themuddy#3

Suspended
Until Death Do Us Part
it might just the ridiculously high standard he sets, but has jimmy been down a bit this year? maybe he's carrying a bit of a knock...

i know he is still getting stats but he has had a few average games this year, more so in recent rounds.
does anyone have any theories?

hoping for a massive four quarters of footy from jimmy this friday.

i dont think he's been too down, was clearly best on in the essendon game and generally has been very good. however, i did expect him to dominate in the wet last saturady which he didn't (was nearly expecting 40 possies lol)...

I'd like to see him 'rested' in the forward line every now and then (perhaps when kelly is on the pine). Terrific overhead mark and sharp shooter at goal....

it might just the ridiculously high standard he sets, but has jimmy been down a bit this year? maybe he's carrying a bit of a knock...

i know he is still getting stats but he has had a few average games this year, more so in recent rounds.
does anyone have any theories?

hoping for a massive four quarters of footy from jimmy this friday.

a man is not a robot, but yes his been down.

dont get me wrong, im not laying into him (he's been my favourite player for 4 years) just want to know if he's carrying anything,
still, he's still in the top ten possie wise so maybe there is nothing in it, just a kind of feeling...

Averaging just 1 solitary possession less than in his Brownlow year.

I think, he's 4th or 5th favourite for it again, just over a third of the way through the season.

I reckon he's going alright.

Slightly down still AA. Best mid in the league.

No mate, very wrong. The numebr 29 at your club would have to take that title at the moment. In fact, Jimmy wouldn't be top 5 this year.

Fact is, other than last year, he has been a plodder, a guy that just does his job week in, week out. He is probably a lot like Geelong are so fr this year, just doing enough to make sure they win. He is probably winning his position most weeks, just not racking up the big numbers

Tim Callan leaving broke his heart.

There was an interview with Callan in the Sun last week where he stated that he had spoken to Jimmy recently and apparently he had split with his Danish girl. Tim went on to say that maybe he could step back into Jimmy's life to once again fill the void. :D

Not just bartel, I reckon the entire midfield has been down a little on last year (with the exception of Gaz of course), but the last year was 'special'. Probably has a fair bit to do with Otto being out of the side and not getting first use of the ball as often. I'm expecting the cats to improve out of sight once otto comes back into the side

[controversially, I rate Otto our most important player. Others are better players, he is the most difficult to replace.]

There was an interview with Callan in the Sun last week where he stated that he had spoken to Jimmy recently and apparently he had split with his Danish girl. Tim went on to say that maybe he could step back into Jimmy's life to once again fill the void. :D

Yeh saw that, not sure wether he was joking or not:eek: (about the girlfriend)

:confused:

Who would then?

I would think that the top 5 would be,
Ablett
Mitchell
Black
Cooney
K Cornes

Honourable mentions to Corey and Sewell.

Again, not denegrating Bartel, great player, but I don't think that he has been as good this year as last year. Other midfielders are playing better.
Not to say he won;t get up there, just think, right now, he is just doing enough, guys like Selwood are lifting as well.

Fact is, other than last year, he has been a plodder

Jimmy has never been a "plodder"

just not racking up the big numbers

He's top 10 in the league for average possessions, and is averaging more possessions, goals, clearances, inside 50's and 1%ers than Brad Sewell, who you and many others are talking up as a potential top 5 midfielder this year.

Puts Jimmy's apparent 'poor form' into perspective.

Stats can be misleading, I mean Clinton Young is second or third on marks for the year!!!!

Plodder was probably a bit harsh, what I meant is that outside of last year, he was a good player without being great. Last year he took that big step from good player to great player IMO.

Despite what the stats say, I would think that Sewell has been more effective for Hawthorn than Jimmy has been for Geelong. This is not to be seen as a slight on Bartel, as I am a big fan of his. I just think others are playing better than him. Again, probably just an example of the high standards set last year.

Plodder was probably a bit harsh, what I meant is that outside of last year, he was a good player without being great. Last year he took that big step from good player to great player IMO.

Yes.

Plodder was incredibly harsh.

Despite what the stats say, I would think that Sewell has been more effective for Hawthorn than Jimmy has been for Geelong. This is not to be seen as a slight on Bartel, as I am a big fan of his. I just think others are playing better than him. Again, probably just an example of the high standards set last year.

I'm not saying that Bartel has been better than Sewell, simply that his 'poor form' is a fallacy.

Yes.

Plodder was incredibly harsh.

I'm not saying that Bartel has been better than Sewell, simply that his 'poor form' is a fallacy.

Yeah, fair call. I guess winning the brownlow means you are looked at more closely, and possibly unfairly.