Daniher and Parish or Hogan and Oliver

• Daniher and Parish

Votes: 88 33.0%
  • Hogan and Oliver

Votes: 179 67.0%

Daniher >Oliver>>Hogan>>Parish

Even though Oliver is unprecedented, I cant think of a single player in the AFL I would swap Daniher for.

Saying that, as a combo I would take Oliver and Hogan. If it were Merrett instead of Parish there is no question, but I think the diffference between Oliver and Parish is greater than the difference between Daniher and Hogan.

Being the biased Essendon supporter that I am I'd be backing Parish to close the gap with Oliver somewhat as his body matures. He's only in his second year and I think natural development will take him to the next level - most mids don't go to that next level til their 3rd year. I don't want to underplay Oliver's achievements this year because he has been terrific and is one of those rare mids who just dominates in his 2nd year but I don't think he has as much improvement in him.

Daniher I wouldn't trade for anyone. He's got insane potential and even what he's putting on the board now is a fair ways ahead of Hogan. Hogan's had a wretched run this year and still may yet show he's capable of much more.

So I've gone for our pairing.

I would tend to rate them:
Daniher, Oliver, Hogan, Parish but just the order isn't particularly conclusive.

In my head it looks like:
Top 3 forward, Top 5 mid, Top 10 forward, Top 20 mid in respective order as per above.

Being the biased Essendon supporter that I am I'd be backing Parish to close the gap with Oliver somewhat as his body matures. He's only in his second year and I think natural development will take him to the next level - most mids don't go to that next level til their 3rd year. I don't want to underplay Oliver's achievements this year because he has been terrific and is one of those rare mids who just dominates in his 2nd year but I don't think he has as much improvement in him.

Daniher I wouldn't trade for anyone. He's got insane potential and even what he's putting on the board now is a fair ways ahead of Hogan. Hogan's had a wretched run this year and still may yet show he's capable of much more.

So I've gone for our pairing.

I would tend to rate them:
Daniher, Oliver, Hogan, Parish but just the order isn't particularly conclusive.

In my head it looks like:
Top 3 forward, Top 5 mid, Top 10 forward, Top 20 mid in respective order as per above.
Like Parish, Oliver is still a teenager who doesn't know how good he can be.

Oliver doesn't walk on the field with his chest puffed out thinking "I'm the best player out here" like a Selwood or Dangerfield. Over summer he's just thinking about trying to play round one. The fact that he's number one in the league for ground-ball gets and top 10 for every other significant stat is incredible. Mentally there is so much growth it's not funny, which is just as important as the physical maturity.

Oliver is already quick and he came second in the agility test at Draft Combine, which is a rare package for an inside mid. Physically, Oliver will grow into a beast. Imagine Oliver at 25 years of age when his body has matured with his speed and agility.

Right now, he's a kid who naturally plays within his (mental and physical) limitations. He's still feeling his way, developing his game, and trying to belong in a cutthroat AFL environment. Once he starts realising he's elite you'll see his burst speed from stoppages and a preparedness to take the game on more than he currently does. He'll be Josh Kennedy with agility and pace.

Oliver has huge scope for improvement. It's just a matter of time. Clearly Parish has massive scope for improvement too. But his stature will always limit him in a way it doesn't Oliver. I see more growth potential in Oliver than Parish.

Hogan is underrated in footy circles. He's a very different player to Daniher, but just as effective. I wouldn't trade Hogan for Daniher, because a smart thinking, pack crashing, 195cm, aggressive key forward is the prototype key forward for me. Hogan at 22 is still a baby in key forward terms and while the older Daniher is having a breakout year I'm just as happy with Hogan's progress and think he has every chance to match or exceed Daniher's career.

Sure I have a bias, but give me the contested beasts over the Essendon duo any day of the week.

What makes you say Parish > Oliver
Oliver is in the top 5 mids in the comp at the moment

I'm saying that on talent rather than output.

Parish will be special.

In before unprecedented.

I'm saying that on talent rather than output.

Parish will be special.

In before unprecedented.

I rate Parish, but what puts him ahead of Oliver? Probably a better kick from what we've seen so far (Oliver definitely overuses the ball by hand), but I think Oliver has him covered in every other area.

Bit stiff to compare Hogan to Daniher when Joey is in career best form and Hogan has had the year from hell off-field, I think Daniher will probably be the better player long-term but Hogan has gone from overrated to underrated on here IMO.

Anyway I think Petracca could be better than any of these players mentioned (Even including Daniher) so regardless of the poll outcome I'm pretty comfortable with our list atm.

Went Daniher/Parish as I am biased.

Daniher is better than Hogan right now and that is not even taking into account how Hogan will come back.

Parish is tracking nicely just behind Oliver. Too hard who to tell will be better in three years time.

Daniher > Hogan
Oliver > Parish

Daniher > Oliver > Hogan > Parish

Essendon supporters pick Essendon duo
Melbourne supporters pick Melbourne duo

Both would be happy with their duo. Still think that Parish will keep getting better and is flying under the radar at the moment. His kicking has been really good.

IMO:

Daniher > Hogan
Oliver > Parish

Having said that, all four are good and I would have any of them at Richmond.

Had to go Hogan - Oliver

The idea of Oliver and Cripps in the same midfield just makes the mouth water.

Hogan goes alright too, although as pretty much everyone agrees that Daniher is the best out of the four.

Like most in here I think Daniher>Oliver>Hogan>Parish so it's pretty close.
My bias tips me towards the Melbourne duo because I think the gap between Daniher and Hogan is only slight whereas I have Oliver a fair bit further ahead of Parish.
That is no disrespect to Parish as he will be a ripper.
Had the poll been McGrath ahead of Parish I reckon it's even closer.

Both would be happy with their duo.

Hence the reason this shouldn't be a shit fight.

Both sets of fans should be bloody stoked with what they have, and also very appreciative of the talents of the other pair.

This thread is a bit unfair given Hogan's having the shittest year possible. Daniher has 80 games under his belt compared to Hogan's 45 but they'll both be stars, regardless

Daniher is older than Hogan and is having his first year better than Hogan who has hardly played for various reasons. Yet the consensus is Daniher is clearly better? Short memories.

Parish is not even fit to tie up Olivers shoelaces.

Confident Hogan and Oliver are the best 2 moving forward

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Daniher is older than Hogan and is having his first year better than Hogan who has hardly played for various reasons. Yet the consensus is Daniher is clearly better? Short memories.

I agree that the Daniher Hogan comparison is far from over but I suggest people are choosing Daniher because he has a bigger bag of tricks.

Parish is not even fit to tie up Olivers shoelaces.

Confident Hogan and Oliver are the best 2 moving forward

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I agree, and I think that most do, that Parish is behind Oliver. Don't get me wrong, love Parish and hope he plays two hundred games with us, but Oliver is a bloody star.

But your comments re: Hogan and Daniher are ODD. It's a phenomenon I've spoken of before that basically suggests that people have an over inflated view of the 'ceiling' of kids that are very good early in their careers. That is, it's assumed they'll continue to go up even though it's possible that they just got close to their peaks very quickly.

Your contention basically boils down to, yes you agree Daniher is CURRENTLY better - barring injury or a remarkable drop in form his 2017 season output will be way, WAAAAYYYY beyond anything Hogan has ever produced - but that the consensus is wrong?

Of course the consensus is clearly correct. No matter the reasons, Daniher is quite obviously playing a level of football that Hogan has never achieved. So I don't think it is unreasonable at all to suggest that;

Daniher > Hogan
Oliver > Parish

Matter of fact, I'd almost state that it'd be unreasonable to suggest otherwise.

But as I said earlier, I don't really care. Both sets of supporters should be well happy with the two players there.

But yeah, think you're over-inflating Hogan a tad there simply because he started his career at a higher level than most young players do.

Joe Daniher and Darcy Parish vs Jesse Hogan and Clayton Oliver