Joel Bowden will not play

• Thread starter Thread starter RECORDS!

Bowden will back in next round, pick up 25 touches and have a good game and everybody will say 'Well done making the hard call Terry, Joel is back now'. When in all seriousness there is nothing stopping Bowden from hitting form this week!

IIRC the last time he was dropped he came back and won All Australian. maybe it is the wake up call that he and the other players need. No-one is indispensable.

Whatever has been behind the decision, I think Richmond should seize the opportunity to make Hutchy look stupid and play him.

Wallace over values some of the draft pick by removing one of the few strong bodied players from the back. He also trying to sabotage raines by playing him on players that are too big for him..

I welcome it,

but he better be consistent and drop some others if they continue serving up the same dros in the coming weeks

I welcome it,

but he better be consistent and drop some others if they continue serving up the same dros in the coming weeks
Not only that but JB should not return to the side straight away either, if he does play for Coburg this week and gets 30 touches, he should repeat the dose the following week, then we bring him back in. Dropping players for 1 week is hardly sending a message to the group that says play well or don't get picked. What it says is we'll drop you for a week, know you'll tear it up for Coburg and we'll bring you back in again, yet the kids who do perform week after week at Coburg are made to put up repeated good performances before even getting a sniff and then after 1 quietish game are sent straight back down again.

Wallace needs to be sacked

He has gone way to far to drop Joel Bowden and has clearly lost the plot. Bowden, whilst not at his best, has been far better then players like McMohan, Brown, Tuck, Pettifer, Tambling etc. HOW THE ____ DOES POLAK GET A GAME IN FRONT OF BOWDEN. HE HAS BEEN SHITHOUSE.
Wallace is a joke

Whilst droping Joel is not an option I would choose, answer this clever clogs : What could the result of this be?

My thoughts on some defintate possibilities
1) a clear message sent to all the senior players that no one is immune. I.e. you must work for it and play at your best, not just be better than the next bloke. (there is no doubt Joel is down on form)
2) a clear message to Joel to sort out his fitness.

It may be short term pain for long term gain.

Terry has been a fascinating coach over his career. His style at the Dogs was more fire and brimstone. He has modified his approach to more suit our side and the times. (I will laugh out loud if you think Sheeds or other top coaches would get that much more out of our current side. Maybe a few more wins? Probably not though. )

Even the best in the game had years and patches when they were in form as coaches and not so in form. If you want stabiltiy at our club and long term success, please just let him do his job and trust in the process.

Quite frankly, Terry has hardly put a foot wrong and yet gets blasted because we are losing. He has been an asset to the club.

Has anyone thought that Joel may have initiated this, yet they've named him to give him time to think about it?
He was dropped because of his sh it attitude toward Terry and the powers that be.

While u may say this is warranted,it is unaceptable for a ____ like this bitch to again
be putting his individualistic interests before the club.

He believes that he is bigger than everyone at Punt Road.

He is the biggest problem within the ranks.

Almost a Gaspar in that if he was droped again,he wouldnt play magoos.

arseh*le

Yer agree ox one those players who does not seem to be a team man totally out for himself time for the club to move on from him if he cant get with the programe.:thumbsu:

I'm amazed Wallace is still coach, Surely Sheeds could be in place within a week.
He could be, but the thing is we don't want him, would do an even worse job

Would be very, very surprised if Bowden wasn't back in the team next week. Wouldn't think he would have to play more than one game in the magoos (provided he plays well of course).

Also, I would have though the likes of Polak would be dropped before Joel. What's his excuse...at least Joel is coming to grips with a new position. I mean really, Joel has been playing solid footy down back for many years now, and all of a sudden he's being asked to play a creative role up forward. Fair enough, the better players would adapt very quickly (Goodwin - 7 goals) but I think there are a few others that should consider themselves luck not to have had their heads on the chopping block.

If Polak doesn't show anything against his old side this week, think he will be next. and who knows, perhaps mcmahon will follow the week after we play the doggies...

It is beyond belief that J Bowden cannot get a game in the tigers line up.

A. He is not far from being your best ball yser
B. Even when he plays average he still gets lots of the ball which is more than can be said for many of the other players.
C. He got touched up by 'the hurst' which to be honest was a stupid match up in the first place

It is beyond belief that J Bowden cannot get a game in the tigers line up.

A. He is not far from being your best ball yser
B. Even when he plays average he still gets lots of the ball which is more than can be said for many of the other players.
C. He got touched up by 'the hurst' which to be honest was a stupid match up in the first place

The decision wasnt enitrely performance based.:rolleyes:

now terry has axed joel which i take my hat off for doin. he must now axe other big names players for not performing. johnson and brown would have to be next off the rack. and i dont care evan if richo isnt doin much hes gone too.

best thing terry has done since he arrived at the club IMO.

our senior players let us down big time last yr.

THE FISH ROTS AT THE HEAD

you guys are all being sucked in! Hutchy, FFS!

how gulible are you blokes.

Joel will be lining up against the dockers!

so we will find out at 5pm tonight if he is playing? He will play i reckon but apparently he didnt get on the plane.

now terry has axed joel which i take my hat off for doin. he must now axe other big names players for not performing. johnson and brown would have to be next off the rack. and i dont care evan if richo isnt doin much hes gone too.

best thing terry has done since he arrived at the club IMO.

our senior players let us down big time last yr.

THE FISH ROTS AT THE HEAD

Only if its not tokenism mate. Let's see how it pans out?