Coach John Longmire - Part IV

Poor Dewy.
I had hope for that club but the AFL will pull the plug on them IMO.
9 years in & they can't keep losing players like Ablett, JOM, Prestia, Lynch, Caddy, Saad, Dixon, May etc, etc.
They are all still playing & would be tge nucleus of a club challenging for flags as we speak.
They won't pull the pin. The numbers of kids taking up aussie rules is bigger than SA and NSW . There was a great interview with Michael Barlow on SEN talking about it , they will be okay.

Club stability is important. As soon as their pres came out with his pleas for help a few weeks ago, the players have come out & dished out two of the worst performances by a team in years, back to back. The club has lost those players, let alone the coach. They won't exist in the same form in 5 years. Stewy Dew won't get another gig ever again either.
I tell me kids there are just two rules, life's not fair and it all about timing.

Lucky timing Longmire
Unlucky timing Dew

How would GC going with Longmire.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

I tell me kids there are just two rules, life's not fair and it all about timing.

Lucky timing Longmire
Unlucky timing Dew

How would GC going with Longmire.

About how they went with eade

2 steps to fix Gold Coast.

1. Academy players cost you your next draft pick. That’s it. None of this points crap. Get local kids playing for their local club and the local community will develop ownership of that club.

2. Move the club to a more central position on the coast. Somewhere like Southport or next to the Casino. Give the tourists a chance and you’ll have 5,000 walk ups to each home game.

Tom wants to be CEO of the AFL so he is a company man. Take much of them with a grain of salt.

So he's pretty much like Brendon Gale at the Tiges.
Cool!
Glad to have him at the top then.
I think it's time we stop blaming people at the top & time we shone the torch on the blokes that are supposed to get the job done out on the field. I had a good look at the replay this morning & geez Lloyd gets an unfair hard time on here. Yes he gets a lot of disposal, which is his job as it was Newmans, but his work in that last quarter along with Zac Jones, Ramps,Aliir & Heeney was really the only serious effort from our players to get back into the game.

We don't know who is carrying issues into games but it's time now to send players with major ones off for their surgeries etc in order to hit pre season in tip top shape for next season. At the same time we'll discover some leadership qualities of those younger one's remaining & we'll see what $ they are worth in our system going forward if worth it at all. I noticed COR let Silvagni turn into a superstar a few times there & a few other more senior players getting caught with the ball too easily suggesting their time is fast approaching the end.

2 steps to fix Gold Coast.

1. Academy players cost you your next draft pick. That’s it. None of this points crap. Get local kids playing for their local club and the local community will develop ownership of that club.

2. Move the club to a more central position on the coast. Somewhere like Southport or next to the Casino. Give the tourists a chance and you’ll have 5,000 walk ups to each home game.
It's only 10 minutes by bus from the casino. Location is fine, Robina is geographically the centre of the Gold Coast. Agree with point 1.

Tom wants to be CEO of the AFL so he is a company man. Take much of them with a grain of salt.

I hope he gets to be the head honcho of the whole thing. In my opinion it would be the best possible thing that could happen to the game to have a CEO that understands the issues of the interstate teams and more particularly the northern clubs.

It's only 10 minutes by bus from the casino. Location is fine, Robina is geographically the centre of the Gold Coast. Agree with point 1.

But that's the problem. You have to get on a bus. And I guess you would if they were in Southport too. But every time I'm up there it just has the Waverley Park feel about it. The ground is nowhere. Also like ANZ in Sydney. I just feel as though if the ground was in a more central area in terms of entertainment, you might get those extra walk ups. "Shopping this arvo, Darl? No worries, I might wander down and catch some of the footy. I'll meet you at the Yacht Club/Casino afterwards."

Seriously don't think it's an issue TBH, the Goldie is made up of Vics and Nswman who follow there own club whether it be league or Aussie rules. I've got a heap of mates from Sydney living either there or the sunnycoast, some of them been there for 30 years and they still follow the teams they grew up with, none follow the Titans either. You can't manufacture loyalty over night, it's gonna take a long time. The game is growing leaps and bounds in SE Qld, it's the kids playing now they need to be GC Suns members for life. The GC and sunny coast leagues and their juniors are very strong and expanding all the time.

Okay, average ladder position over the course of his time as a head coach?

Who gives a s**t about average ladder position over his tenure?

I'm 32 years old, my average age over my lifetime is 16.5

Doesn't meant I can play in the U17's

The only season that matters and the only ladder position that matters is the current one.

He's performing poorly, and got an extension.

If you want go back and think that 2011-2016 affects what's happening in 2019, be my guest.

His average ladder position in 2019 is 14th.

His average ladder position from 2017-2018 is 6th, but that's irrelevant to 2019.

Fun Fact: I had a very well performing investment in 2012 which I sold in mid 2017. If I calculated over the average value over the last 8 years I'd be pretty happy.

Nevermind the fact that it crashed in 2018 and is now pretty worthless.

But hooray for looking at things that happened over 3 years ago and making decisions instead of what's happening right now.

Who gives a s**t about average ladder position over his tenure?
Who gives a s**t about his ladder position at one point in one season? That being said, I'm not the one who asked for ladder position as a measure.

Finals played, finals won, overall record, tied second most flags won of any coach (though with a better record than all but one) all point to him being one of the elite coaches.

Maybe yes, maybe no.
Horse is the man now but we can still have a change in assistants.

I wonder what the contractual situation is with our assistants?

Johnson, Cox and Kennelly (1 in seniors) have been here two years.
Kirk has been here four years.

Blakey, a long time.

Wonder if we will see some change this year.

I wonder what the contractual situation is with our assistants?

Johnson, Cox and Kennelly (1 in seniors) have been here two years.
Kirk has been here four years.

Blakey, a long time.

Wonder if we will see some change this year.
Well Tigers kept Hardwick but rang in the changes to assistants. Maybe we really need to be aggressive there.