Josh Simpson

Having spent years as a country cop I can tell you plenty about this argument. These young aboriginal kids have no desire for the things that make us turn up for work. We need to do more, not expect more. I'd rather leave Bushie to start a dialogue amongst the elders and see if this can be supported by the club.

We want Josh more than he wants us at the moment, he has the potential to be something quite special, and all the people that preach HTFU have no idea what a hard upbringing this kid has endured to get to this point, not a clue.

I will admit I don't have much of a clue what its like living in a remote community or an indigenous one for that matter. I'm simply trying to form the reasoning behind him missing the flight because he was dropped. The psychology behind that particular instance and linking it to culture just doesn't sit with me.

Best to start with the likelihood that he didn't miss the flight just because he was dropped and that there were other factors that contributed to his decision not to get on the plane, then go from there

I was referring to him having greater priorities than playing AFL. No doubt he wants it, just not enough for him to put it over his culture. Him missing the flight showed a lack of drive for me.
The opposite for me. Not seen as 'mature' in western culture, but let's be honest, he was farkin' cut that he wasn't playing. That's why he didn't get on the flight, he was pissed he wasn't playing. Doesn't sound like he's lacking desire from where I'm standing.

Best to start with the likelihood that he didn't miss the flight just because he was dropped and that there were other factors that contributed to his decision not to get on the plane, then go from there
2 kids under 5 for starters. That's a tough gig for a 19 year old let alone a professional footballer.

I was taking it from what ross said about the incident:“He was supposed to fly and didn’t turn up. Clearly Josh was disappointed about being out of the team, so he’s basically dropped his bundle.’’
“In this particular instance, it’s been an attitudinal (problem) and taking your bat and ball and going home."

I was taking it from what ross said about the incident:“He was supposed to fly and didn’t turn up. Clearly Josh was disappointed about being out of the team, so he’s basically dropped his bundle.’’
“In this particular instance, it’s been an attitudinal (problem) and taking your bat and ball and going home."
Fair point but didn't Ross also say there were broader issues involved, including cultural ones

Maybe he thought he'd played well enough to keep his position. Ross doesn't accept excuses so why would he even bother.

The opposite for me. Not seen as 'mature' in western culture, but let's be honest, he was farkin' cut that he wasn't playing. That's why he didn't get on the flight, he was pissed he wasn't playing. Doesn't sound like he's lacking desire from where I'm standing.

Drive and commitment simply means to have an urge to obtain a goal, dropping his bundle didn't really show a lot of drive if you want to take the definition for it.

Fair point but didn't Ross also say there were broader issues involved, including cultural ones

He did but he said this instance was attitudinal with no other considerations other than chucking in the towel.

Drive and commitment simply means to have an urge to obtain a goal, dropping his bundle didn't really show a lot of drive if you want to take the definition for it.
Tell me what school in a remote community teach drive and commitment. Hell the teachers aren't committed enough to stay more than one year. The only drive they see is when all the govy workers fly out the gates on Friday afternoon to get back to the city.

His three years at a prestigious private school and state-level experiences would have. Having two kids also tends to shape a more committed and driven individual from what I've heard.

And that is why you are getting this so constantly wrong.

At least you admit that you have no clue. If so, why do you still support your own argument? In fact, how can you?

And that is why you are getting this so constantly wrong.

At least you admit that you have no clue. If so, why do you still support your own argument? In fact, how can you?

Because its psychological knowledge not cultural that I'm debating here. Im saying there is a distinction from his actions in the particular incident mentioned and his culture like Ross did.

His three years at a prestigious private school and state-level experiences would have. Having two kids also tends to shape a more committed and driven individual from what I've heard.
Don't know about parenting yet. Hope you get to find out one day but I'm sure the sleepless nights and drop everything emergencies will shape you then.

Order of priorities. 1. Family. 2. Football

Because its psychological knowledge not cultural that I'm debating here. Im saying there is a distinction from his actions in the particular incident mentioned and his culture like Ross did.
What do you study at uni? Sounds like you need to go on a trip to see this life for yourself. You really can't have a justified opinion unless you have a grounding.

And I don't mean this as an insult. I think everyone should see how the tax payers money gets spent out there. I didn't see anything special to suggest that the money even makes it there.

None taken. It would be great to explore the indigenous culture in the remote communities. As a general feel, would they want to be left completely alone or moderated?

I have one of them as well
Was probably more handy to have a few years ago I'm betting.

I find the HTFU accusation/argument a giggle.Seeing as we're letting it all hang out.
I've boxed and taught boxing for years.There tends to be a coupla tough bunts around the environment.
What exactly do people think HTFU means??
Are we suggesting the Flash is a sniveller??A piddler??A softrock??Remember this is a kid who's allowed to talk to Pavlich.
Even that hasn't worked.
I only mention the boxing caper cos it's quite obvious to me that the Flash ain't no softy.It declares itself in the way he approaches the contest,enjoys the physicality,wants to beat the other barstard;happy to invite him in and flog him in close.
The HTFU tribe should leave it out completely and forever.....IMHO.
Maybe have a think about what they are saying in real life terms....:eek:

None taken. It would be great to explore the indigenous culture in the remote communities. As a general feel, would they want to be left completely alone or moderated?

Was probably more handy to have a few years ago I'm betting.
For starters, exploring will probably get you speared.

Bushie could educate you best on what the people want. My role was as law enforcement, locking people up, sorting out fights, dropping off the occasional roo tail.

These communities just need the tools to live independently, don't want money and give everything away when somebody wants it. Do not have any value for possessions.

Graduated just after the GFC hit, so not much different really. I went into audit and learn a shit load more than if I had gone mainstream.
I spent some time auditing some remote communities backpack in the 80's. eye opening doesn't quite cut it

Like Ross did??

What??

Of all the coaches in this country, including both Rugby codes and AFL, Lyon would be THE most culturally aware that I have EVER seen.

btw...how can you spout psyche "knowledge" when you have a Commerce degree?? Or has uni changed since I left?

Mate, you are fair dinkum posting from a platform of more quicksand than I have ever seen before.

I find the HTFU accusation/argument a giggle.Seeing as we're letting it all hang out.
I've boxed and taught boxing for years.There tends to be a coupla tough bunts around the environment.
What exactly do people think HTFU means??
Are we suggesting the Flash is a sniveller??A piddler??A softrock??Remember this is a kid who's allowed to talk to Pavlich.
Even that hasn't worked.
I only mention the boxing caper cos it's quite obvious to me that the Flash ain't no softy.It declares itself in the way he approaches the contest,enjoys the physicality,wants to beat the other barstard;happy to invite him in and flog him in close.
The HTFU tribe should leave it out completely and forever.....IMHO.
Maybe have a think about what they are saying in real life terms....:eek:

You do NOT get brought up in Yalgoo and come out soft. Ever.