hahaha

Just made a bet with a mate that Jobe Watson will play more AFL games then Nathan Ablett, what do you reckon my chances are?

It's a good and interesting bet, and one that should run for a long time.

Nathan has the star potential but in reality he's coming from a Club U18's side and has never been that enthusiastic to play.

I reckon Jobe should get at least 100 games up and that will be enough to see him over.

I reckon Nathan might lose interest and just give up footy.

hahaha said:
It's a good and interesting bet, and one that should run for a long time.

Nathan has the star potential but in reality he's coming from a Club U18's side and has never been that enthusiastic to play.

I reckon Jobe should get at least 100 games up and that will be enough to see him over.

I reckon Nathan might lose interest and just give up footy.

Dude, you are deluded. Jobe Watson is in the top 5 hacks of the AFL...

Jobe.

Ablett is a protected species (from the media), once he does something stupid which is inevitable the media will be on to it like a fat kid on a cup cake.

Nightwolf_69 said:
Dude, you are deluded. Jobe Watson is in the top 5 hacks of the AFL...

But we will persist with him.

Nathan has proven nothing, played in a 2nd rate U18's country competition and has never shown a great interest in footy.

Choota said:
Watch them slug it out in the VFL for many years to come.

Both complete duds but if you had to choose, i'd take the junkie's son. At least he's tall.

I know the facts have never worried you and you would rather shoot off mindless dribble.

But Ablett and Watson are the same height.

Choota said:

Both complete duds but if you had to choose

Perhaps Geelong and Essendon should sign them to 5 year contracts worth hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Oh no,only the Dawks are that stupid.
Ain't that right Poo Choota ?

celtic_pride said:
Probably Nat Ablett.
Jobe Watson is useless and will be delisted at seasons end.
At least Nat Ablett does have an ounce of potential unlike Jobe.

gee people can sprout off alot of rubbish, Jobe's barely had a chance to prove himself yet and people come out with this crap, Jobe found some good form towards the end of last season and was one of our best players in the final against Geelong he used the ball very well that night, he hasn't played a senior game since due to injury but if he's fit will come in this week, then hopefully he will stay fit and we'll get a chance to see what he's capable of.

JUBJUB said:
Perhaps Geelong and Essendon should sign them to 5 year contracts worth hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Oh no,only the Dawks are that stupid.
Ain't that right Poo Choota ?
Ah the surest sign of defeat on Bigfooty... bag a side that is irrelevant to the discussion.

Wouldn't advise steering the conversation the way of overpaid forwards though. Lets not forget your off-season addition or the bloke you pursued 12 months prior.

hahaha said:
Just made a bet with a mate that Jobe Watson will play more AFL games then Nathan Ablett, what do you reckon my chances are?

Seeing as I made the bet with you I reckon your chances are pretty ********!

Choota said:

Both complete duds but if you had to choose, i'd take the junkie's son. At least he's tall.

You obviously gathered that from your regular observations at training and at VFL games :D

At least see the kid play before trying to show you know somthing by copy and pasting what another BF poster wrote. Who too probably has never seen Nathan in the flesh

hahaha said:
But we will persist with him.

Nathan has proven nothing, played in a 2nd rate U18's country competition and has never shown a great interest in footy.

Firstly 98% of footballers in the Under 18 age bracket play in a second rate competition because the other 2% play in the TAC Cup! Suprisingly you didn't mention the senior games he played in the same competition which dare I say is of better standard than almost every Under 18 competition bar TAC Cup. Furthermore he refused the Falcons numerous offers to train and play at the club it wasn't like he wasn't up to the standard.

Secondly if he has never shown a great interest in the game why has he been playing for the last 10+ years? Because he hates it? He wasn't interested in playing at a higher level at the time and just wanted to play with his mates which is understandable he was a 17-18 year old kid, he has since changed his mind and hopefully will have a great career.

Thirdly what has Jobe Watson proved?

I hope you all watched the VFL on the ABC today.
Was delighted to see Ablett line up on Watson, the thought of two young, talented, F&S draft picks stand side by side was one I was extremely excited by.

Such a shame Jobe had to give Ablett and absolute footballing lesson and had him moved off him in the first quarter and then dragged. Ablett then went forward to have three very good possessions for the match, especially liked his turnover. He then went back onto Watson for another lesson. Jobe's 25 and 3 goals just didn't compare.

Longy413 said:
Such a shame Jobe had to give Ablett and absolute footballing lesson and had him moved off him in the first quarter and then dragged. Ablett then went forward to have three very good possessions for the match, especially liked his turnover. He then went back onto Watson for another lesson. Jobe's 25 and 3 goals just didn't compare.

Um.. it was the first time Ablett has played defence and he was okay on Watson.

Jobe Watson can get B.O.Gs in the VFL as much as he likes.It's a whole different standard when he plays AFL.

JUBJUB said:
Um.. it was the first time Ablett has played defence and he was okay on Watson.

Jobe Watson can get B.O.Gs in the VFL as much as he likes.It's a whole different standard when he plays AFL.

Okay on Watson?
Come on. Jobe destroyed him.
Ablett got dragged at one stage and walked off the ground. Poor form.

Jobe Watson has played good footy at AFL level. He has played good Finals footy at AFL level. And he has played dominate footy at VFL level.

I hope Nathan Ablett becomes an absolute gun. He obviously has a lot of natural talent and it would be a shame if we didn't get to see him reach his peak. However, the critisism of Jobe is completely unwarranted for someone who has played probably only played about 20 VFL games. He may not be quick, but his ball use is spectacular.

Longy413 said:
Okay on Watson?
Come on. Jobe destroyed him.
Ablett got dragged at one stage and walked off the ground. Poor form.

Jobe Watson has played good footy at AFL level. He has played good Finals footy at AFL level. And he has played dominate footy at VFL level.

I hope Nathan Ablett becomes an absolute gun. He obviously has a lot of natural talent and it would be a shame if we didn't get to see him reach his peak. However, the critisism of Jobe is completely unwarranted for someone who has played probably only played about 20 VFL games. He may not be quick, but his ball use is spectacular.
Why isn't he in the seniors then? He may use the ball well, but he's looked a bit slow at the AFL level from the brief times I've seen him.

And this will be what Jobe's 3rd season on Essendon's list? This is Nathan's 1st.

DBAH0 said:
Why isn't he in the seniors then?

Injury.
He was in our best 22 by season's end last season and played good finals football. Was picked last week, strained his quad in Sydney. Will play next week.

Jobe is in his third season, but injury has kept him to about 20 (if that) VFL games and about half a dozen senior games in that time. In his first year he would have been lucky to play six matches.

Like Ablett, Watson did not play TAC Cup footy. I think he played the first two games and then went back to school footy. So both had similar paths onto an AFL list.

It's easy to dismiss Watson's performance today as only a VFL match, but he is doing this nearly every time he steps onto the field and looks a class above that level. No doubt he would have played at the very least the last two games in the seniors if he didn't break down in Sydney. And probably would have started in the seniors in round 1 if it wasn't for a pre-season injury.