jimmy_clement#8

Colorado, Cardiff City
Don't think its been mentioned yet, but Bruce Eva iterviewed him about 40 mins ago and from what i get from John, he doesn't have anytime for the Brisbane Lions, so why would Marc want to go up there? He said a decision would not be made until as late as possible, they probably want to see the draft order first and see how many victorian teams make up the top ten. Summing up, if it was John's decision, he wouldnt go.

scooter600x said:
Right now, I'd bet Murphy won't be going to Brisbane.

I am thinking along those lines as well. His father has no love for the Lions,claims that they arent Fitzroy, so that takes the father /son out of the equation. If a Vic club tells him it will draft him , why wouldnt he stay at home?

i dont think he will go to brisbane and i dont think he wants to go to brisbane otherwise he probably would have said he was going already. When do the father/sons have to be anounced by?

cogs24 said:
i dont think he will go to brisbane and i dont think he wants to go to brisbane otherwise he probably would have said he was going already. When do the father/sons have to be anounced by?

as late as 3 weeks before this year's National Draft.

of course they can chose to commit to an eligible father/son team from as early as right now.

has this kid got his thinking right, not that l'm a fan of the Loins but surely you'd want to play for them as opposed to Carlton?

should he get drafted #1 or #3, playing for the Scum is a punishment at the moment not a reward for the best young kid in the U/18 competition.

:eek:

He sounds like is father has alot of influence on his life, which for any team is not going to be a good thing, I am afraid.

Beggars belief that if you had a choice to play with the likes of Voss, Black,Power,Brown and co, against playing for Carlton or Hawthorn.mmmm.He could learn so much, have a great independant lifestyle in the warmth all year round.Amazing football facilities,and you are able to live a normal life,go to Uni and no one knows who you are.you can just be yourself and enjoy playing you footy.

campbell said:
Beggars belief that if you had a choice to play with the likes of Voss, Black,Power,Brown and co, against playing for Carlton or Hawthorn.mmmm.He could learn so much, have a great independant lifestyle in the warmth all year round.Amazing football facilities,and you are able to live a normal life,go to Uni and no one knows who you are.you can just be yourself and enjoy playing you footy.

Or he could stay at home and get regular senior football. And I think he'll be okay for facillities if Carlton/Collingwood/Essendon/Hawthorn draft him.

So what if Port or Freo draft him.

The facilities at the Gabba are the best in the AFL.
Their physios and sports physc are from the Olympic teams.
They have an indoor pool, they have a fully equiped operating theatre onsite in case of emergency during any match.
They have player welfare structures in place that every player is invovled in a varitey of indivisual structured things ie Uni,TAFE,part time work.So they develop not only as Footballers but as human beings.
They have a fulltime Nutrionist to help these guys learn to cook and whta they need to eat and why.

If he wants to do Law or something he will get into Uni, and have a support network in place for his studies, his footy his personal life.

Plus lucky bugger would be in the starting 11 in the Monday cricket comp at Brownies place.

Marc has a choice to make. Stay in his comfort zone in Melb and play in struggling side with lesser facilities, coaches and players. Or go to one of the most successful club of the modern era and play with champions under a champion coach. The only thing he will miss is the hype of playing footy in Melb.

I know what I would do, especially given how the young lions have played this season. I could take going to the hawks, but the blues are well off the pace.

jimmy35 said:
His father has no love for the Lions,claims that they arent Fitzroy, so that takes the father /son out of the equation. If a Vic club tells him it will draft him , why wouldnt he stay at home?

Only time will tell, but I think you have summed it up pretty accurately here. If you have the opportunity to stay in your hometown with the support of your family and friends why would you choose to leave? The only reason would be if Brisbane meant a helluva lot to the family and if Marc wanted to follow his old man's path but it sounds as though they have no ties to Brisbane as it is.

And people who ask why you would want to go to Carlton or Hawthorne ... well it's clear that with the draft system these days, that teams go in cycles. I would have thought it would be pretty appealing to start out in a side where there is a good chance you will be part of building a young side for the future and playing your whole career with them. Such as what the Saints and Cats are doing now.

All in all, it would be a good result for the Melbourne clubs down the bottom if he decided to stay home. Because even if you don't draft him, it creates a flow on effect where there is more quality at the top end of the draft to be shared around. I.e If Carlton finished bottom and picked up Murphy, I'm sure Hawthorn would still be very happy because they then get to pick up the kid who may have otherwise gone #1. I hope that the Blues and Hawks are working together to convince him and the family that he should stay in Melbourne.

Dubya Smith said:
Or he could stay at home and get regular senior football. And I think he'll be okay for facillities if Carlton/Collingwood/Essendon/Hawthorn draft him.

also with the comfort of having his family with him and his friends he has grown up with all his life.

theorangeapple said:
Marc has a choice to make. Stay in his comfort zone in Melb and play in struggling side with lesser facilities, coaches and players. Or go to one of the most successful club of the modern era and play with champions under a champion coach. The only thing he will miss is the hype of playing footy in Melb.

I know what I would do, especially given how the young lions have played this season. I could take going to the hawks, but the blues are well off the pace.

Arrogant call mate. Just plain arrogant.

Taken from this article on foxsports website :

But Murphy Snr said last night his son was no closer to making a decision that could impact heavily on the draft pecking order.

"It sounds silly, but we haven't even discussed it," Murphy Snr said.

"We spoke to Brisbane weeks ago and asked them to leave us alone until after the (national under-18) carnival, which they've done, and that's happened to other clubs as well.

"If Brisbane wants to do something (with him) then we have to make up our mind up if he wants to go there or not.

"But he won't be making any decision until after the footy season."

Murphy Snr, who played 214 games for Fitzroy, said he would not influence his son's decision. "I'm not going to make any comment about my personal feelings, it's his decision one way or the other," Murphy Snr said.

"If clubs do want to talk to him, they'll talk to me and his mum and him, but the final decision will be his. It's his life, not ours."

It's funny. there's seems to be a certain percentage of people who seem to be hoping he's not coming to Brisbane. Most of these seem to be Collingwood supporters. Not saying that all Collingwood fans are hoping against hope he doesn't join the Lions, just that those saying he won't come seem to be dominated by Pies fans.

Now, i've got no idea if Marc will come up here or not. And I'm sure Marc will probably ask his fathers advice at some stage. But I'd imagine his advice will be what's best for Marc's football career. All I can say is we'd love to have him!

Ipaidmy200in89 said:
Arrogant call mate. Just plain arrogant.

Well which young players do the blues have?? Even Walker hasnt performed upto expectations. They have alot of dead wood. At least the hawks have some young talent; Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Roughead, Lewis. The blues have Fevola, Waite and Walker.

theorangeapple said:

Imagine how Judd felt after being overlooked by the Saints and Hawks and then being drafted to Perth! :eek: Especially after the sacking of Judge and the appointment of Carlton's assistant coach as his replacement. :cool:

theorangeapple said:
Well which young players do the blues have?? Even Walker hasnt performed upto expectations. They have alot of dead wood. At least the hawks have some young talent; Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Roughead, Lewis. The blues have Fevola, Waite and Walker.
Russell,Hartlett,Blackwell and Raso are all players who haven't debuted so it's a furphy the club doesn't have youngsters.With possibly the first pick in the PSD, the club will be in a good position to land an uncontracted player through a trade or for nothing.

cypher said:
Russell,Hartlett,Blackwell and Raso are all players who haven't debuted so it's a furphy the club doesn't have youngsters.With possibly the first pick in the PSD, the club will be in a good position to land an uncontracted player through a trade or for nothing.

I didnt say you had no young players. You have the youngest list in the AFL. Its just the quality of them and how many of them are going to be topliners?

theorangeapple said:
I didnt say you had no young players. You have the youngest list in the AFL. Its just the quality of them and how many of them are going to be topliners?

You're the one making the judgements.
You tell us.
How close are they?
Are they being nurtured or rushed in?
Where will they play and what positions in the VFL are they playing?
Who is ahead of who?

No, I didnt think so. :rolleyes:

The Flying Belgian said:
Taken from this article on foxsports website :

But Murphy Snr said last night his son was no closer to making a decision that could impact heavily on the draft pecking order.

"It sounds silly, but we haven't even discussed it," Murphy Snr said.

"We spoke to Brisbane weeks ago and asked them to leave us alone until after the (national under-18) carnival, which they've done, and that's happened to other clubs as well.

"If Brisbane wants to do something (with him) then we have to make up our mind up if he wants to go there or not.

"But he won't be making any decision until after the footy season."

Murphy Snr, who played 214 games for Fitzroy, said he would not influence his son's decision. "I'm not going to make any comment about my personal feelings, it's his decision one way or the other," Murphy Snr said.

"If clubs do want to talk to him, they'll talk to me and his mum and him, but the final decision will be his. It's his life, not ours."

It's funny. there's seems to be a certain percentage of people who seem to be hoping he's not coming to Brisbane. Most of these seem to be Collingwood supporters. Not saying that all Collingwood fans are hoping against hope he doesn't join the Lions, just that those saying he won't come seem to be dominated by Pies fans.

Now, i've got no idea if Marc will come up here or not. And I'm sure Marc will probably ask his fathers advice at some stage. But I'd imagine his advice will be what's best for Marc's football career. All I can say is we'd love to have him!
What a ridiculous statement! You sir are an idiot, can you provide any evidence for your steaming pile of excrement of a post?