Josh Fraser to Be Named Collingwood Captain

Collingwood are in a no win position here.

There is NO good captaincy candidate.

Burns: highly respected but only 1 year left. Probably best choice.

Fraser: weakest big man in the league. poor body language. uninspiring. was trade bait at the right price. NO

Maxwell: has the right qualities but very little football ability. Richie Vandenburgh. Halfway thru last year was lucky to be getting a game.

Lockyer: Embarrassing that he is even a rumoured candidate. Imagine being led into battle by Tarks. NO

Rocca: Erm NO.

Shaw: Has the pedigree. Is a promising player. Could be a dark horse but can't see him as the figurehead,spokesman and spruiker of the Manchester United Football Club....oops sorry Collingwood.

Pendlebury, Thomas: In a few years.

Good luck Pies.

I met him at a Port footy function, he was there with his young missus who is from Port, he was sitting at our table, when he spoke, he sounded very timid, Im not having a go at him, as he seemed like a nice guy, but he didnt have that 'auora' or 'presence', etc, well, you know what I meen!
Hopefully for the pies, he has developed in this area, as I cant imagine him being a 'leader' of any sorts!

The big question is........Is his mrs hot?

Fraser: weakest big man in the league. poor body language. uninspiring. was trade bait at the right price. NO

Maxwell: has the right qualities but very little football ability. Richie Vandenburgh. Halfway thru last year was lucky to be getting a game.

Lockyer: Embarrassing that he is even a rumoured candidate. Imagine being led into battle by Tarks. NO

Shaw: Has the pedigree. Is a promising player. Could be a dark horse but can't see him as the figurehead,spokesman and spruiker of the Manchester United Football Club....oops sorry Collingwood.

Good luck Pies.

Its really amazing how little you know about Collingwood, yet comment as if you know heaps

how do you disagree Murray?

your thoughts?

Fraser is NOT a ruckman, we just use him there. He is a tall onballer, which he will 'revert' to now that Wood is on our list.
He will be captain.

Burns would be my choice but with only a year left, we are looking for a long term prospect.

Lockyer is one of the hardest working players we have and is much liked by his team mates.

Heath Shaw is a 'natural' leader and may well get his chance in later years, in any event he will be in the leadership group as long as he plays at Collingwood.

Rocca is a great leader as is seen as such by the group, it was HIS decision not to be apart of the leadership group so that people like Shaw and Maxwell could.

There is NO ONE tougher at the pies more than Maxwell. He will be a Vice Captain if not this year then soon after.

Here endeth the lesson

Not knocking Maxwell's attack on the ball.

But he seems like one of the least intimidating hardmen to have played the game. He's the sort of player, that if he tried to rough you up, you would almost start laughing. A bit like if Mark Bolton tried to get into someone.

As I said, not knocking his football ability and toughness, although I think it is questionable. He needs to stop trying to bully people on the field, and focus more on his footy. If you've got it you've got it, and Maxwell don't got it.

Murray Murray Murray....it seems we mostly agree more than disagree.

I never said Josh was a ruckman. i said he was the weakest BIGMAN. and he is. yes he can play a bit but he is essentially a big man. He is no Dean Cox or Adam Goodes. If you think you can play him as an onballer without detriment to his fragile body and your teams performance then i think we differ.

We agree on Burns.

Lockyer is hard working.Yes. Lockyer is liked by his teammates. Yes. Is he captaincy material in any form? NO

We agree on Shaw.A good member for the leadership group? Yes. Captain and club leader and public figurehead and spokesman? NO.

Rocca? Mick desperately wanted him to be a leader. He is not. He is what he is.

Maxwell. yes he plays tough. Yes he looks like he is a good leader. But he is an ordinary player. If he was playing VFA footy with Willy he would be a perfect captain. But he's not.

Oh my that's a really bad call.

Maybe they reckon Maxwell is still too young to take it on, as he would have been the logical long term choice.

No he wasn't as he isn't a good enough player and he is 25 this year so he's not exactly young. F me if every player who makes a good tackle has their status raised like Maxwell has with Rooke tackle there would be no average rated player's left.
Fact is Maxwell is an average player that gives his all who struggled for half a year before coming good latter in the season, he struggles to contain genuine KPP and plays loosley to be 3rd man up which usually leaves his opponent free. He is currently playing the J.Cloke role and only averaged 11 disposals p/game (which is quite low for a HBF which he is).
What he has going for him is a great work ethic, vocal and never takes a backwards step imo he would make a great VC but not good enough to be captain (he would be our Richie Vanderberg).

Good luck Pies.

Actually Terry, I think that is a reasonable summary, Clement's retirement has thrown our succession plans out. I think we have heaps of great future leaders, but none of em have played more than 60 games. I think you are a little OTT about Josh but I dont disagree with the tenor of your comments. He is a good player but needs to get harder. Maxwell seems to be rated higher by non-collingwood supporters then the B & W faithful. I guess you guys notice the brave sacrificial acts, but dont notice him getting carved up by the likes of Matt Bate or Mitch Clarke.

I'd definitely give it to Burnsy, He is the best candidate my a mile. Its short term but buys us time and who knows, with another season under their belts, maybe someone from our golden generation (Pendlebury, Thomas, Clarke, Cloke etc) might be able to step up.

So you can run Fraser and Wood on the ball at the same time?

Would have thought you guys lack enough leg speed as it is.

Fraser is very quick for a 202cm player.
He could easily play on a wing.

Wood will take most of the centre hit outs and stop plays.
Josh will play a Goodes type role.

So you think we lack leg speed????
Thomas, Clarke, Reid, Dick, Davis, R Shaw are all super quick

I cannot understand the relevance of Burns having only 1 or 2 years left. If he is the best choice and IMO he is by a country mile then why have the second best choice just because the best choice won’t be available in a year or two. It is idiotic logic and I hear it repeatedly.

Burns would make a fantastic captain of Collingwood. In a year or two when he retires all the candidates will be a year or two better for the additional experience and having played under Burns.

Right now I’d say my preference to take over from Burns would be Heath Shaw. I’d actually be happy for Johnson to get the gig because he is a Collingwood man and all heart and soul but he doesn’t speak well enough for the modern day leader, particularly at a club run by a media man. For mine we have enough money and promote ourselves simply by being Collingwood so I’d make the best on field decision and that would be Ben Johnson.

Burns would make a fantastic captain of Collingwood. In a year or two when he retires all the candidates will be a year or two better for the addition experience and having played under Burns.

Right now I’d say my preference to take over from Burns would be Heath Shaw. I’d actually be happy for Johnson to get the gig because he is a Collingwood man and all heart and soul but he doesn’t speak well enough for the modern day leader, particularly at a club run by a media man. For mine we have enough money and promote ourselves simply by being Collingwood so I’d make the best of field decision and that would be Ben Johnson.

Fraser is very quick for a 202cm player.
He could easily play on a wing.

Wood will take most of the centre hit outs and stop plays.
Josh will play a Goodes type role.

So you think we lack leg speed????
Thomas, Clarke, Reid, Dick, Davis, R Shaw are all super quick

You are still not overly quick across the middle with guys like O'Bree, Burns, Holland not exactly tearing it up but I will concede you guys are alot quicker across the park these days.

Not to sure about Fraser on a wing, pretty sure most coaches wouldn't lose to much sleep at the prospect of him sitting out wide picking up his 10 possessions a game so far from goals.

Fraser is no Adam Goodes.

Actually Terry, I think that is a reasonable summary, Clement's retirement has thrown our succession plans out.

Not sure about that. I think they knew 12 months ago that Clement wasnt going to be our next Captain, when Buckley unofficially offered to resign as leader, and Clement declined to accept the Captaincy. So they had a hint there that Clement was unlikely to be our next leader.

Our succession plans were thrown out (slightly) by Buckley's ability to extend his career and nurse his hamstrings a couple of years beyond what most experts thought him capable of. And thats a good thing, not a bad thing.

You are still not overly quick across the middle with guys like O'Bree, Burns, Holland not exactly tearing it up but I will concede you guys are alot quicker across the park these days. .

Burns is an interchange player these days and Holland will struggle to get back into our best 22. O'Bree and Burns still share the inside grunt-work that does not require lightning speed.

Pace wont be a problem in the Collingwood midfield. Experience maybe, but thats developing quickly.

I cannot understand the relevance of Burns having only 1 or 2 years left. If he is the best choice and IMO he is by a country mile then why have the second best choice just because the best choice won’t be available in a year or two. It is idiotic logic and I hear it repeatedly.

One of the reasons Bucks offered to hand in the captaincy was because he wouldn't be able to contribute at every training session, every game. Id presume this will be the same with Burns.

He will most likely be eased through the season, will prob miss plenty of training sessions during the year, and he already is only on the ground prob 50-60% of game time as it is.

You want ur captain to be a bloke who will be leading at every session, Burns wont do this......Burns is a Collingwood great and still has plenty to offer but he aint the best candidate to be captain IMO because he wont be doing the same work as everybody else.

B.Johnson or Fraser, fitness permitting, will be able to.

If we had a couple of years up our sleeve it would be Cloke, massive unit playing the hardest position on the ground and wins the Copeland trophy at 20 years of age after a stunning finals series!!!

There's no shortage of leadership among the youth at Collingwood

You want ur captain to be a bloke who will be leading at every session, Burns wont do this......Burns is a Collingwood great and still has plenty to offer but he aint the best candidate to be captain IMO because he wont be doing the same work as everybody else.

Difference is, Burns doesnt have any injury concerns. He's as fit as he's ever been, in fact injury-wise, he's fitter now than he was in his mid 20's. A modified training programme for his geriatric status as a veteran in the game should not preclude him from the captaincy.

Josh Fraser to Be Named Collingwood Captain