Opinion Jordan Schroder

geelong
where do you believe he will end up as a player?

from seeing him play, he doesnt seem to have any real outstanding natural abilities or traits to me.. not overly quick, an above average kicker or the ball, an alright mark for his size

im not sold if he will make it as an AFL player or not, or at least become a quality one

what are others thoughts on him?

he seems to be behind a lot of other younger players at geelong which is always a bad sign as well

Genuine inside mid who can roll forward and knows where the goals are. Picked last week ahead of Caddy who is the most similar of the young ones so not sure he's that far behind. Playing consistently well for a youngster too.

Will only get better with senior games under his belt, and I see him as part of the puzzle looking ahead to life without JC. Has the tools to become a regular and free up Joel and Bundy to play more outside. Credit to Wells and our development given he was a mid 50's pick iirc.

Jury well and truly out. Has some attributes - good inside, goal kicking mid, aggressive streak - not sure though whether he is going to be good enough to be an AFL regular though. Still young and hopefully is given more time to develop. My main concern is his aerobic fitness. Does he have the tank to play midfield successfully?

Nobody was expecting him to set the world on fire against the Bombers, and he didn't. Fulfilled expectations and played a solid game I thought without doing a whole lot.

Most young players don't develop good disposal and overhead abilities overnight. You can't really definitively judge players on their skill level after one game. He'll begin gaining those things, along with some other stuff, as he accumulates game time and experience.

One thing he adds is a strong body, hard edge, and good physical presence which will suit him as an inside mid. Speed I'll give you, he's not a very quick player and probably never will be, but that isn't required as much as a strong body for the role he plays.

apparently he had 13 pressure acts on Friday night, if that is the case, he's definitely got one hell of a tank and should have no worries running out games.
That illustrates he is defensively switched on when he does not have possession of the ball and this is the one attribute all coaches love to death.

Shouldn't forget the strong tackle in front of goal either, where he hit and held hard and forced the error from a bigger, stronger player. And converted.

He's 20. Ask me again in 4 years. That's when he should be playing AFL. Not now.

I see him as potentially ending up being similar to a David Johnson. A solid depth player who remains on the list for a fair amount of time but plays the majority his career in the VFL. I think he'll end up being too good to delist, but not a star who can regularly crack the best 22. Ultimately becoming a great servant of the club who plays less than 100 games of senior footy.

Jury well and truly out. Has some attributes - good inside, goal kicking mid, aggressive streak - not sure though whether he is going to be good enough to be an AFL regular though. Still young and hopefully is given more time to develop. My main concern is his aerobic fitness. Does he have the tank to play midfield successfully?

Me too. Reckon that's his major obstacle.

Has some good skills if he can find the fitness level.

I see him as potentially ending up being similar to a David Johnson. A solid depth player who remains on the list for a fair amount of time but plays the majority his career in the VFL. I think he'll end up being too good to delist, but not a star who can regularly crack the best 22. Ultimately becoming a great servant of the club who plays less than 100 games of senior footy.

I was thinking he has a few Max Rooke parallels. When Max started, he was not super fast, not a high pick and didnt start with a bang. We must remember that not every Wells pick is going to be a Selwood type star. Plodders can have just as much success but in different ways

Back to Schredder, i feel his strengths will be inside, defensive, goal sneak type player. He might even turn into a run with lock down type as he gets bigger and a better tank...

Im 1/2 full but i think there is a future..

Go Catters

Kid can play but, as others have pointed out, needs to build up his tank.

He loves a contest, is a pretty reliable shot for goal and can clear the ball from a stoppage.

Yeah, he makes mistakes but don't we all?

The OP spelt his name correctly which was nice though.

Hard to assess on two games.

For me he is still in the same bracket as players like Stringer and Sherringham. Not outstanding but has shown something.

The kid is only 20, his consistent good form in the VFL shows he has improved from last year.
Playing as an inside mid who can kick goals his tank must be reasonable and will improve with more games and a few pre seasons.
The tempo of the seniors caught him out a bit but that's to be expected ..Same applies to Murdoch,Smedts and Caddy early on.
Can take a strong mark his kicking has penetration ,knows were the goals are.
Will keep improving and has shown plenty of determination and aggression on the field.
Many good points there, so lets judge him in a year or 2

Pretty long kick and good strength and physicality could be our new Max.

Defensive forward + part time mid

He's played two games of senior footy! Much too early to tell, but he was impressive against Essendon.

Nah,going by the OP's theory if they aren't superstars after a game or two they should be thrown out on the scrapheap.They would dumped Scarlett after his first few games.

He's 20. Ask me again in 4 years. That's when he should be playing AFL. Not now.

If we're still asking in four years, we'll already know the answer. He's got this year and maybe next year to become a senior player. So he needs to make significant inroads this year.

I was pretty happy with what he provided on Friday night. I think the obvious role he can play in our team is a forwad pocket/on-baller, a similar game-style to Chapman. I also think he could clearly have value to us as a designated sub (especially if they expand the bench to something like 3 I/C-2 sub). He did ok on Friday, but I don't think there's any guarantee that he will hold his spot, considering the players we have trying to get back into the team.

I think ultimately, the decision on whether he gets a fourth year could come down to the number of retirements we have. In that regard, he's in a similar position to 3-4 other young players on the list.

So hard to tell with him, needs to go back and dominate in the two's.
His second senior appearance was so long from his first that it would've felt like a debut, it's hard to make an instant mark like that, but Thurlow did better IMO.

I was thinking he has a few Max Rooke parallels. When Max started, he was not super fast, not a high pick and didnt start with a bang. We must remember that not every Wells pick is going to be a Selwood type star. Plodders can have just as much success but in different ways

Back to Schredder, i feel his strengths will be inside, defensive, goal sneak type player. He might even turn into a run with lock down type as he gets bigger and a better tank...

Im 1/2 full but i think there is a future..

Go Catters

Didn't Max play on and take Boomer Harvey to the cleaners in his 1st game (or one of them) He started out pretty well ;)

I have never really rated him as a chance to become a senior player, but a few things caught my eye Friday, when Hibberd kicked that goal on the run Schredder went the full dive across his foot desperately attempting to smother, he didn't get it but I loved the intent. The way he pinned Carlise and caught him holding the ball right before half time was impressive, and also right before Kelly went thru Goddard I am pretty sure it was Schredder going hard as hell at the ball that went thru him 1st... Love his desperation and attack on the ball.

I know that RaptorRoj really rates him as a mini or jnr Chappy

Could he play run with roll this week i dont no just want to see what you guys think.

Just don't think he could play that way he's more offensive, that's why I'd be more confident with Guthrie, schroder's virtually inexperienced by comparison and the Pies mids are battle hardened.
He could be sub again, at least he'd be in.

a few things caught my eye Friday, when Hibberd kicked that goal on the run Schredder went the full dive across his foot desperately attempting to smother, he didn't get it but I loved the intent. The way he pinned Carlise and caught him holding the ball right before half time was impressive, and also right before Kelly went thru Goddard I am pretty sure it was Schredder going hard as hell at the ball that went thru him 1st... Love his desperation and attack on the ball.

To me these acts are what stood out about his game.

Based on the OP one could argue Jordan Murdoch has done just as much (or as little), despite having played more games.

The little banana attempt he did the other day made me think he has a way to go , to be mentioned as a Chappy like player.

Still , I'm less concerned with his stamina etc than others , what I want to see is impact. He must find a way to influence the game. Is he an inside player , a defensive mid , a running goal kicker , a forward pocket ...he has traits as all of those but he must show something , he hang his hat on it or he will just get lost in the array of talent that we have.