Review JLT #3 - Geelong d Essendon by 22 points

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

Just wanted to bitch about menzel's weak knees. I'm pissed that we will never get to see him play to his full potential-Even hobbled the kid is just a freak.

Credit to the medical staff - I feel they are managing him well so far. Have seen him at my gym doing some very specific muscle group training - seems to be focusing on hip strength. Maybe in a couple of years he will be able to play freely, but even today I was cringing every time he went to ground.

Not just that but we may see similar fade-outs from them as half the team hasn't played games of footy for over 12 months. Especially if they play the manic brand of footy they did in the first half. Spent all of their petrol tickets.

Young side as well they are building some nice pieces Merett, Heppell and parish plenty to be pleased about. I would even take Stewart of them

Credit to the medical staff - I feel they are managing him well so far. Have seen him at my gym doing some very specific muscle group training - seems to be focusing on hip strength. Maybe in a couple of years he will be able to play freely, but even today I was cringing every time he went to ground.
IF we win a flag this year, and IF Menzel plays, which I think is a NSC, I would tip he would consider retirement.

After watching that match, I was fairly disappointed in the first half, like most Cats fans, especially to be down so far against Essendon, which have improved from last season, but IMO are not a strong team at all. It was evident that once we turned the intensity up in the 3rd quarter, the game changed totally, and we took control. Dangerwood looks like it will inflict the same damage as it did last year, and are a critical cog in our team.

I thought we looked very vulnerable in defence when the ball hit the deck, especially on a fast entry from the opposition. Tuohy, Stewart and Ruggles are decent players, but I think very fast small forwards will trouble us, and that's where I think Bews provides the best defensive pressure in our team. I'd probably sacrifice a medium offensive defender for the best small defender to shut down the gun small forwards.

I also thought we didn't look that great in the forward line in the first half when the intensity of the opposition was up, in the second half we looked far more dangerous when we had control of the forward 50 entries.

Just on a few of the players, these are some of my thoughts:

1. Thurlow seemed to be getting a bit more confidence, still no where near his best, but I saw some good signs.

2. Cowan had a better game, but I do not see us winning a premiership with a player like him in the team, he has no hurt factor on the opposition, none whatsoever. He is falling over less than last year, which is the only positive thing I can see really.

3. Cockatoo was blowing smoke at the end of the game, I'm not sure he has a good tank to do extended time in the midfield. He looks like an impact player.

4. GHS seems to be ahead of Menegola right now in terms of impact, both are serviceable and linking ok, but they are not setting the world on fire and are clearly below Dangerwood.

5. Stanley is having more impact than Smith at the moment, and I'd have Stanley as no1 ruck, perhaps even with Blicavs as the 2nd ruck and utility and dropping Smith and adding another medium sized running player.

6. I'd have Murdoch on the half forward flank if Motlop can't fire. He could be ok as a scoring option and will provide defensive pressure, its his best position I think.

7. I didn't have a strong opinion on Parfitt in the first two JLT games, but I'm starting to like what I see, he looks like a cross between a Bundy and Stokesy in terms of style and output.

8. Lang drifted in and out of the game, I don't think he's the type of player that can turn the game in our favour, but he seems to link nicely when we move the ball forward and we start to get on top of the opposition.

No good coach allows it to happen? Mate it's happened to most of them. It happened to bomber in the last match he coached for us.
It happened to Williams in 2007. It happened to Simpson in 2015. If I could be bothered I'm certain I could dig up examples of it happening to basically every coach of decent repute over the last decade.
Maybe you are onto something - sign of things coming to an end or history repeating - either way all bad signs. Look at what a new coach and some good recruiting did to the Bulldogs.

Bomber > Left in dramatic circumstances and never head coached again (a change of coach and we won the premiership the next year - *hint hint*)
Williams > The team turned to shit, never achieved a 50% record and then he left and never head coached again.
Simpson > Surprise - after losing by 46 points in Grand final 2015 what happens in 2016... They get smashed by Bulldogs by 47 points in elimination final.

Sam Mitchell might be able to save Simpson just like Dangerfield saved us from having a shit 2016. Lets not delude ourselves - without Danger we would be lucky to make the 8. He won more games off his own back than anyone.

We are good enough to get top 4 (thanks Danger) - should swap the coach and see if we can get the Bomber effect that motivates the players to stop turning off for 3/4 of the game or provides them a decent tactic to stop onslaughts.

Dunno what to say. Absolutely terrible for a half and then great. Don't think it was experimental either.
We just lack effort & intensity at times and this will cross over again into the H&A season.
Stanley literally couldn't give a f**k in the first half, got a serve from his captain and tried in the second. Sums him up really. Likes to turn it on in his home city when his family and friends are watching, clearly lacks effort most other weeks.
Smith, who knows. Doesn't look good though.
What do we do with Blitz. He's undroppable so I dunno, up forward maybe.
Lots of positives though! GHS and Murdoch serviceable again.
Danger is such a great player I just wish he could kick. Really needs to look for a shorter option or handball far more often.
Selwood looked more like Selwood.
Hawkins looked more like Hawkins.

This might sound strange, but I reckon we should've tried to get Sam Mitchell, he would have us right in the premiership contention. He is still playing as an A-grader, and I think a third A-grader in the middle would have us right in contention.

Remember the last Hawthorn player we recruited, he wasn't bad, turned out to be God.

It may be low on the list of priorities but I can tell you it was high on the priorities when we were getting our pants pulled down in front of the whole country against Sydney... No good coach allows that to happen on such a big stage - its soul and culture destroying to the whole team and its supporters. It looks like they spent the whole offseason trying to get Taylor to play up forward and telling the guys to handball backwards as much as possible. I saw nothing to suggest our tactics had changed compared to last year - we still have trouble moving the ball from back 50. Our forward line is dysfunctional at best. Where is the improvement from last season?

To be fair we scored the 3rd most goals/behinds last season and had 2nd best % in the comp. Our forward line is not completely dysfunctional. We twice beat the team that ended up winning the flag.

But we had a shocking first quarter against Sydney in the finals which was down to the midfield. By the end we dominated inside 50s by 72 to 40 but still got smashed on the scoreboard. Again that was down to poor midfield tactics of just bombing it long and not about the forward line.

This might sound strange, but I reckon we should've tried to get Sam Mitchell, he would have us right in the premiership contention. He is still playing as an A-grader, and I think a third A-grader in the middle would have us right in contention.

Remember the last Hawthorn player we recruited, he wasn't bad, turned out to be God.
I agree with you - Bring in Mitchell and move on a b-grader like Duncan, GHS, Menegola etc. Could have put us right up there in contention. Imagine Danger,Selwood and Mitchell... Damn

Don't worry next year Danger, Selwood & Ablett :P

Good goal by Menz, but have a look at how badly burned the 3 is.
Parfitt got to a great spot, no one between him and the goals but the handball from Taylor went back to Menz instead

To quote Joel Selwood, "we started to play better when we did what we were supposed to be doing in the first place "...

Don't you think that is a direct reference to the coach setting them up for the win?

Anyone with half a brain knows this zone off, stand still, flick the ball around game style has been going on since Scott got there.
Selwood covering for Scott is testament to his character....he doesn't lay blame at the feet of others
Unless of course. you're insinuating players, week in week out, are ignoring Scotts directives. If that's the case, we've got bigger issues than a shitty game plan

Touhy was far too loose today. I have loved his pre-season but a nagging doubt about his defensive side after today.

Cockatoo is becoming a frustration, we need more than flashes. So much talent, but third year now, time to really take a game apart is overdue.

Duncan was fantastic, hopefully we can rename it Dangerwoodcan and make it a big 3.

Stanley as number 1 ruck, Blicavs back up is better system. Forget the opposition and play what suits our style, not the height of opposition ruckmen.

Parfitt very classy, but maybe not for round 1.

Anyone with half a brain knows this zone off, stand still, flick the ball around game style has been going on since Scott got there.
Selwood covering for Scott is testament to his character....he doesn't lay blame at the feet of others
Unless of course. you're insinuating players, week in week out, are ignoring Scotts directives. If that's the case, we've got bigger issues than a shitty game plan
"Week in, week out"?

Great call, was thinking the exact same thing during the 2nd half. Absolute freak to come back from 4 knees and look so good.

He is a freak , play a Pagans paddock and he kicks 70 a season.
Every games a bonus and he keeps repaying in spades , huge man love for the Menz

Good goal by Menz, but have a look at how badly burned the 3 is.
Parfitt got to a great spot, no one between him and the goals but the handball from Taylor went back to Menz instead

Happened all day. He gets to so many dangerous spots and doesn't get used. Sooner or later Parfitt will start getting a good reputation for himself and others will look for him. Could have been a 30+ disposal day today.

Mitch Duncan had 21 disposals from 50% game time again today. That's practically three games with the same dominant stats. He's in for a biiiig year.
But why is he only having 50 percent gametime? Dangerfield and Selwood had full games today. Why not duncan?

After watching that match, I was fairly disappointed in the first half, like most Cats fans, especially to be down so far against Essendon, which have improved from last season, but IMO are not a strong team at all. It was evident that once we turned the intensity up in the 3rd quarter, the game changed totally, and we took control. Dangerwood looks like it will inflict the same damage as it did last year, and are a critical cog in our team.

I thought we looked very vulnerable in defence when the ball hit the deck, especially on a fast entry from the opposition. Tuohy, Stewart and Ruggles are decent players, but I think very fast small forwards will trouble us, and that's where I think Bews provides the best defensive pressure in our team. I'd probably sacrifice a medium offensive defender for the best small defender to shut down the gun small forwards.

I also thought we didn't look that great in the forward line in the first half when the intensity of the opposition was up, in the second half we looked far more dangerous when we had control of the forward 50 entries.

Just on a few of the players, these are some of my thoughts:

1. Thurlow seemed to be getting a bit more confidence, still no where near his best, but I saw some good signs.

2. Cowan had a better game, but I do not see us winning a premiership with a player like him in the team, he has no hurt factor on the opposition, none whatsoever. He is falling over less than last year, which is the only positive thing I can see really.

3. Cockatoo was blowing smoke at the end of the game, I'm not sure he has a good tank to do extended time in the midfield. He looks like an impact player.

4. GHS seems to be ahead of Menegola right now in terms of impact, both are serviceable and linking ok, but they are not setting the world on fire and are clearly below Dangerwood.

5. Stanley is having more impact than Smith at the moment, and I'd have Stanley as no1 ruck, perhaps even with Blicavs as the 2nd ruck and utility and dropping Smith and adding another medium sized running player.

6. I'd have Murdoch on the half forward flank if Motlop can't fire. He could be ok as a scoring option and will provide defensive pressure, its his best position I think.

7. I didn't have a strong opinion on Parfitt in the first two JLT games, but I'm starting to like what I see, he looks like a cross between a Bundy and Stokesy in terms of style and output.

8. Lang drifted in and out of the game, I don't think he's the type of player that can turn the game in our favour, but he seems to link nicely when we move the ball forward and we start to get on top of the opposition.

Agreed with most of that it was a puzzling game and really apart from guys getting through you can't take a lot out of it. Nice to win no major injuries

Our midfield if we continue to over handball and teams continue high pressure on the first option forcing turnovers in traffic our transition defence got blown wide open in the first half. GHS shone through today because he was clean and hit targets on the inside which allowed us clean posessions. Really crucial to everything we are trying to do Menegola's skills let him down today I can't see any way both GHS, S.S, Menegola play in the one side they are all so similar two at most. We need some improvement and depth in this department Duncan was good we need more cockatoo, Lang, Blicavs!

Rhys Stanley became no.1 we played so much better with one of them off the field. Our forward pressure and being able to lock the ball in improved 100% when we didn't play to 3rd tall forward. Hawkins and Taylor far from quick doesn't help.

Blicavs got involved much more as 2nd ruck. As good offensively Tuohy and Henderson are from half back they just are not great 1 on 1 defenders hendo had his hands full with stewart that's a big worry. Kolodashnij is really going to have to be No.2 defender. Creates a bit of a problem because Thurlow is a bit the same more offensive than lockdown.
Is why we are hearing calls for bew's.

Taylor and enright out the generals lots of work to be done. Ruggles and Stewart have been o.k in pre-season neither did anything today to lock in a spot.

Luey went down in first and McKernan had a big impact in first half.Our ruck department with no third man rule left a few deep breath moments. Going to be a work in progress.

Dangerwood dominated in the 3rd (25) touches between them Hawkins 4 goals and we ran over a bottom 6 side. So really our top end just clicked and away we went menzel got involved more its a worry against the top teams and how easily we get scored against. Harry Taylor 2 goals in 3 matches I think. We still bombed long just hawk was on.

So many questions remain can't wait to see the Fremantle game in Perth great test first up and find out how we are travelling

The last hawthorn player we recycled was Aaron lord. So god I guess is correct.

Before him the hawkers we recruited were Loats and tim Hargreaves. Superstars those two.

But why is he only having 50 percent gametime? Dangerfield and Selwood had full games today. Why not duncan?
Someone posted in one of the other threads that Scarlett said they pulled him in the third because he was cramping, just precautionary.