Coach John Longmire

Is it time to think about a change up top?

• No - I don't want to financially cripple the club

Votes: 0 0.0%

Brendan McCarthy did a good job rebuilding the Dogs and handed Bevo a true work in progress.

Just one thought. I mean there are options everywhere. That ex carlton guy whose name escapes me assistant to Clarkson is not terrible and I thought hard done by.

I voted to not sack Horse btw.

I want him to evolve and win the players back.
Brett Ratten is the name you're after. Don't reckon he was hard done by tbh. Never took the club to where the board thought they were and his last season they finished 10th

If we were going to get a new coach I would rather it be someone outside of the club tbh, or at least someone who wasn't trained under the Paul Roos academy. I'd like someone who was new altogether and could get us out of this ridiculous culture where being a Blood means it doesn't matter how slow or unskilful you are so long as you're tough and tackle hard.

Our opinions aren't worth much though because Horse is staying for a few years at least
Would agree with looking outside our ranks. That said, the Roos academy has provided us a lot of good times.
Just find it interesting that the 7 year mark is when both coaches witnessed a slide on performance.

Would agree with looking outside our ranks. That said, the Roos academy has provided us a lot of good times.
Just find it interesting that the 7 year mark is when both coaches witnessed a slide on performance.

I don't think it's just Roos or Longmire-specific. The game itself generally changes and evolves every 5-7 years which is why I've always felt like a coach should never stick around too much longer than that. Even if you won three or four flags in a certain era with a certain team that doesn't guarantee you won't become the worst coach of the next era with a different team.

JB: Hows Buddy

JL: Going well. He needs to improve defensively. He needs help forward and hopefully will get it in the next couple of weeks

Fair dinkum, one of the few going hard, asked to play in wrong position, like REID

Done with him. Longmire loves playing poker machines. If it all comes together I will win the jackpot.

If you play the same machine (game style) you win one flag/ jackpot every millenium.

Talking about defence.

He doesnt know anything about attacking and thats why he hardly talks about it.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

JB: Hows Buddy

JL: Going well. He needs to improve defensively. He needs help forward and hopefully will get it in the next couple of weeks

Fair dinkum, one of the few going hard, asked to play in wrong position, like REID

Done with him. Longmire loves playing poker machines. If it all comes together I will win the jackpot.

If you play the same machine (game style) you win one flag/ jackpot every millenium.

Talking about defence.

He doesnt know anything about attacking and thats why he hardly talks about it.

Agreed. It's why Aliir is playing in the NEAFL and one of our quickest mids in Edwards hasn't gotten a sniff behind guys like Foote and Fox. His view is if they can't do the defensive things well they aren't best 22. Guaranteed if Aliir played under Clarkson but wasn't doing the one-on-one stuff great, he would have found a way to utilise the things he DOES do well (like intercept marking and exiting defence) rather than just dropping him.

Aliir was turning it over in the seniors after they rushed him back in.
Edwards is at his third club on the rookie list.

Aliir was turning it over in the seniors after they rushed him back in.
Edwards is at his third club on the rookie list.

And Grundy and Smith weren't? Anyone with eyes could see Grundy and Smith have cost us more games than Aliir, but whose the first one dropped? The only one of the three who can do something extra beyond defending

Players play through pain all the time, and it's laudable, not selfish.
No. If you contribute nothing. It is selfish.
Check Presti from Collingwood.

Its all about the team. Just another injured player that added nothing.

Parker, Mcveigh, Mills, Tippett, Naismith and probably more.

The coaches stuffed it.

Nankervis & Marsh had to play.

Some players lift but we will never know.

And Grundy and Smith weren't? Anyone with eyes could see Grundy and Smith have cost us more games than Aliir, but whose the first one dropped? The only one of the three who can do something extra beyond defending
The last one in, first one out theory.
These 2 look real slow without ramps mopping up. Guessing they were selected purely on being old

Play Aliir and he keeps turning it over and hope that Grundy and Smith can cover up his turnovers.

FFS stop adding answers to the ****ing poll.

I don't wish to sack Longmire, but if we did I'd hope we would go after Camporeale. Did well for his 11 games in charge at the Crows and as midfield coach of them has done wonders to turn them around with Danger having left the team.
The playbook of Walsh is getting a fair bit of use at AFC. Wouldn't expect Campo wants to be a senior after seeing what the role demands also

Talking about crap. Are you so naive that you think players are trained to spoil each other ? You've missed the point entirely. The definition of stupidity is posting something repeatedly, with little or no supporting argument, just because others do.
I dont think you even watch games.

It is coaching. Longmire demands players maximum at all times and the players believe the coach wants to either mark or spoil everything.

It happens every game.

I watch 6-7 games a week

FFS stop adding answers to the ******* poll.

The additional options are valid, this thread is generating a lot of discussion as people have different points of view, it's a forum FFS ;)

Start your own poll then FFS

The worlds greatest midget won 2 flags after his best player walked!

Im just saying the reason why people doubt him

He has fallen short more often than not

Prelims arent the goal

No one said dud except for you

You say something made up then attack it

Your interpretation of what makes a good coach changes depending on who you are talking about.
You should become an AFL umpire. :p

If you were to sit down and write a list of goals or aspirations that you would set for an incoming coach then I would strongly suggest that what Mr Longmire has achieved would easily clear that hurdle. Won a flag still in the development stage ( Like Clarko) , 2014 we played our best footy under his reign (sans the first month), the one time in our recent history where we (supporters) were confident of beating the mighty mighty Hawks in the big dance. Cruelled by injury in 2 years (2013/2015) and got robbed in 2016.
If you look at it objectively , that is a damn fine coaching record.

He is not perfect by any means, being slow to adapt is one of his shortcomings. But he is calm and a no-BS type of guy that would do a good job moulding a young group such as ours.

What we have been missing more than players in forward 50 is a strong leadership group. Macca/KJ have been only so-so as captains IMO. This whole mental capitulation started in the 2014 GF and the leadership group haven't done anything about it since.

The playbook of Walsh is getting a fair bit of use at AFC. Wouldn't expect Campo wants to be a senior after seeing what the role demands also
Using knowledge from previous coaches and building upon it. Isn't that what all coaches do?

Plus he's openly said he wants to be a senior coach one day. Just not when it arose at the Crows

Your interpretation of what makes a good coach changes depending on who you are talking about.
You should become an AFL umpire. :p

If you were to sit down and write a list of goals or aspirations that you would set for an incoming coach then I would strongly suggest that what Mr Longmire has achieved would easily clear that hurdle. Won a flag still in the development stage ( Like Clarko) , 2014 we played our best footy under his reign (sans the first month), the one time in our recent history where we (supporters) were confident of beating the mighty mighty Hawks in the big dance. Cruelled by injury in 2 years (2013/2015) and got robbed in 2016.
If you look at it objectively , that is a damn fine coaching record.

He is not perfect by any means, being slow to adapt is one of his shortcomings. But he is calm and a no-BS type of guy that would do a good job moulding a young group such as ours.

What we have been missing more than players in forward 50 is a strong leadership group. Macca/KJ have been only so-so as captains IMO. This whole mental capitulation started in the 2014 GF and the leadership group haven't done anything about it since.
Our leadership has literally been the one constant we've been able to hang our hat on for the last decade? If anything, it's without KJ / Macca this year that weve looked like a popped balloon

McCartney did a great job probably lost the players because he was so tough on their development.

I was thinking more of the Demons where they churned through a few rookies who looked good on paper.
Yeh but Demons list was a disaster and at the time of the coach churn management was worse.

We have a good list and strong back office.

Because we are dealing with people nothing is certain but we would probably get better results.

Who knows though. All just guesses.

Can say though, bit tongue in cheek, no one could do worse at the moment.