Jonathan brown

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Good to see that 'cheap shot' Burns has tried in two GF to take Brown out of the game, and both times has ended up being absolutely bathed and finishing the game a loser. Scott Burns plays some good football, but struggles when the heat is on.

Eh? You do relise they were both fair?

Originally posted by tigerman
It was interesting to hear Dean Laidley say before the game, that he reckons that Brown is a better player than Carey was at the same age.

I must admit i agree with him.

I don't.

I rate Brown throught the roof, But Carey was faster, more athletic, better leap, better field kick and wasn't drafted into the best side most of us has seen.

Brown is special, but when the downright spiral begins up there, it will be interesting to see his game evolve.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
I don't.

I rate Brown throught the roof, But Carey was faster, more athletic, better leap, better field kick and wasn't drafted into the best side most of us has seen.

Not to mention that Carey was also better with his teammates wives...

TO be honest, and I am sorry for the chep shot, they are both equally as great as players but your superlatives about Carey are just somewhat over the top. (My cheap shot may have been too.) They are both guns and both are big game players and it is a lot harder to separate them at the age of 21 then you make it out to be.

I am not sure which one is better but they are both phenomenal football players.

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Not to mention that Carey was also better with his teammates wives...

TO be honest, and I am sorry for the chep shot, they are both equally as great as players but your superlatives about Carey are just somewhat over the top. (My cheap shot may have been too.) They are both guns and both are big game players and it is a lot harder to separate them at the age of 21 then you make it out to be.

I am not sure which one is better but they are both phenomenal football players.

Nah, don't apoligise. You are obviously a frustrated but genius individual with unrivalled wit and timing. Seriously......

Not easy to seperate them at all. Physically, Carey has it all over him at the same age IMO. Brown is playing in a handy side. Carey took over as captain (at 21 BTW) at a mess of a club. Slight difference, and makes comparisons incredibly hard.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Nah, don't apoligise. You are obviously a frustrated but genius individual with unrivalled wit and timing. Seriously......

Not easy to seperate them at all. Physically, Carey has it all over him at the same age IMO. Brown is playing in a handy side. Carey took over as captain (at 21 BTW) at a mess of a club. Slight difference, and makes comparisons incredibly hard.

Great to see that you do not take things personally.

I admire Carey what he has accomplished just as much as I admire Brown for what he has done. It also happens that considering I do not support either side and therfore I am probable more objective.

Agreed that Carey had more responsibitly thrust upon him at a young age but so had Brown. Do not forget he has played in three Grand Finals and was a key contributor. Infact Brisbane did not come close to playing in GF until he started playing in the forward line and at that stage they had such great names as Molloy and co. Yes Lynch was around but he was croppled by CFS through out 2001. Brisbane was not really recognise as a super team until middle of last year, they were considered a good team only.

Carey V Brown

You are splitting hairs, guys both sensational players.

Who would I have wanted in my team either would do but the truth is that power forwards like these two only come along once or twice in a decade.

Originally posted by Monocle
Carey V Brown

You are splitting hairs, guys both sensational players.

Who would I have wanted in my team either would do but the truth is that power forwards like these two only come along once or twice in a decade.

AGREED. You speak much wisdom for one so young and inexeperianced...:D :cool: :D :D :D

For Lions' fans, JB is what it's all about. Putting your head over the ball, committing the body and presenting for your mates. Note his Brownlow votes - two THREE votes v Pies. He takes the big hits - there's a pattern emerging with Burns. Two GFs - two hits on JB - two losses.

You can keep your Careys, Tredreas - even your Clokes. JB has footy written all over him, it's in his soul and he always steps up. 3 flags at 21 ain't bad.

think you should wait another 6-7 years before you even consider comparing brown to carey.
sure, brown is a good player, courageous, and someone i admire. but carey is among the best players of all time. brown has a long way to go yet.

So you reckon Burns' hits over the past 2 GFs have been fair.

Lets back track 12 months, he was charged for striking, because he left his arm out and clobbered Brown. Irresponsible, very Roccaesque...

This time he takes his eyes off of the footy and lifts his arm into Brown, either a strike or a charge, your call.

If Brown had have made contact with his elbow, he would have left a crater in the back of Shaw's noggin. He may have clipped him with his tricep.

But he got up and picked up a premiership medal, well done Burns you talentless hack!!!!!!

I think Collingwood were scared, they lacked the discipline to watch the footy, they concentrated on the man. Both Lappin and Brown were targeted, but both played far better footy than 3/4 of the Collingwood outfit. Even though they were targeted and had broken bones. Makes you wonder about the heart shown by the Magpies.

I think the funny thing is that Burns actually thought he could take brown out of the game

talk about David vs Goliath, with Goliath the clear victor and David the little loser

Re: Re: Number 16 will be numero uno

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Ha
Players like pavlich and Brown come across every 2-3 drafts if your lucky.
When the top pick is tipped to be a midfielder then players like Brown and Pavlich are worth more than the top pick.
I would also add polak to that list to.

You would. I'd take brown by a mile over either of them any day.

Originally posted by tigerman
It was interesting to hear Dean Laidley say before the game, that he reckons that Brown is a better player than Carey was at the same age.

I must admit i agree with him.

Laids how could you say that? I've lost some respect for you football nouse coach.

In 1993 (when Carey started the season as a 21y.o.) he was made captain of the club, kicked 60+ goals from true CHF, won the club b&f, was All Australian CHF and the man himself acknowledges it as his best ever season.

Brown's dad is a fair dinkum tool. have a sook mate. if i was Burns, i'd publicly tell the old tool where to go. geez. i think jon boy's big enough to take care of himself.

Brown - dont beleive the hype.

Look Brown *IS* the best CHF prospect. A good player who will go on to be a better one.

However, Presti beat him well and truely on Satyrday, look we're not talking about a close game, he was playing CHF for a side that won easiliy, but he didnt get any decent touches tell the last quarter party time. He's a great player and I'd love to have in in black and white, but effect on saturday's result - ZERO.

And in the previous game after Presti went onto brown after half time I think Brown get like 3 posseions when in the first half he was raunning rampant and threatening to tear collingwood apart.

Scott Burns, people trashing burns here should just pause refelct on his career and think before opening there mouths, a fair harder player is hard to find. Terry Wallace said tonight he spent quite some time analyzsing the burns-brown hit and he was convinced it was totally fair.

Originally posted by speedy
Laids how could you say that? I've lost some respect for you football nouse coach.

In 1993 (when Carey started the season as a 21y.o.) he was made captain of the club, kicked 60+ goals from true CHF, won the club b&f, was All Australian CHF and the man himself acknowledges it as his best ever season.

Well said. Carey had a team and a game plan basically built around him. Brown is a sensational player and will continue to be for many years, but I don't rate him anywhere near as high as Carey. He might prove me wrong in the years to come and I welcome him to. But imo Carey is the King and will always be.

Originally posted by speedy

Brown will never do what Carey did in 93

Carey at his best was very physical and intimidating, but also got the ball, kicked goals and took a hell of a lot of marks. Brown is physical and intimidating but does not get enough of the ball, kicks few goals, and doesn't have near the same impact or disposal skills as Carey. Brown will never be Carey, his skills are not in the same league. Thats not a criticism though, because Carey is an all time great. In my opinion the media became Brown obsessed a couple of months ago and people have started to get carried away with him ever since.

And Carey wasn't the only great CHF to win a best and fairest as a 21 year old :)

Re: Number 16 will be numero uno

Originally posted by bulldogs54
People have been suggesting what kind of player would be worthy of trading pick 1 for, and I reckon Jon Brown and maybe Matthew Pavlich would be the only two I could think of.
Don't really understand this. Who would you be getting for pick 1 that would be better than the rest of the players in the AFL. That a player like Black. He's a bit older than 18 but with an 18 y.o. midfielder you'll generally wait 2 to 3 years before he is really a solid contributor and it is unlikely he'll be better than Black ever. Take Judd. He looks to have it all before him. He is worth pick 1 because he will be very good and the early hard yards have already been done. There are probably well over 20 players worth pick 1. If they are no more than as good as the best kids available for draft they are ahead because of the development that has already been invested. Add to that the increased certainty of the player already with a few years in the system. It isn't about how many years you get out of a player but how long they play at the top level when you are looking at very early draft picks.

Brown
27 goals
173 kicks
126 marks
286 disposals

Tredrea
58 goals
255 kicks
198 marks
385 disposals

It's easy to get excited about Brown because he is so athletic and does some very impressive things on the footy field. In terms of consistency and match-winning performances, Tredrea is miles ahead.

Brown's reputation is still largely based on potential rather than performance. He is several years younger than Tredrea and will almost certainly improve over the next few seasons but to suggest he is a better performer than Tredrea is simply a case of promoting anti-Port rubbish.

P.S. I am not a Power supporter but know talent when I see it.

Its worth noting that Tredrea matched him three seasons ago (more goals a couple less marks) when he was the same age as Brown and playing in the 14th placed side with ordinary delivery and no other full time key forwards.

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
Brown's reputation is still largely based on potential rather than performance. .....to suggest he is a better performer than Tredrea is simply a case of promoting anti-Port rubbish.
Errr ... isn't footy a team game ? Who would you want to have with you in the trenches in the GF ? The bloke with THREE medals who takes all the hits and keeps going or some wannabe who hasn't found his way to that particular kitchen, let alone felt the intense heat in there.

How much more potential do you need ? You all miss the point here - he's not Carey, he's not Tredrea or Jack Dyer for that matter. He's forged his own reputation and the results are in the trophy cabinet. No bigger buzz this year for Lions' fans - his first quarter v Pies in the Heritage game.

Originally posted by OldLion
Errr ... isn't footy a team game ? Who would you want to have with you in the trenches in the GF ? The bloke with THREE medals who takes all the hits and keeps going or some wannabe who hasn't found his way to that particular kitchen, let alone felt the intense heat in there.
Congratulations mate, I think you just devalued every Fitzroy player that never played in a GF.

How much more potential do you need ? You all miss the point here - he's not Carey, he's not Tredrea or Jack Dyer for that matter. He's forged his own reputation and the results are in the trophy cabinet. No bigger buzz this year for Lions' fans - his first quarter v Pies in the Heritage game.

If my team had Voss, Akermanis, Lappin, Johnson, Black, etc. I don't think it would matter too much if you had Tredrea or Brown at CHF, you'd still win a few flags.

Every Fitzroy player who never played in a GF would follow JB in a flash.
I dare say most of them would also know enough about football to know that Tredrea is still a fair way ahead of Brown in terms of output and consistency. If you want to talk about taking your hits and playing on, Tredrea is a role model for this.

Jonathan brown