Jordie Gysberts = Gun

I think the most impressive thing about this kid is that he looks ready to play at this level despite being skinny as

i think he shows considerable composure seems to have that extra half a second that pendelbury finds

he has super clean hands which i remember hearing somewere that he rated number 1 in that draft for that skill

i think he is gonna be a genuine star because i believe both him and jones were taken as pick 12, but as a pure footballer gysberts is miles ahead of jones who would have just pushed up due to , strength, weight, running capacity etc

Bit harsh on Blease who hasn't had an opportunity to show anything yet

Stauss has played a handful of games, and has looked out of his depth, but time will tell

Love Gysberts though, a great extractor.

Personally I thought he should've played against the Hawks - even if it was as the sub

One of our only clearance players who I reckon could compete against Mitchell etc.

Bringing him on in the 2nd half against Hawthorn could've made a huge difference. We were completely decimated in the centre and needed someone who could combat that

strauss to me just feels like he will be one of those very good vfl players but average afl players who has his moments but never is a solid 22 member ( but could always be wrong i said the same about dunn, bartram )

blease obviously missed a whole year and was already a skinny kid so id be willing to give him more time .. he certainly has some toe from what ive heard

Just throwing a few names around here, that could have replaced Strauss/Blease.

Shuey, Ballantyne, Jack Trengove the first, Nick Suban, Jack Redden, McKernan, Beams, Hanneberry, Jordan Roughead, etc. That's a bit depressing. I know our two have had their injury problems though. Just think they lack obvious credentials that our recruiters should have noticed.

I still want to give strauss/blease time however strauss is starting to get very worrying, some of those players taken behind him are very good.

I looked over the drafts of the past 10 years the other day...our recruiting from 2000 - 2005 is nothing less that pathetic! It's no wonder we have struggled over the past few years.

Who was our chief recruiter at the time?

there is a gysberts thread on carlton board some are starting to question gthe trade while others are still holding on to the slim hope that mcclean will come good

Blease will make it if he has a good run with injury. Never seen Strauss though. Gysberts is already as good as most 100 gamers.

There was no guarantee Calton would've taken Gysberts anyway. I'm pretty sure most pundits were surprised Gys was taken so high and Melbourne's opinion that he was the 4th best mid in the draft wasn't widely shared so it's nice to see him proving he was deserving of such a tag. Also, Melbourne's glee at taking Tapscott when they thought he'd be gone seems well placed too.

Yeah apparently they would have taken Lucas anyway. Also read somewhere that we were privy to info about Gysberts being injured during the year of the draft which may be why we rated him higher than some other clubs. Either way, i'm glad we've got him.

Blease will make it if he has a good run with injury. Never seen Strauss though. Gysberts is already as good as most 100 gamers.

if u dont mind me asking mate, says ure a hawthorn supporter? what do u no about blease???

strauss probably needs to be given a go forward of centre before we give up on him completely

I didn't notice him much on the day, but just watched the replay again and he was terrific. He won plenty of ball around the clearances, wasn't afraid to go in and win the ball, and he used it well, even in the rain.

In his four career games, he's racked up 26, 27, 10 and 25 touches. That's fantastic for a young, skinny kid. I hope he gets +15 games this year, because he looks a class act.

Getting just a wee bit excited over our future midfield with Scully, Trengove, Gysberts, Bail, McKenzie and the likes of Grimes and Tapscott off half back.

So glad that Gys has picked up exactly where he left off & the injury doesn't seem to have affected him much.

Not just good picks from that draft, but picks with varying strengths, Run all day, goal kicking strong marking, clearance specialist & tough nut booming kick.

Still have very high hopes for Blease myself, if he can stay on the track. I'm starting to think Strauss is just an athlete & won't become the footballer they'd hoped, happy to be wrong

Just had a look back to prior to the '08 draft, in a prior life I watched a lot of TAC cup footy when Melbourne was struggling. I was in the BF phantom draft picking for the demons, in that Blease went at pick 11 to the Pies (sidebottom already gone). Matt Burgan rated Blease at pick 13 & a BF poster (Snoop) who knows his juniors put him at pick 11, a sample of his comments "Pies take Blease here and get arguably the kid with the most upside in the draft. Wonderful mover and is just a pleasure to watch. Can do some amazing things on the footy field." Strauss on the other hand, did go pick 18 in the BF phantom, but pick 34 in Burgan's & Pick 38 in Snoop's mock.

Read into it what you will & opinions are like assholes, but Blease was seen as possibly higher & a steal at that pick & Strauss was the speculative pick that some clubs rated about where we took him & other's a lot further down list. Blease has been cursed by injury & was a bottom aged draftee, Strauss by mediocrity. If they don't work out I think Blease will be bad luck that he couldn't overcome injury, Strauss a failed pick

So glad that Gys has picked up exactly where he left off & the injury doesn't seem to have affected him much.

Not just good picks from that draft, but picks with varying strengths, Run all day, goal kicking strong marking, clearance specialist & tough nut booming kick.

Still have very high hopes for Blease myself, if he can stay on the track. I'm starting to think Strauss is just an athlete & won't become the footballer they'd hoped, happy to be wrong

Just had a look back to prior to the '08 draft, in a prior life I watched a lot of TAC cup footy when Melbourne was struggling. I was in the BF phantom draft picking for the demons, in that Blease went at pick 11 to the Pies (sidebottom already gone). Matt Burgan rated Blease at pick 13 & a BF poster (Snoop) who knows his juniors put him at pick 11, a sample of his comments "Pies take Blease here and get arguably the kid with the most upside in the draft. Wonderful mover and is just a pleasure to watch. Can do some amazing things on the footy field." Strauss on the other hand, did go pick 18 in the BF phantom, but pick 34 in Burgan's & Pick 38 in Snoop's mock.

Read into it what you will & opinions are like assholes, but Blease was seen as possibly higher & a steal at that pick & Strauss was the speculative pick that some clubs rated about where we took him & other's a lot further down list. Blease has been cursed by injury & was a bottom aged draftee, Strauss by mediocrity. If they don't work out I think Blease will be bad luck that he couldn't overcome injury, Strauss a failed pick

To be fair Strauss has had his fair share of injuries too, with shoulder reconstructions and the like. I just hope he comes on like Suckling from Hawthorn who was previoiusly considered nothing but an excellent kick and now seems to have come good after 5-6 years in the system.

I quoted a dude that mentioned Craig Cameron. He is now at Richmond. We recently recruited those players.

Seemed obvious.

not the main board mate :thumbsu:

Gys!!! A gun title of thread says it all.

As for Blease and Strauss. Let's hope they turn out better than our last consecutive mid-teen picks...

2002 Draft
Pick - 14 Daniel Bell (Glenelg) Melbourne
Pick - 15 Nicholas Smith (Norwood) Melbourne

Gys!!! A gun title of thread says it all.

As for Blease and Strauss. Let's hope they turn out better than our last consecutive mid-teen picks...

2002 Draft
Pick - 14 Daniel Bell (Glenelg) Melbourne
Pick - 15 Nicholas Smith (Norwood) Melbourne
lucky for us they werent consecutive mid teen picks!!

Conca? Please, some of us do watch football. He may turn out to be a fine footballer, but he has looked out of his depth in the last couple.

How many shots on goal did Milney have on him? 12?
Conca over Heppell, Cameron should be sued considering the damage he has done to both Melbourne and Richmond.

do you disagree that dustin martin is a good footballer? why cant i mention his name? he shag your missus as well?

Stick to the god damn topic for once, the topic is gysberts not martin, dont be a twat