We had a discussion about it at the table and if Essendon had picked Leuenberger at two then maybe things might have fallen differently but I was still worried that Essendon might be looking for a ruckman and our discussion basically revolved around, 'Look, I want to pick the one that I want'. I said it might mean that we'll lose Leroy so that was the consequence of that, but that's the decision made on the day and in 10 years time that might be right, wrong or indifferent but what I can't do is ever change my mind, so that's how it works.But you're satisfied you got a good one at 19 nonetheless in Grigg… WH: Yeah, in fact, again, it’s just the way the cards fall. I knew that Adelaide had been very keen on Shaun Grigg and it was my expectation that they would pick him at 14 if the two Adelaide boys had gone, in particular James Sellar had gone. The fact that James Sellar fell through to them and they had a discussion at that selection I presumed that they were then discussing that aspect of it. They picked James which meant that Shaun came through to us. I think our next rated played might have been Hislop and he went the next pick to Essendon so it's just how it all fell out and that's the way it goes."

You don't make sense. Hampson is not worth pick 17, not worth that high........yet you have him at 19 here???

Because 19 is not a high pick??

sounds like 20/20 hindsight to me, except that none of these guys has actually done anything, right or wrong to prove the case.

The fact is that Hampson, as a ruck will take longer to develop. Anyone that supports this club knows that we needed to take a young talented ruckman, so we did. You and I won't know for 3-4 years, maybe longer, if they got it right or wrong, because rucks take time to mature.

So get this off your chest, and promise that while Jetta is playing the next few years and Hampson is still running around with the bullants, cracking an occasional senior game, promise that you won't keep re-typing this...........pinky swear.......:cool:

i have inside information that Grigg is miles ahead of anyone else in the reserves and was best on ground by streets in last weeks practice match

Fair enough. But i have watched a lot of these kids over the last couple of years and i know i will be right.

Before the draft a few years ago I wanted Monfries with our first pick which was pick nine. When we chose russell i almost smashed my computer screen. I wanted Monfries and second option was matthew Bate. Both Monfries and bate went in the early teens and I knew we stuffed up again. 3 years on it looks like i am right on the mark. Monfries and Bate look fantastic tough, hard footballers. Russell is soft and lacks intensity.

Wayne Hughes give me your job. I'll show you how to select talent.

Have you watched the NAB cup mate? Russell's intensity has been fantastic. He has been very vocal and actually looks like he feels part of it now. I reckon his main problem was home sickness. He didn't get a lot of the pill in the last game, but he was doing a job.
I think the kid will be fine:thumbsu:

It's too early to judge. You guys really needed a ruckman. DESPERATELY. Hughes played it safe... if the Dons probably weren't going to take a ruckman... but if you guys left Hampson at 17, hoping he was at 19, then if Essendon took Hampson at 18, then you guys would've been screwd over because there weren't many decent ruckman after that- Only Tippet and maybe a few others....? (Tippet would most likely be a forward anyway). Jetta- His upside is massive. He could take hold of his oppportunity or just be a flop. Sheedy LOVES aboriginals. THey are very flashy players. They are game-brakers (usuaully). Jetta will most likely become a player were in the 1st half he does absolutely nothing, then in like 10 minutes he kicks 2 goals and racks up 7 possessions or something like that. He really is a freak though. His upside is unlimited. If he applies himself he will be a very good player. He's a risky type though. Also he is pretty short and in the modern game, palyers are getting taller and taller. Grigg... no one on here expect him to this early. He really is a ball magnet though. Just knows were the ball is and can carry it a bit if he wants to. Could be a solid player. Jus need to tidy up his disposal a bit. I guess he's a bit like Knights at our club... Knows where the ball is, gets so many disposals, but burns it too much at the moment. If he cleans up his disposal he'll be a player.

this jetta sounds like a gun

any chance we can put a proposal to the afl whereby we can trade gibbs for jetta ASAP :rolleyes:

Nope gibbs is a one club Player= Will Play all his career at Carlton
maby trade a lesser player for jetta :D yeah then will see how long it would be be for blues supporters be wishing they didn;t trade if . if it did happen so we will never ever know :D he'll be a 300 game Player and have his name on the Locker :D

It's too early to judge. You guys really needed a ruckman. DESPERATELY. Hughes played it safe... if the Dons probably weren't going to take a ruckman... but if you guys left Hampson at 17, hoping he was at 19, then if Essendon took Hampson at 18, then you guys would've been screwd over because there weren't many decent ruckman after that- Only Tippet and maybe a few others....? (Tippet would most likely be a forward anyway). Jetta- His upside is massive. He could take hold of his oppportunity or just be a flop. Sheedy LOVES aboriginals. THey are very flashy players. They are game-brakers (usuaully). Jetta will most likely become a player were in the 1st half he does absolutely nothing, then in like 10 minutes he kicks 2 goals and racks up 7 possessions or something like that. He really is a freak though. His upside is unlimited. If he applies himself he will be a very good player. He's a risky type though. Also he is pretty short and in the modern game, palyers are getting taller and taller. Grigg... no one on here expect him to this early. He really is a ball magnet though. Just knows were the ball is and can carry it a bit if he wants to. Could be a solid player. Jus need to tidy up his disposal a bit. I guess he's a bit like Knights at our club... Knows where the ball is, gets so many disposals, but burns it too much at the moment. If he cleans up his disposal he'll be a player.

BluesRules is only winding people up:D He may actually believe what he has written, but his language when challenged and need to then bag a number of our other blokes pretty much sums it up:D

As much as some posters seem to think that all of our players are superstars and by reading some of the stuff written on the forum you would expect us to be shoe- ins to win the grand final if our players were actually that good:D BluesRules has gone too far the other way.

The main upside with Grigg is that he is prepared to work on his faults. His improvement from 2005 to 2006 was exceptional:thumbsu: He identified his problems and worked on them. I think Jetta has the potential to be a great player, but so does Grigg:)

We'll see in a few years time how all these drafted players turn out. The success rate is improving with drafted players as the recruiting departments have improved out of sight since the draft first started.
I am confident a number of our picks will be fantastic for us, but the law of averages dictates that there will be some failures as there will be for all clubs.

Did you watch the game? What were his stats?

Watched it courteousy of Bomber.tv :thumbsu:

Jetta had 7 kicks, 3 handballs and 3 goals. Looked very very good not only when he had the ball but even just the pressure he applied. Houli had 8 kicks, 7 handballs and a goal if your interested.

EDIT Gumbleton 3 kicks, 4 handballs.