Jonathan O'Rourke

He does a lot of running that goes unrewarded. Constantly makes leads and provides options that more often than not aren't honoured. You can almost always seem him near the ball, but he doesn't go into the cold face to get it. I'd figure he's instructed to be the link player once the ball is won at the cold face. During our third quarter burst, the sheer amount of running he did eclipsed even that of Hill and Smith. He got sold into danger a few times by his teammates aswell.

More often than not though we lose it at the cold face. More often than not he isn't used even when in good positions. More often than not this means he doesn't rack up the disposals, doesn't look flashy and looks to be a dead weight. He's not explosive or quick: I'd liken him to a Jordan Lewis. Problem is, he's being utilised as a Bradley Hill.

It's 'coal face'. As in ..... a coal mine. Sorry I had to get that off my chest.

Cannot believe he was pick #2...whilst he might still turn out to be a serviceable player in the future, that is all he will be. He has abolsutely no x-factor. He's not quick and his skills are not up to AFL standard. I have seen a heap more from Lovell, Stewart and Howe. There is still Willsmore & Woodward waiting for a shot as well. With the "oldies" going around again next season and if one of Tom Mitchell, Crouch or Omera land at the club next year, O'Rourke will be playing at Box Hill next season.
Nothing wrong with him playing vfl. Will be his third season and give him that apprenticeship. Don't be too concerned. 1 preseason. allow for him to develop has had injured plagued career. get two more pre seasons in to him and we will see what he has in him :)

He's not a pick 2 player. He's a pick 18.

Based on his output so far and his potential I think he's about at that value.

He's about the same output of Anderson with probably similar scope in terms of improvement.

I'll be interested to see if he's playing next week. Hartung, Woodward, Stewart, Lovell and others all have a claim to that spot - so whoever is in it needs to be performing. I want to see one more game.

He's an enigma thats for sure.

He seems to be clever enough when he gets the ball, he just doesnt get near enough.

12 touches 1 tackle today. Just not enough of it.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Guys.... Hope springs eternal...but .... He is not going to make it.

There's no X-factor, no relentless pressure, no clinical disposal.

Heads out of the sand. Langers every day of the week for mine.

The player you describe seems to be Cyril and there's only one of him in the league. Pull your finger out and let the boy develop in his own time. Making brash calls of failure doesn't win you fans or make you look any more informed than those of us who reserve judgment and criticism

One point I get stuck on when watching, and I'm sure it's from instruction, is he is always sitting off the pack when he is much better inside.
I would prefer he is given a bigger bite of the biscuit from the senior guys & told to go inside a little more. Not to change up coaching instruction but the old "go have a crack! I'll be coming past or cover your exit" a couple of more times a quarter is priceless in developing the confidence in a young player.
This also gives confidence to others that guys like Hodge, Mitch & Lewis have confidence in him & that others can have the same.

Seems to be some genuine reasons to wait and get a little excited and also some to stop and judge him harshly.

As this is essentially his first year or at least his first real crack at it, Ill be very interested to see what his next year entails.

We dont have to write him off anytime soon so why would we?

I must be the only one who is moderately pleased with him. This is his second crack at it this year and he looks muchmore comfortable at the level. He is a young player FFS so to expect him to star is ridiculous. He will be up and down like all youngsters. I can see what he brings and he is going to be a valuable player for us.

One point I get stuck on when watching, and I'm sure it's from instruction, is he is always sitting off the pack when he is much better inside.
I would prefer he is given a bigger bite of the biscuit from the senior guys & told to go inside a little more. Not to change up coaching instruction but the old "go have a crack! I'll be coming past or cover your exit" a couple of more times a quarter is priceless in developing the confidence in a young player.
This also gives confidence to others that guys like Hodge, Mitch & Lewis have confidence in him & that others can have the same.

Have you considered that the coaches are doing this to sharpen his outside game? Much like they do by playing young forwards in defence?

I am bemused by the negativity about JOR. there are many gun players that have taken a few years to come good and as Roger said, he has been smashed by injuries and is probably two years behind in his development. Based on that I really like what I see. He is smart with the ball and seems to often pop in the right place at just the right time. Sure, he turned it over a bit agains the Blues but he wasn't alone there.

Give him time, he will be a very good player.

I don't mind how he is progressing, the more game time he gets will grow his confidence and he will start demanding more of the footy. He is playing his role, do you think Clarko's gives two shits that he isn't getting 30 possessions agame? Probably not but 1 tackle is poor and would raise Clarko's ire. Sure we could put him on a back flank and accumulate uncontested possessions like Birchall or we can back him in as part of our long term midfield.

Why do people keep bringing up a single stat from a single game. Lewis had 1 tackle yesterday, so did Punky and Swiss.
Brand and Doc had 0 tackles, most of the team had 2 tackles. It wasn't a big tackling day from Hawthorn. Not was it a high possession day.
Why pick on a kid with less than 20 games who has only played 6 times this year when the whole team was down on effort

Glad that he is stringing a few games together and assuming Shiels is still a week away, would like to see him play again next week v Dees.

I do admit I'm a little concerned with his development, I know he is only 22 and played just 17 games, but I haven't seen anything that he does above average. Having said that, I'm sure the coaching staff know what he is capable of and isn't just getting games for the sake of it, so happy to give him another few years, and hopefully he can break out once he reaches 50 odd games.

Have you considered that the coaches are doing this to sharpen his outside game? Much like they do by playing young forwards in defence?

I am bemused by the negativity about JOR. there are many gun players that have taken a few years to come good and as Roger said, he has been smashed by injuries and is probably two years behind in his development. Based on that I really like what I see. He is smart with the ball and seems to often pop in the right place at just the right time. Sure, he turned it over a bit agains the Blues but he wasn't alone there.

Give him time, he will be a very good player.
I'm a fan mate! All I was getting at was that he isn't used as much as he probably should in general play as the trust doesn't seem to be there from the other players & that what I suggested might fast track that as well

Why do people keep bringing up a single stat from a single game. Lewis had 1 tackle yesterday, so did Punky and Swiss.
Brand and Doc had 0 tackles, most of the team had 2 tackles. It wasn't a big tackling day from Hawthorn. Not was it a high possession day.
Why pick on a kid with less than 20 games who has only played 6 times this year when the whole team was down on effort

I for 1 am in his corner. He has a massive tank and a equally massive work rate, what he is struggling with at the elite level is understanding the flow of the game. At VFL level he has mastered it, he gets to the right spot, he's comfortable with the pace, in short he has clocked it at that level.

What we don't do is give up on a kid who is just behind Izzy/Hill/Billy in running ability, we don't give up on a kid who is elite in and under by hand, we don't give up on a kid who is ice cool under pressure and can snag a goal. He needs to develop the instincts and ability to read the game at the elite level, once he gets that we should have a very good footballer.

Anyone have an idea what his salary might be. Like others I noticed that time an again he makes good postion and is ignored. Maybe some are upset of his salary, maybe it is his a personality.

I reckon his salary would be below the average, so no dangers there...

Jonathan O'Rourke