Injury Joel Corey - groin strain

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

Doc Larkins on TSFS just listed JC as in doubt for the prelim, saying we had a big training session on Friday and he didn't participate.

Im not overly concerned with him not taking part in the main high intensity session... Why would he? He is likely to be on his own program to have him cherry ripe for this week.. Wouldn't have thought u would flog him on the track Friday in case he does break down, nothing to be gained from doing that!
Corey is naturally fit and prepares better than anyone so he will run the game out, if he doesnt train in our main session this week then there should be cause for concern.
Scott said he would play, we haven't played ducks and drakes as much this year with injuries so I take him on face value, unless of course Corey has had a setback since then... Barring any setbacks 95% sure I reckon he will play!

Im not overly concerned with him not taking part in the main high intensity session... Why would he? He is likely to be on his own program to have him cherry ripe for this week.. Wouldn't have thought u would flog him on the track Friday in case he does break down, nothing to be gained from doing that!
Corey is naturally fit and prepares better than anyone so he will run the game out, if he doesnt train in our main session this week then there should be cause for concern.
Scott said he would play, we haven't played ducks and drakes as much this year with injuries so I take him on face value, unless of course Corey has had a setback since then... Barring any setbacks 95% sure I reckon he will play!

I hope you're right. Franklin barely trained during the week but looked OK on Friday night so that is giving me some hope. I would still be relatively confident facing WCE without Corey - our midfield smashed Hawthorn without him, and Hawks' midfield is better than WC's - but he would be absolutely essential the following week, if we make it.

Watching WC last night , I actually think they will bet tempted to play Dasher.

WC are a taller group and Dasher would be a handy matchup. Tough bugger Dasher , and if need be , will throw a few spanners in the clockwork and no doubt feels he has a point to prove.

Don't ask me who goes out but as Menzel is out , if Corey is a nogo , then Dasher would not be a bad option. He is capable of being that mid range forward marking option too , but his real advantage is guile in mid area and down back, very cool and with no brakes on his physical assertions then he may bring a Rooke like toughness which fews others can.

It looks straightforward to me.

Either Menzel out, Corey In.

Or Menzel out, Stokes into the team, Milburn sub.

Isn't Menzel out already? Or are you just saying it in this way to display what the papaers would say? Also, Doc Larkins should have his comments taken with a grain of salt. Says this stuff all the time and did with Buddy. Look what happened.

You wouldn't imagine Corey would take part in a full intensity training right away......we would back his fitness in but if he is hindered in anyway (as was case last year) then we might think twice. I'm still taking the word of Chris Scott and believe he will play, but i think we would rightfully have some concerns if he doesn't get up, WCE should not be taken lightly and clearances win finals football.

If they're concerned he can't run out a full game on Saturday, I wonder if they'd play him as the sub?

Don't think they can take the risk, what if we get an injury early.

He's a critical player, I don't envy the call they have to make, but we could get seriously burned if we pick a player who we know can't play a full game.

Would be risky.

Probably Milburn or Byrnes Sub, If he doesn't come up.

Byrnes has as many injury ? as JC do, so Shagga is no chance. Milburn yes, will play if JC doesn't.

They surely won't take a risk with an injured player, but they would back in an underdone Corey given that he has got good natural stamina.

Milburn would be the obvious inclusion if Corey isn't right....Milburn would be a perfect sub. Bundy, Duncan and Chapman would just have to spend more time in the midfield. However, i still think Corey will get up.

They surely won't take a risk with an injured player, but they would back in an underdone Corey given that he has got good natural stamina.

Milburn would be the obvious inclusion if Corey isn't right....Milburn would be a perfect sub. Bundy, Duncan and Chapman would just have to spend more time in the midfield. However, i still think Corey will get up.
Does the saying go something like - if people say something often enough and with enough conviction it'll be swallowed.:rolleyes:

To say Dasher would be the "perfect" sub just runs completely counter to the type of player used by the elite level clubs week-in-week-out. You need an impact player who can be inserted into the game with a minimum of disruption to the team, particularly if an injury occurs early on.

Again, look at the type of player used as a sub by the elite clubs. They are not aging, slowish, one position players.

Disagree, Dash has been good as a sub in the past (rnd 1 anybody?) and is able to have a direct impact on play given he can go harder over a shorter period - and we all know dash goes in pretty ****ing hard!

He is able to make an impact forward or back and his decision making and calm under pressure could be a huge asset in a pressure final. Running players are all well and good, but an over-enthusiastic turnover is as damaging as anything and sometimes the team can really benefit from hardness and experience.

Does the saying go something like - if people say something often enough and with enough conviction it'll be swallowed.:rolleyes:

To say Dasher would be the "perfect" sub just runs completely counter to the type of player used by the elite level clubs week-in-week-out. You need an impact player who can be inserted into the game with a minimum of disruption to the team, particularly if an injury occurs early on.

Again, look at the type of player used as a sub by the elite clubs. They are not aging, slowish, one position players.

I agree Milburn is not the perfect sub,but can play that roll being versatile a good reader of the game and capable of getting in to a game quickly.

Given you and I would want to give our best 21 maximum game time I only see Milburn or Burnes as options this campaign, Have I missed some one?

Disagree, Dash has been good as a sub in the past (rnd 1 anybody?) and is able to have a direct impact on play given he can go harder over a shorter period - and we all know dash goes in pretty ****ing hard!

He is able to make an impact forward or back and his decision making and calm under pressure could be a huge asset in a pressure final. Running players are all well and good, but an over-enthusiastic turnover is as damaging as anything and sometimes the team can really benefit from hardness and experience.

Yep! We disagree. And so do the other teams cos they don't use aging, slow, one position players as I've suggested. Using him as a sub in an inconsequential game is way different from when and where it counts.

Love Dash and what he's done for us. But if he's to play it has to be as part of the back half set-up cos he matches up well. Not as a sub.

Reckon Corey will play - as he is such a good clearance and tackling player for us.Against the Eagles we will need him - and even more so against the Pies.

If he has some doubt over him perhaps he could be a sub ?

Reckon Corey will play - as he is such a good clearance and tackling player for us.Against the Eagles we will need him - and even more so against the Pies.

If he has some doubt over him perhaps he could be a sub ?
What about Corey replacing Menzel? Directly, as a marking forward flanker.Not as clearance player given his lack of training recently. We have Kelly, Selwood, Bartel,Ling, Bundy as mids anyway, Chappy/SJ/Stokes go through as well. We are well served, and did beat Hawks in that area without Corey.
And Corey is a much better kick for goal than he is around the ground, and an excellent mark. Hard to man up on in the forward line.

History say Corey is not up to the task of being Menzels replacement.

Never kicked more than two in a game , is only an ave. kick for goal , cant say I can remember him taking to many 1o1 marks within 30m of goal for a setshot. His game is dynamic and built for the midfield. Bartel is far more versatile.

Its a problem , Menzel really was playing beyond his age and we have no obvious plug and play replacement.

History say Corey is not up to the task of being Menzels replacement.

Never kicked more than two in a game , is only an ave. kick for goal , cant say I can remember him taking to many 1o1 marks within 30m of goal for a setshot. His game is dynamic and built for the midfield. Bartel is far more versatile.

Its a problem , Menzel really was playing beyond his age and we have no obvious plug and play replacement.[/quote]

Watch for Mitch Duncan to play more forward this week,put him down for 3.

Little bloke named Paul Chapman might disagree with that TurboCat.

That is why Corey is bloody essential.....if he is fit, then Chapman spends less time in the middle and more time up forward. Scott has already flagged this before and Chapman's game against the Pies in rnd 24 was all the proof needed to see he is at his damaging best with more forward line time.

Any actual news on Corey at the moment....i hate bloody rumours and would love to hear if he has actually hit the track at all over the last week?

This article was published this afternoon so I imagine it would be a recent quote from Balme.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/09/18/eagles-sweat-on-kennedy-scans/

Geelong expect veteran midfielder Joel Corey to make his return after recovering from a groin injury that has sidelined him since Round 21.

"We're very happy with the way he's going," Cats football manager Neil Balme said.

"I don't think there's a lot of doubt on him."

The whole thing is quite bizarre. I just can't believe the foot rumour, and that the club could keep it silent for a month now without any journos finding out. And I can't accept that Scott and Balme would flat out lie about it (Scott clearly said on Tweet the Coach leading up to the QF that it was a groin problem, not a foot problem).

I know JC trained in the week leading up to the QF, not sure whether he has trained since. Doc Larkins seemed to base his assessment on the Sunday Footy Show on the fact that he didn't train on Friday as opposed to any sort of inside knowledge.

Seems we will be in the dark yet again until the team is announced on Thursday.

Yep! We disagree. And so do the other teams cos they don't use aging, slow, one position players as I've suggested. Using him as a sub in an inconsequential game is way different from when and where it counts.

Love Dash and what he's done for us. But if he's to play it has to be as part of the back half set-up cos he matches up well. Not as a sub.

I disagree with you as well.

Milburn was used as a sub against the Hawks earlier in the year to great effect. The channel 7 commentators made mention of his impact.

He slots in without taking any time to warm up, he's a steadying influence and in the past has proven to be more than adept when thrown forward, too. And he's not slow.

Hence, perfect sub.

This article was published this afternoon so I imagine it would be a recent quote from Balme.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/09/18/eagles-sweat-on-kennedy-scans/

The whole thing is quite bizarre. I just can't believe the foot rumour, and that the club could keep it silent for a month now without any journos finding out. And I can't accept that Scott and Balme would flat out lie about it (Scott clearly said on Tweet the Coach leading up to the QF that it was a groin problem, not a foot problem).

I know JC trained in the week leading up to the QF, not sure whether he has trained since. Doc Larkins seemed to base his assessment on the Sunday Footy Show on the fact that he didn't train on Friday as opposed to any sort of inside knowledge.

Seems we will be in the dark yet again until the team is announced on Thursday.

:D good...that's exactly how we want it to be as West Coast will be trying their best to find out news on Corey too so they can study all week and assign the right player to him as he had about 30 disposals last meeting in Subiaco. Wonder if Scott rests him again and gives Bundy a good chance to again play out another full game in his 2nd final.

Guess we won't know until he lines up on saturday, but at least the suggestion from the club is positive.

Very important player, and I couldn't emphasise enough how important he will be structurally.

As for Milburn as a sub; Who has played sub and when this year....Milburn has been good twice (St Kilda and Hawthorn) and am pretty sure he has played a few other times as sub. The other big sub player has been Bundy and Byrnes. I don't think any other team has found an effective tactic....running players seem to be the standard, but i don't think it has necessarily worked that effectively. A lot of players who are coming on as sub's are getting the ball with fresh legs but are turning it over with poor disposal as they are not quite within the heat of the game.....anyways, just an observation/

hopefully joel corey plays!! if he does, he boosts the chance of the cats winning :D

I disagree with you as well.

Milburn was used as a sub against the Hawks earlier in the year to great effect. The channel 7 commentators made mention of his impact.

He slots in without taking any time to warm up, he's a steadying influence and in the past has proven to be more than adept when thrown forward, too. And he's not slow.

Hence, perfect sub.

Okay! Dasher isn't slow. He still has the versatility to be used in a number of positions. The Channel 7 commentators say it worked when it was tried. Did Bruce add he was special btw? I'm convinced. He's the "perfect" sub.:rolleyes:

Doesn't get caught often, and his decision making is first class blended with the cunning that only experience brings.
Would be a great sub, no doubt.:thumbsu: